We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit 'fake'”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Its a lovely place to stay for a romantic night or weekend. Lovely rooms, nice restaurant. Bad points: after a few moments of us checking into our room, their staff kept knocking on the door offering us water. Whether they genuinly were worried of us being dehydrated (although mini bar does supply you with (gasp) a little quater bottle at 3.50 euro - or simply were trying to sell some more (we were unclear whether this was complementary, so decided not to drink it eventually;-) ) - either way, it was quite annoying. The strawberries in chocolate upon our arrival were not so numerous as one would like them to be and although they have a lot of 'naughty' funny items in the mini fridge (like camasutra kit and fruity condoms, etc) - they clearly didn't think it through til the end, as at the check out they manage to actually ask you whether you've used any of these items and which ones were those. Luckily enough, we didn't - but I just imagined my horror of having to recite used items in numerical order if I did, with people standing (also waiting to check out) behind me!:-)
Overall, its an 'ok' romantiky place to stay - thei bar is a bit 'strange' for want of a better word, slightly smelly and a bit like Lilly Bordello VIP room - but quite nice nevertheless. Breakfast is not included (which is annoying) and makes it quite an expensive stay if you were to order one (around 27 eur for a full irish one). Good point - I really thought it would be an excellent venue for a small wedding or a brilliant place to wow your girlfriend (boyfriend)!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyaway78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Dylan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with interesting and original décor and top quality rooms. Each room is different. I have stayed here five or six times, had a different room each visit and have always been pleasantly surprised. This time I had room 208 which has a small balcony. The hotel restaurant is excellent and quite reasonable if you have the set dinner menu. The cooked breakfast is exemplary and highly recommended.

The only drawback is, as has been pointed out by other reviewers, the patchy service. When I arrived the person on reception was on the telephone to a potential client. I stood at the desk for a while and was completely ignored. It would be easy to cover the phone and say ‘Please take a seat, I’ll be with you as soon as possible’, but no! The receptionist continued describing the rooms, the various packages available, and studiously avoided looking at me or acknowledging my presence in any way. In the end I gave up and went outside for a cigarette. When I returned she was still on the phone, discussing with the same client the various restaurants in the locality. Finally, fully ten minutes after I arrived a second person turned up and checked me in without a word of apology.

The combination of beautiful hotels and rubbish service is so common these days. What are management and owners thinking? Do they not read the reviews of their own hotels? Hire more Swiss!

I was so annoyed by the experience of the check in that I denied myself the pleasure of eating dinner in the restaurant and went round the corner to the very excellent Langkawi Malaysian restaurant. (46 Upper Baggot Street). This a very good place with top quality real Malaysian cooking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFinch9436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Walk and walk. so much to see. City hop on hop off bus is wonderful to get locations. Walk tour to Wicklow 1 hr from Dublin so worthwhile

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu09Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We absolutely loved the Dylan from the moment we got out of the taxi. Zoltan was there to escort us into the lobby and carry our luggage. We didn't find out till later that he is a partial owner. My fiance and I had spent the previous week in London and were exhausted from all the walking. Not to mention I had proposed the night before arriving in Dublin. The Dylan was like a spa retreat for us. A great place to relax and leisurely see the city in all its glory as well as to fully bask in the fact that we had just taken our relationship to the next level. Whenever we needed something, Zoltan was there. Whether to recommend a restaurant, walking route or bus schedule. I cannot believe the price we were able to get on expedia for what I now consider a luxury boutique hotel. Thanks to everyone at the Dylan for making our trip to Dublin truly memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and come complete with a beautiful view, gorgeous bed, and spa like accommod...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherLeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was a last minute business trip. Hotel is a bit out of town for my liking and the easiest way is to grab a taxi. Check in and Welcome efficient but non descript. You need to pay a deposit of 50euro a night for mini bar etc on arrival. Beware of this if you only have a debit card like me cos it will take the €50 off you.

Room was beautiful and the bed was very comfy. I didn't stay for breakfast but then again the hotel is 2 mins walk from Baggot street where there is loads of cafes AND there is a tiny little cafe accross the street from the hotel which is very nice.
Room came with a safe which was very handy for the ipad etc. Room service was excellent.

Nice little touches include: ipod in the room playing music when you come in, little hand written keycard holders, a nice velvet Z on the door handle for sleep. Basically all you expect with a little extra thrown in.

Room Tip: I'd ask for 2nd floor upwards.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here on a two night break to Dublin. A chic 5* Boutique hotel, comfortable beds and good toiletries. About a ten minute walk to Dublin city centre.We did not eat here but staff were very helpful recommending good restaurants. Be warned though, Dublin is a very expensive city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mum0f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is the first time I've ever written a review but I felt compelled to do so after a really, really disappointing experience at The Dylan Hotel in Dublin. It's beautifully done, but the warm Irish welcome that comes naturally in other establishments is non existent in this hotel.

I was expecting better things after speaking to a couple of the (Irish) reservations staff over the phone. They were friendly, helpful and really warm and Barry went out of his way to accomodate us when I needed to change our booking at the last minute.

When we actually arrived to check in - completely different story. The two staff on the front desk were so aloof and unfriendly. After a crazy explaination about needing to take a 50euro deposit due to it being a visa debit card (at 200 euro for the room for 1 night with no breakfast, I'd like to think we'd be good for 50 euro!!) the two staff then completely ignored me for TEN MINUTES whilst my husband was outside trying to scramble change together to put in the parking meter.

Nobody else arrived during this time and they stood robotically behind their screens ignoring me. No offer to take our large bag up to the room, no offer of a coffee or friendly chit chat "had we come far, would i like a look around etc." This place is supposed to be 5 star! If anything, the odd snotty glance to see if I was still clogging up their reception area (and we're quite well heeled not scruff bags in case you were wondering!). When my husband came back in after sorting out the parking meter he was flabbergasted the bag and (me!) were still sitting there.

After settling into our room, we had arranged to meet local friends in the bar. And this time it was the turn of the bar staff to be utterly crap. No pleasant greeting, no offer to help carry the drinks to the outside tables, just attitude, attitude, attitude. The final straw was when I politely asked a passing waiter if he could please call us a taxi as we had a restaurant reservation. He barely glanced in my direction and said "do it at reception."

That was the final straw. My husband flipped out and went to reception and asked to see the manager. The duty manager (who was one of the aforementioned check in staff) was very apologetic and they didn't charge us for the drinks we'd had in the bar and offered us complimentary bkfast the next day. All very kind of him, and we appreciated this. BUT and it's a big but, no amount of free booze or sausages would make us return to this hotel until they sort out the service and attitude of staff which I imagine comes from the top down. The owner and managers could do with a trip to a few local B&B's to see how genuine, warm Irish folk greet their guests and make them feel valued and well looked after. Stunning decor but a bitter disappointment in terms of customer experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tazza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#15 of 150 in Dublin
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,336 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,991 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £198 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing