We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service by staff(Haneet Singh)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“excellent service by staff(Haneet Singh)”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great staff and great Room service by haneet singh.
Very polite and professional behavior.
Would love to come again to stay in O,callaghan Hotel, St.green., Dublin.

Great staff and great Room service by haneet singh.
Very polite and professional behavior.
Would love to come again to stay in O,callaghan Hotel, St.green., Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Ashish B. I am delighted to you would love to stay at Stephen's Green Hotel again in the future. I will also be sharing your comments with Haneet. Once again thank you for leaving feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin in the future.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    523
    191
    69
    32
See reviews for
140
546
81
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My hihusband and I stayed here for 4 nights...three as part of a tour package and then 1 because we had a great experience and were on our own. Special mentions on the staff go out to Victoria, Katie and Juan...Victoria for helping us navigate the reservation process efficiently, Katie for mailing my postcards on her way home from work that night and Juan for helping to change our room when it was quite warm and the air con was not working properly.
Its a great location for grafton street shops, Trinity College, and no more than a 20 min walk to Guinness storehouse and TempleBar area. Substantial and tasty Irish breakfast each morning. I would recommend this and would stay here in a second. St. Stephens Green is across the Street as is the tram.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lizzyinvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review lizzyinvermont. I am delighted to hear you found the staff, location and rom excellent during your most recent stay with us. Needless to say I will be passing your kind comments onto the team and in particular Victoria, Juan and Katie. It is also great to hear you found breakfast to be substantial and tasty. We recently made a number of changes following other guest feedback and we feel this breakfast offering meets the mark. Once again thank you for leaving feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin in the future.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

On June 20, 2014 we arrived in Ireland, were met by our Guide, given a bus tour of Dublin and about 3:00 pm were taken to our Hotel for a bit of relaxation prior to our welcoming dinner. My wife and I went out for a walk to get our bearings and get familiar with the area. our first encounter was with Stephen Green Park in its original Victorian layout. It is right across from the Hotel and what a marvel it is, we spent the next two hours just getting to know the Park. It was time for a shower and Dinner. The one great thing about this hotel was its location, close to all Dublin main attractions and a good public transit system just outside the door. The welcoming dinner was great and the bread was excellent. I had a good night sleep afterwards,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Ernesto241. I am delighted to hear you had a good night sleep at the hotel and you enjoyed dinner and our head chef's own recipe Guinness Bread. We hope you enjoy the rest of your tour whilst in Ireland and do not hesitate to contact us if you are back in Dublin soon.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A really good location for seeing Dublin on foot, right on the Green and walking distance to Temple Bar but away from the madness. The tram going south runs right outside but doesn't go towards thr city centre yet. The rooms are big for a city centre hotel, the bed was huge and comfy but the skinny pillows were miserable. The shower was decent but I was disappointed in the products, no body lotion or conditioner. We didn't eat there but had a few drinks in the bar which is lovely and all the bar staff were great, in particular Darragh who went out of his way to learn how to make a margarita even though it wasn't on the menu. There are some great restaurants just around the corner, particularly Il Primo onMontague Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review NorthWestLulu. I am delighted to hear you had a lovely stay with us and found the bedrooms spacious and comfortable. I am sorry to hear the pillows were not to your liking, I will certainly look into this for you. I will be sharing your kind words regarding service with the team and in particular with Darragh. We hope to see you back in Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent a very enjoyable weekend in Dublin while visiting relatives. On arrival at the hotel we were warmly greeted by the reception staff who looked after our bags as the room wasn't ready - we were early! The room on the 6th floor was excellent - it was well equipped and was bright and spacious. There is one niggle however and that is the breakfast. I travel a lot and am well used to buffet breakfasts and think I understand why hotels use this system. However the hot breakfast was lukewarm. Surely better serving equipment exists to keep the food warmer? However this would not prevent me from returning as the hotel is in a superb location. Serve a hotter breakfast and get another start from me next time!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Stephens Green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diarmaid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Diarmaid H. I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. I am sorry to hear you had issues with breakfast, needless to say our hot buffet items should not be served lukewarm and I am confident this can be easily remedied on your return visit so we look forward to receiving the additional star. Please do not hesitate to contact me ahead of your next stay and I will gladly make the necessary arrangements.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel. From the moment we arrived, Victoria on reception made us feel very special - and directed us to a most wonderful restaurant nearby - think it was called the Green Man. The staff really know the area and are happy to share their knowledge. Its a 4 star hotel but with 5-star service and staff - I can't speak too highly of them. Rooms were roomy and even though the windows were glazed (not really needed because the noise is not invasive) they could be opened to let in the fresh air (hate air-conditioning). Hotel is in an excellent location on a corner of Stephen's Green and within easy walking distance of Grafton Street, Trinity College and the centre of the city. Rooms (we had two) were always spotlessly clean thanks to the fantastic housekeepers. We will always stay here when we return to Dublin - don't pay 5-star prices - stay here. You will LOVE it.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms overlook the oak trees and the street but are not in the least noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holysleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review holysleep. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay at the hotel. I will of course be passing your kind comments onto both Victoria and out housekeeping team. Whilst we are 4 Star in grading we are committed to providing exceptional service in all areas of our business and I am glad this translated during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stephen's Green Hotel on your next trip back to Dublin.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was a third stay in this hotel and I refuse to stay anywhere else in Dublin. The service is impeccable, the people are beyond friendly and helpful and hotel is simply the best value for money. The rooms are comfortable and large, you don't have to jostle around a bed to get to your suitcase or desk. The restaurant has great food, always fresh and local. As others have said- you aren't surrounded by loud, shrill tourists- it is a place of retreat and relaxation. For business or pleasure, have been there for both, you do not want to book anywhere else. It is so handy for friends coming into the city for their first stay- all the sightseeing buses are just steps away at the green. It is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping- the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous. Suite 1600 is a corner rooftop overlooking the green. Massive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindlessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Mindlessmom. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel on a number of occasions. I will of course pass on your kind comments to the team. Stephen's Green Hotel is committed to providing distinctive service both for our leisure and business travellers and again I am pleased to see that we met your requirements on both types of stay. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin soon.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing