We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for two nights and found the location perfect. Easy walking to the Temple Bar area and a plethora of shopping. The room was large by European standards and clean and comfortable with a nice contemporary feel. The receptionist registering our check in was a delight to talk to, and she was versed in 7 languages! The bar area was inviting and comfortable.

All in all, given the location and value, this was a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Bill B,


Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that all was to your liking.
Rest assured that your positive comments have been passed on to all the team

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future.


Best Regards,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    508
    189
    69
    31
See reviews for
135
540
78
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

On a recent trip to Ireland I stayed in Dublin for a night at the Westin Dublin, then had to go to Westport to work for a couple of weeks, then stayed the night at O'Callaghan's on the way home. This hotel was not quite as nice as the Westin, but far less expensive. If I had it to do over again, if have stayed at O'Callaghan's both times. The room was clean and comfortable, the restaurant was good, and the location was great. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Davetbo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Davetbo,


Thank you most kindly for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your previous stay.

We are delighted that all was to your satisfaction and we certainly look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed in O'Callaghan's at the weekend just gone. The hotel has a fantastic location just metres from the luas line stop at St. Stephens Green. I arrived at around 11am and was worried I wouldn't be able to check in. I had no need to worry, the hotel was able to accomodate me and the check in took about 2 minutes and was a really easy experience. The room was very clean, and had all the conveniences you'd expect of a 4 star hotel. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear LimerickCritic,


We would like to thank you for leaving us with your feedback. Naturally, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be kind and helpful.
We really appreciate your kind words.

I look forward to seeing you again in the upcoming future.

Best wishes, Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

we've been severel times to this hotel now and I have to say it would be difficult to fault the place overall.an efficient and friendly staff,good rooms,decent breakfast and very well situated to get to everywhere worth going in Dublin.
good value for what's on offer,no hesitation in recommending the O'Callaghan.

Room Tip: the new rooms in the annexe are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear FranceVincent,


Let me start off by taking this opportunity to thank you for providing your extensive feedback regarding your recent stay here O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel.


We're delighted everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!

Take good care,

Best wishes,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location: This hotel is located right next to all the shopping streets, restaurants and bars!
Affordable: Its a decently priced hotel.. Nothing fabulous but no disappointments.
Friendly staff.. Overall a good experience!

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms facing the main streeet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Traveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Eternal_Traveller_77,

We are very grateful that you've taken the time to provide us with your comments referring to your recent stay with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

we stayed here on Friday and Saturday night. The first impressions were; looks much more basic in 'real life' than in all the photos. The young receptionist was a real sour puss and offered nothing extra to our conversational check in. She really needs to learn how to smile and not come across as so standoffish. The hospitality you get in Ireland is amazing so for me she stood out as someone not enjoying her job. So onto the room - really good room despite the view being of the grim back part of the hotel (we had a huge window highlighting the dirty back streets).We were very happy with the room and bathroom although the lighting was a bit of a minefield - so many lamps and switches, a bit ridiculous. The bed was lovely and comfy so top marks for that.We could hear the people next door but it was fairly low level.
On the website they make a big deal out of the Pie Dish bistro but it was pretty lame and was just a breakfast room. The breakfast was ok but in no way delicious just ok - have had much better before in other Irish hotels.There was no proper restaurant where you could go for dinner so you have no choice but to go out to one of the many restarants around Grafton street.
The bar area is ok but could do with an upgrade. we had an issue with the water. The tried to charge us 10e for a bottle of water for the room (its advertised for 1e in reception) but thankfully a senior staff member stepped in and told his staff to get a grip.
Basically this is a good base for a weekend in Dublin but absolutely nothing special. Friends of ours were staying at the Conrad around the corner which really did have the wow factor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Pauline1973,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments to our team.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back and you can see the improvements we have made.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly on elena.talpalaru@ocallaghanhotels.com.

Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night. Genuine four star with attention to detail. All the more enjoyable given pur experience the previous evening at a so called 4 star hotel in Portlaoise! Supremely comfortable bed, great breakfast and excellent service. The location on Stephen's Green is unbeatable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear SueTralee,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.
We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that all was to your liking.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!

Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing