We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service - horrible decor, OK location”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good service - horrible decor, OK location”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We were moved to this hotel as the Conrad informed us they were fully booked - when we checked the reviews on Tripadvisor we were happy to see that it was rated so highly.

Overall the service in the hotel is very good with friendly attentive staff - our inclusive breakfast was also of a very high standard.

However, the decor in the hotel really is terrible - lime green sofas with grey carpets, studded leather walls and ceilings in the lift are two examples of the horribly over the top interiors of the place. It felt like they were trying to make the hotel as modern and luxurious as possible, but horribly missed the mark.

The location is also OK, with it being tucked in a nice quite backstreet and is about a 20min walk from the center.

Unfortunately i just couldnt recommend this place due to the pain it caused my eyes!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    217
    75
    30
    16
See reviews for
67
567
38
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

arrived after a transatlantic flight... at the Conrad which was overbooked... shuffled over to the Dylan. They can move me any time if this is the result. Fabulous service at checkin with great effort to get us quickly to our room so we could clean up. Great room with large bed, wonderful shower, and nice amentities like IPod and dock. The bar is fabulous... great for a late night drink after hitting every pub in town on St. Patty's day. Will most definitely stay here next time.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank drdisaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I spent one night at The Dylan hotel following a recommendation from a business contact in Dublin.
Hotel is genuine boutique, down a quiet street in a pleasant neighbourhood.
It is a good 15-20 minute walk to the city centre, so perhaps not the best location for sight-seeing, but for a city centre hotel it was certainly quiet and peaceful.

THE GOOD:
- Stunning decor in public areas and my room
- Very spacious bedroom
- Large bathroom with monsoon shower and underfloor heating
- Free wifi
- Good breakfast selection (although I did not try anything cooked)
- Funky bar

THE BAD:
- Coffee at breakfast - tasteless
- Perhaps a slight lack of atmosphere, despite the ornate decor
- Sound insulation between rooms is not great...yes, I could hear my neighbour peeing in the early hours...several times!

THE UNACCEPTABLE:
- Even with the ventilation switched off, there was a constant, loud buzzing noise in my room which was audible all night, even with ear plugs.

....and that's why it does not get full marks. It would not stop me staying there again, but I would check the room is quiet.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed last May, so this is extremely late and actually I thought I'd written a review but obviously had never got round to it! That's probably because when we were there in May we got engaged and have been planning our wedding ever since! So regardless of everything else the trip was a massive success anyway!

But I did want to leave a review (albeit so late) because we had a truly fabulous stay. The hotel is in a great location, not in the centre of town but a really nice walk of about 10/15 minutes into the centre of Dublin. The location is really quiet, which was perfect for what we were looking for, and the hotel itself is stunning. The building, the interiors - it's all gorgeous. We had a front facing room which we loved - the bed was massive, the decor was fab and the bathrooms was lovely. I particularly loved the phone and iPod dock in the room!

Breakfast both mornings we stayed was great and the service was quick. We had dinner on one night and cocktails on the other night and both were great. The cocktails were maybe slightly overpriced but I think that's more Dublin prices than Dylan prices.

The day after we got engaged we actually spent most of the day in the room (celebrating and nursing hangovers) and on that occassion particularly, I was so pleased we'd chosen such a gorgeous place to stay.

It's a trip I will never forget for obvious reasons but the hotel made it even better.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouJo255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Stayed in the Dylan last week in the signature suite and must say we were more than impressed. What a room!!!! What a bed!!!!. Cant fault this hotel in any way. Staff were so helpful and friendly they made us feel very welcome. Thanks Dylan........

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iCorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

My wife & I stayed here for one night over Valentine's weekend. Not a huge hotel, but for us that just adds to its charm.

Its modern & quirky, with excellent staff who make everything from booking to checkout enjoyable & effortless.

We had a “style” room which was really comfortable & spacious. Every detail seemed to be thought of.

The meal in the restaurant was gorgeous, the service was excellent & the wine was too good. Afterwards we had drinks in the very cool bar.

We finished our stay with breakfast in the room which was lovely.

Our biggest problem with the Dylan was having to leave!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Lovely boutique hotel, staff lovely restaurant & bar great. we booked a suite which was excellent, will be back! Great bar around the corner called the waterloo..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.7 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#19 of 151 in Dublin
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Property: Dylan Hotel
Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing