We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Started with a very slick check in, rooms very clean and well designed. Breakfast was very reasonably priced and food good quality and constantly restocked. Will def book here again.All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for king size room its only the bed that is bigger not the overall room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theduch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear theduch,

We would like to thank you for leaving us with your feedback.

Naturally, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be kind and helpful. We really appreciate your kind words.

I look forward to seeing you again in the upcoming future.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    529
    197
    69
    32
See reviews for
143
550
83
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Lovely & welcoming front desk staff. I received a complimentary upgrade. I've stayed here a few times and have been very happy each time. The location is fantastic, you really can't get much better. The only downside is that parking is a 5 minute walk away and can be expensive so book online in advance. You can pull up at the hotel door to drop off luggage.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Kathy F,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that all was to your liking.

With regards to the parking, we know that it can, at times, be a little difficult due to our central location however I am glad that you were able to find a good online deal and we would remind you that, for the future, we are able to stamp your parking ticket at the reception to apply a discount which our guests are eligible for.

We hope you are well and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The biggest surprise was to note on leaving after a three night stay that the hotel was only rated "very good" by previous trip advisor contributors. We, eight aged genlemen, rated it excellent in every way. From the welcome on arrival through to the service in all parts of the hotel, all was superb. The rooms were a generous size as were the very comfortable beds. The location is also superb while the traffic noise for a city centre hotel was minimal. When our sailing was cancelled because of the bad weather Colin, the duty manager, spent a lot of time and effort to ensure that we were booked on the next day crossing. The extra night's booking went smoothly and was negotiated at a very favourable rate. Hats off to your staff, Mr O'Callaghan!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abercraverfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear abercraverfc,

Here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for leaving us extensive feedback regarding your stay.

We appreciate your comment regarding the 'very good' status on TripAdvisor. We are committed to continually bettering our services where possible and your comment is a reflection that we are doing well in this respect.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you for a further night when your sailing was cancelled and we were happy to assist.

We hope to see you again in the upcoming future.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Made a group booking for 17 over the rugby weekend with hen party. This hotel was in a brilliant location few minutes walk to grafton street. Rooms very nice. Breakfast lush! Best thing about this hotel was the staff service. They were all very professional helpful and super friendly. I would recommend this hotel to stay and would def book again. Cannot think of anything bad to say except us losing in the rugby! Thank you for a wonderful weekend and looking after the whole group.x

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Kim C,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it's very much appreciated.

We thoroughly enjoyed conversing with your party whilst staying with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel. It was our pleasure.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Your kind remarks have been passed on to all staff at the hotel.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My partner and myself arrived for a four night stay in Dublin a couple of weeks ago , I have never stayed at a O'Callaghan's hotel before , but we were not dissapointed... in fact delighted ! The location of the hotel was superb for our shopping in Grafton st .. Trinity college to see the book of Kills etc ...The room was very comfortable with a superb bed ...The food was excellent both breakfast and dinner and very reasonable ..how you supply full Irish cooked breakfast for €10 each is still beyond me ! .. Have to say the staff were more be than helpful on all occasions ...always with a free smile ! ....value for money ... definitely ! ..I have stayed often in most hotel chains in Dublin over the last twenty five years ...but O'Callaghan's comes up trumps ! ..would we return ? .. yes most definitely ...will done O'Callaghan's keep up the good work !

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear wanderer566,

Let me start off by taking this opportunity to thank you for providing your extensive feedback regarding your recent stay here O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel.

We genuinely enjoyed reading your feedback and would thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed account of your stay.

We're delighted everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!

Take good care,

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel just off St Stephens Green. Staff friendly and informative. Bar staff great. Room very comfy and massive king size bed! About 5 minutes walk from Graton Street/Duke street bars. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank colldoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear colldoll,

Thank you for taking time to leave us your comments. We genuinely appreciate it.

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and enjoyed conversing with the bar staff. I've passed on your comments to the team.

We hope to see you in the upcoming future and wish you pleasant travels wherever they may take you.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I availed of a great offer at the above Hotel last week, My stay was perfect, lovely room, great staff, very helpful in regards to the parking and location to town, Hotel is in a great location to town. I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OisinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear OisinDublin,

Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback regarding your previous stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your feedback is vital in letting us know that we are on the right track.

We hope to see you again in the upcoming future.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing