We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Dublin - Don't Stay Anywhere Else”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #30 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Stayed at Dylans and had a 5 star first class experience. Truly unique boutique hotel in a non-touristy high class Dublin neighborhood with only a 15 minute walk to the center of town. The walk to the town center on Baggot Street was truly enjoyable because you pass many good restaurants (e.g., Hugos), pubs and shops, Another unique feature to the hotel is that it has a lovely patio where you can sit outside and enjoy your drinks and meals, and the food was exceptional. Most important was the attention to small details and the service we received from the staff. We checked in with our 2 teenagers and when we arrived at our room the IPOD stereo system was playing our type of mellow chill music while the music programed for our teenagers room was their favorite type of rock/pop music. Also, when we checked out we went for breakfast and requested the valet to retrieve our luggage and car. When we finished breakfast the car was waiting outside and our luggage was already packed inside the car. We don't receive this type of service and attention to small details at other 5 star hotels. Don't stay anywhere else in Dublin!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERISALAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

We just returned from dublin and stayed five nights at the dylan. Overall, it was a great hotel and I would highly recommend it. We travel extensively, and stay in nicer hotels. I liked the dylan because it has a small, intimate feel. The staff and service were top-notch. The rooms were clean and spacious by European standards. Decor is Philip Stark/Bordello. If you stay here, eat at Miller's Pizza around the corner. Great value and great pizza. Also, O'Donoghues pub and Toner's Pub on Baggot Street nearby were both authentic and enjoyable for a quick Guinness.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Just returned from a three-night stay in the Dylan, and have to say we were very impressed. We’d been invited to a friend’s wedding (unfortunately not taking place in our hotel!) and wanted somewhere fairly central but with a relaxed, though luxurious, atmosphere, and this really did tick all the boxes. The staff on the whole were great, the room huge and well decorated (with really cool Bang & Olufsen phones) and possibly the most comfortable bed that I’ve ever slept in (available to buy through the hotel no less!). Only two minor complaints - the bathrooms are on the small side (as noted by other reviewers), so you could only really get one person in there at a time; and the promised pain killers we phoned down for (well, we had been to a wedding!) never arrived – even though the person I spoke to originally was insistent that someone go out and buy them for me. Minor really, but that’s the trouble with aiming for perfection – people expect you to deliver it…

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdyllicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I travel a lot for business and was very surprised and concerned when I hopped into a cab and asked to be taken to the Dylan Hotel and the driver didn't know the hotel. This was actually quite common, so be prepared to explain the location. However, once I arrived and went to the room I was pleasantly surprised. Everything in the bathroom was top of the line, including an amazing shower- two options a waterfall from ceiling or 3 faucets. You hardly notice how small the bathroom is. The room was small but very aestetically pleasing to the eye- beautiful furniture. The front desk staff was nice and helpful if you're standing in front of them. I called down a few times and was told I would receive follow-up calls but never did. I ordered in room dining and the sandwich was tasty. The hotel is a convenient walk into the center of town- about 15mins. It's in a very nice area and I always felt comfortable out at night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel2world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Nothing more to add - apart from the comfy bed, the super room, the decadent bathroom, the great food (dinner, breakfast and bar), the staff - ready and willing to please and help and seemed to be genuinely able to remember our names! lovely quiet location - only marginally spolied by the bar becoming "THE PLACE" for the young and trendy to celebrate - and my husband and I certainly dont fit that description (or at least he doesn't!!) The trip was a bithday gift to my husband(daughter paid the fare from London and I paid for the hotel - but I got to go too!!) We had a wonderful time. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexGurkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We chose the Dylan based on a friend's recommendation and on its #1 rating on here. It was absolutely lovely - eccentric and luxurious decor, charming and helpful staff, great room, comfortable bed, nice little extras like a chocolate at turn-down and use of hair-straighteners if you need them, and gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom. The breakfasts were great and they even had gluten-free bread on request. The only tiny negative thing I'd say is that there are no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room, which seems unusual when everything else was above and beyond what you'd expect. All in all - an excellent hotel. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for and there was a good '3 nights for 2' deal on ther website.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzied2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

The Dylan has a great combination of 'hipness', style, comfort and elegence. I've been hesitant to stay here in the past because I was worried about location being too 'far' from center of things. In fact, it's very walkable to St.Stephen's and the immediate area is very nice.
The place just has a really great feel - sort of a small Four Seasons meets The Viceroy. Bed's are AMAZING and all amenities outstanding. Food and bar both excellent, although, as you'd expect, not inexpensive.
In reality, Dublin doesn't really have many true 4/5 star hotel options. Clearly, The Dylan is it hands down.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#18 of 151 in Dublin
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,449 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £149 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Splitty, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing