We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel in Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

At first I was a little surprised by its location upon arrival in Dublin for the first time, but after navigating around the city a little more I learned (thanks to the Hotel Dylan concierge) that it is only 6~8 mins easy walk from Hotel Dylan to the No. 6 stop of city's "hop-on-hop-off" bus tour. I would walk to the bus stop in the morning (EUR24 for two-day pass) and take the hop-on-hop-off to all tourist attractions I would like to visit. If I get tired of walking, I would stay on the bus for sight seeing. Very convenient.

Other than the distance not in the middle of the city center, Hotel Dylan is almost perfect to my likes. Great breakfast selection (its Irish breakfast is good for two meals~ and I could skip lunch if I like), very friendly and helpful concierge services.

There is also a bus stop 2 mins away from the hotel that I could take into the city center (Bus No. 39 or Bus No. 39A) to hang out - I felt like a local after spending 2 days in Dublin~!

Room Tip: I liked my corner room selected by the hotel for me. On the top floor in the corner (Room 322). Quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    210
    72
    29
    15
See reviews for
63
554
37
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

A colleague had booked me in for a Monday night - I arrived at 8pm to find that the booking was apparently for Wednesday and they were fully booked on the Monday. I was given a complementary drink and asked to wait whilst they tried to sort something out or find an alternative hotel in the neighbourhood. After 15 minutes a room had been found (as long as I could vacate it early the following morning, which suited me fine) and I was checked in, with the offer of another drink for the inconvenience.

The room itself was lovely - spacious, clean and comfortable. The only issue was that the picture on the TV was rather dark but I didn't want to watch anything other than the news headlines. There are a range of restaurants just around the corner of varying cuisines and prices - traditional, Mexican, Malaysian, a diner, pubs etc - and the hotel restaurant menu looks pretty good as well. Had breakfast on the sunlit terrace in the morning - really good choice, well presented and served quickly and efficiently.

This was my second stay at the Dylan and I will be returning to Dublin fairly frequently, so I will make it my destination of choice when I am next there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skelligman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a great hotel and perfect for a luxurious relaxing stay. The rooms are lovely and the bed is very comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly, professional and very helpful. Anything I needed or asked for was provided with speed and ease.
We had breakfast included which was delicious.
My friends and I were staying at the hotel as they had just got married and were holding the evening party in the bar area. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for my friends and were extremely generous.
Try the non alcoholic strawberry mojito it's wonderful.

I would highly recommend this hotel! I'm being a bit picky but the only small issue I have is that I would advise the hotel to provide better pillows in the room. It's only a tiny gripe though and didn't spoil my stay one bit. During my stay the night reception staff were extremely helpful and very kind. I am using a crutches at the moment and they did everything possible to make me comfortable and my stay stress free.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

To celebrate a recent special occasion, we decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay in the Dylan Hotel, on a recommedation from a friend. It truly was a wonderful stay... could not fault it from arrival to departure.

After our warm welcome at reception, we made a our way to our super stylish room, which was spotless. It was a beautiful summer's evening so we decided to have a few drinks on the terrace, which is just off the bar. It really is a great space to sit and enjoy some sun with a few delicious cocktails! We had a dinner reservation, so we made our way into the restaurant where we had an absolutely AMAZING meal.

After a lovely night's sleep in our very confortable bed, breakfast was a real treat as we got to have it on the front the terrace, which is just off the restaurant. It's a real suntrap there, catching the morning sun. Again the food was delicious and the service was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed on a Thursday as we were attending a function in town. Despite the fact that we arrived quite early..we had no issues checking in...no questions...everything was smooth.
Receptionist was friendly but not overly so. This is by no means a criticism .....sometimes, specially in 5* hotels, the welcome appears to be...fake.
She was nice, explained everything... etc. remained professional.
Room was amazing. Quiet. Very clean. Beautiful bathroom. Funky phones. Lovely fluffy towels. Soft linen.
Had lunch in the very busy bar. Food was great. Portions larger than I expected. Food was exactly as the menu said it was going to be. Service...what you would expect from a 5*.We spoke about the weather with our server. We spoke about Dublin. He was nice, once again professional and friendly, but not overly so.
We did not have dinner in the Hotel but had a drink at night in the bar when we came back. Waitress was very knowledgeable...recommended an specific gin and a variation to the Classic Cosmo...we really enjoyed the relaxing drink in their Terrace. The Passion Fruit Cosmo was absolutely amazing.... Drinks also came with nibbles...which I loved.
Bed was as comfortable as they come.
Breakfast was amazing. A la carte. Large portions once again. I can recommend without hesitation their eggs Benedictine. Beautiful.
It is not in Dublin city centre but it is well worth the little walk.
It has personality. It has character. It is has not got the chain feeling....Nothing against the Chain ethos but I prefer the personable touches. I will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casablanca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I arrived Dublin on an overnight flight the morning of Mon 3 June,2013.
Although my room as not available Colin Brown had another where I could shower and sleep a couple of hours.
The staff were excellent and all were most helpful throughout.
Colin led the charge taking care of any details and following up.
I spent my last 2 nights on the west coast before departing Shannon. Colin made these arrangements as he had worked at several inns in the area.
I would highly recommend the Dylan for business or leisure.
SBM ( Sun 9 June)

Room Tip: Room 305 is excellent. Colin Brown and the other Staff members are outstanding. Colin is a leader...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our first stay at the Dylan and will definitely return. The service was warm. friendly and response times super quick. We booked a twin room and ended up third floor with a balcony. Spacious, stylish and excellent value. A lot of attention to detail - from the Ren goodies in the bathroom, to the turndown service and just general touches which lifted the experience above the norm. The beds were super comfy and the rooms were quiet and airy. However, we think this may have been the location on the top floor at the rear. Could be noisy in rooms above the bar? It's clear the emphasis is on top notch customer service - which they achieve. Can highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor - and ask for a room at the back with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesethief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Property: Dylan Hotel
Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing