We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish & Cosy ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Stylish & Cosy ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I really like the location, the rooms- including the bathrooms are good, however I did bruise myself very badly getting out of the bath as it also doubled up as a shower tray! Otherwise a chic hotel with pleasant staff & good service. Stylish bar, terrace & restaurant. I would go back despite the bruise!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    210
    72
    29
    14
See reviews for
63
552
37
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just stayed three days at The Dylan. It's our favorite spot when in Dublin. All the rooms are slightly different, so the downside is you can sometimes find yourself with a rather small room. This hotel has become very popular over the past three to five years. It's first class for small functions as the staff take very good care of their guests. Breakfast is excellent here also.

This is an excellent location for walking into the city and easy for public transport also.

Overall a nice hotel just south of the city.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with balcony...there are only a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackrock747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Dylan for two night in a luxury room. I thought the finishes and décor were top notch, the linen and bedding was also very high quality. All the electronic appliances were also very high quality. My room was quiet and the other problem people seem to have had with non-soft closing doors seems to have stopped. My breakfast was also very good, there is certainly a lot of choice and the champagne on ice, ready to make a bucks fizz was a really nice touch. Very friendly staff too.

All in all it was a pretty pleasant experience. The hotel does have a luxurious feel to it which I enjoyed.

I had a few niggles - it's a 5 star hotel after all and I was paying more than €250 a night...

I was disappointed to not have a bath, when I booked I asked for a room with a bath but there were none available when I checked in.

The service in the bar area really needs to step itself up. I've stayed in loads of 5 star hotels (even non-5 star hotels) where the service is miles better. I asked the barman if he could make me a particular drink not that common in the UK and Ireland and he said curtly, "of course I know to make that." Turns out he didn't have a clue and the drink was not what I ordered but I found it too funny to complain.

I then waited more than half an over for my salad in the terrace area out the back. And no one came to check on me in all that time to ask if I needed anything and I wasn't offered any nuts when I sat down which other patrons were.

My key card stopped working twice and each time I had to mission downstairs to get it updated. On the way up the second time, the front desk staff man said oh, best not put it near your phone as it can wipe the card. Ok, thanks for letting me know. Maybe a good idea to tell your guests at the beginning of their stay?

And sadly, my room wasn't turned down on the second night of my stay. I think possibly because at 5.30pm I was in the room (someone knocked and gave me a chocolate and a bottle of water) but they really should have made a note and come back. It's something I would have completely expected from a 5 star hotel.

I really think if they iron these little things out this will be a top-class hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billythedog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here on business with my partner --it was not our first choice as that was booked at the time--but it turned out to be quite nice. The service is excellent, very kind people working there who are pleasant to deal with. We had some problems with the heater in our room and they were very diligent in dealing with it. Our room was absolutely huge, very unique decor and had a lovely view of the church --we absolutely loved the spaciousness--the bathroom was very simple and could use some updating but it was practical and worked fine for our stay.

We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and enjoyed the service/quality of the food--we also opted for dinner a few nights and both the restaurant and bar had some great options we enjoyed (love the soda bread with the soup on a chilly night).

The hotel is located in a residential area, which was nice--although we had stayed by the Grand Canal before and I personally prefer that location--this location had its benefits in that if you wanted to go for a jog in the morning you are a few blocks from the canal and can enjoy a stroll there. There is no gym in the hotel, but they do offer to take you to a private gym next door that has a few treadmills (free of charge)...I would have preferred a gym at the hotel that allowed for some diverse exercise options as it can be a little cold to go running outdoors in the morning, but that is a personal preference.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamonoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Quite expensive at 209 Euros per night for bed only, and an extra 25 Euros for the full Irish breakfast. Having said that it was to a very high standard and 100% clean at all times. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly as all the Irish folk seem to be. Evening dinner again was top price but extremely well presented and enjoyable. There was an outside sitting area to the front and a heated sitting are at the rear with TV and heaters.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 158David1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Dylan has all the extra special touches most others don't. The decor throughout is very cool and chic and the rooms I've stayed in have been huge with heated bathroom times, docking station for music, dreamy beds and fantastic customer service. The bar is very busy at the weekends with locals as well as guests which is a sign of a very popular place!! The restaurant while okay is overpriced and I would always go out to eat somewhere else given the option. Recommend this hotel to anyone :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VMC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This wonderful boutique hotel is worth staying at.
Located in a very nice street, you can walk anywhere without being in the center of Dublin.
The hotel is charming , elegant and extravagant, every room is different than the next one.
The service is great, everybody is eager to help you, we arrived at 3 AM and it was such a pleasure the way the concierge welcomed us.
The breakfast was delicious and the coffee was the best.
The terrace is a great place to rest and have a drink after a long day of touring around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Property: Dylan Hotel
Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing