We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival I should have known things weren't going to go well. Valet parking was an astonishing price. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready. No probs and we decided to go for a drink. We came back about 5ish and the reception desk was crazy busy. Ok so we went to the bar for another drink..... Bar staff seemed disinterested and looked a bit shabby to be honest.
We checked in when the queue died down and both of us were delighted with the room.... At first!
On closer inspection the room looked shabby and in need of a refurb. The tv in the bathroom didn't work, one bedside lamp was falling apart and the head board was loose on the bed.
We reported the issues as we left for dinner and we were told that they would be addressed.
Arrived back to the Dylan at 11pm and nothing had been done.

We will not be rushing back!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosserss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    217
    75
    30
    16
See reviews for
67
568
38
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Loved the design and the location of this hotel. Quick and refreshing walk to the popular shopping areas as well as fun pubs. The staff was very helpful - though I did feel like the concierge, Martin, was getting a cut from Hertz on car rentals as the prices he was quoting on the smallest car possible was more than what I paid at Eurocar for a BMW 5 series. So... be a big leery of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MN_Traveler_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very small. Wear and tear has taken its toll. Carpets ripped in our room. Standard double bed with uncomfortable pillows.
There is only one 5 star in ballsbridge. The four seasons. This place doesn't even come close to its standard. Def would not visit again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in several Dublin city centre hotels but this was in a class of its own. From the helpfulness of the desk staff when we called to say our flight was delayed to the attention of the restaurant staff when we eventually had our very late dinner, they couldn't have been nicer or more professional. The rooms are a great size, spacious and stylish. We liked the fact that it was a little out of the city centre. Still walking distance to town but benefitted from being quieter and leafier in a pleasant neighbourhood with decent local pubs. Have sung the Dylan's praises to all our Dublin-bound friends and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank QuincyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Dylan was a lovely place to stay. The design of the hotel is really different and quirky. However, as other reviewers have said, there is some wear on the furnishings in the bedrooms and also in the bathrooms but the accommodation is still to a very high standard. It is a little way away from the centre of Dublin but in a lovely quiet area. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The bar is also nice and seems to be popular with guests and locals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I liked this hotel. It's quirky and has a great vibe. The staff were outstanding, and the rooms had everything needed. Breakfast was functional with a combination of buffet and al a carte. The local area is nice - more of a neighbourhood feel, but some nice bars and restaurants. Distance to Central Dublin is about a 20 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride - so central enough. Given the right circumstances, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinpng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in the Dylan a little while ago for a special occasion. We were staying in a suite which was lovely but the tv in the bathroom did not work, which was very dissapointing, especially when you are paying five star prices...you do expect everything to be perfect. The food and servie was good and the staff were extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.7 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#19 of 151 in Dublin
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Property: Dylan Hotel
Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing