We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, Great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good food in the bar even if menu is a little small. Friendly staff and clean quite room. Slept really well. Upgraded by hotel for free to executive room as it was my first stay. Highly recommend for business stay. Did not stay for breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear CorkTraveller27,


Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all staff helpful and friendly.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!

Kindest Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    508
    189
    69
    31
See reviews for
135
540
78
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Perfect location for catching a show in the Unitarian Church across the road. Right beside Stephen's Green, Iveagh Gardens, the Luas... You have everything you need. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault any of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tadhg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Tadhg C,

Thank you most kindly for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your previous stay.

We are delighted that all was to your satisfaction and we certainly look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A beautiful hotel at a great location. Very easy to find & Right at the door step of Grafton street. The room was lovely, very big & bright. The bed was huge. The room had all the requirements in what you needed. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Sabrina F,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay .

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future.

Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I would recommend this hotel as the location 2 mins from Grafton Street. The hotel rooms are spacious which have a good size bathroom. The bar area is large enough for group gatherings to watch sport or relax in the evening. The hotel has a manager - Hugh, who makes the care and service he offers, exceptional. Hugh takes interest in his customers and with his warm manner suggests help and ways to make our stay more comfortable.
Hugh and the bar staff make this a warm welcoming hotel. I would be retuning back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Bridget J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your kind words about Hugh and staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon .

Kind Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Loved my whole experience stayed for two nights. Room was perfect. Great location beside Stephens green, nice and quiet and chilled out but within walking distance of Grafton Street. The Hotel staff were brilliant nothing was too much hassle. Food in the bar was lovely and very reasonable priced. Would highly recommended and will certainly be visiting again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Mary Frances B,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Dublin and for your valued review.

I am really pleased that we managed to create a special memory of O’Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel for you. Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team.

Best Personal Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

As the title says, decent hotel for the price, rooms are a fair size and nice bathrooms.
Usual in room ammenities and safe, breakfasts are fine ,had better , had worse. The staff I encountered where pleasant and helpful, so no complaints there , location is great for taking in the shopping or nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ards63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Ards63,


Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all staff helpful and friendly.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!

Kindest Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at OCallahan Stephens green Hotel for a week while on a business trip, the location is great and central to all items in Dublin. The early morning runs around the streets were great and good to see the locals. The meals in the bar and also room service are great quality and delivered in a short time.

Room Tip: I always request a room away from the lifts but these guys have it covered at the lift area on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Rich068Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us.

Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Best Personal Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing