We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful location but..............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazelbrook House B&B
Ranked #121 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Carbonia, Ci Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Useful location but..............”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Together with my daughter we stayed at the Hazelbrook House 6 nights: two in a double and four in a twin room. Prices were higher than the quality offered. Not suffient the quality in the double room: very noisy because facing the main street, bad mattress, not a hair drier was supplied, light above the mirror in the bathroom was absent and the size of the room is very very small even for one person. Better conditions have been found in the twin room: more spacious, much quiter.
Even if we paid an average € 86.50 pn breakfast was not included, for a continental one we have been asked 5 euros pp. The Internet is not always available in the rooms and the use of a computer at the reception is charged € 1 for half an hour. Each printed page costs you 20 cents.
The location of the Guesthouse is very good, within 5 minutes walking from O'Connol and Talbot St. Eating place are near by and there are plenty.

Room Tip: The back rooms are much quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madiba1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Madiba

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hazelbrook House, as you say, we are central to Dublin City Centre, and we offer room prices that are approx. 25% cheaper than similar room types offered by other accommodation vendors. We are sorry that you did not find our room to your satisfaction, however, we do hope that you will stay with us in the future.

Please always BOOK DIRECT on Our website and Like us on Facebook to enjoy special offers and FREE draws.

Regards The Management and Staff, Hazelbrook House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    120
    162
    99
    62
See reviews for
69
156
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After peeling the old chewed gum off the headboard, then covering up the 1" screw that stuck up in the threshold to the bathroom with a towel that would surely cut our foot, and deciding that we had to put on shoes to go anywhere in the room because of the filthy carpets, we tried to get some sleep. Unfortunate for us that we had about 15 twenty year olds partying literally all night long across the short hall from us, drinking, smoking, slamming doors and yelling all night long. It would have been convenient to call the front desk to complain, but since our PHONE DIDN'T WORK, my husband had to get up 2 times between 2 and 4 a.m. to get dressed and go downstairs to complain about the noise (we had to get up for an early flight). The partying literally stopped at 6:30 a.m. The front desk guy was so apologetic, stating that he told them at least 10 times to stop, but had no other recourse. We would have gladly spent another $100 that night just to have decent accommodations and a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Darcodom

Thank you for taking the time and effort to offer an opinion of Hazelbrook House, we have a full House-keeping Team that works 7 Days per-week, we find your reference to the standard of house-keeping disappointing and all of that matters that you have raised will be addressed to establish the velocity of your comments. Please always BOOK DIRECT on Our website and Like us on Facebook to enjoy special offers and FREE draws.

Regards The Management and Staff, Hazelbrook House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After getting off our 13 hours flight we rushed to the hotel for a sleep, annoying though are plane had ran heaps early and we where way efore check in, but once checked in a lovely blonde lady helped us with everything we needed and we had a fantastic experience from there, minus the lugging 2 30kg cases to the fourth floor but hey thats part of the fun :), as always the place was brilliant and free unlimited wifi was a huge plus highly recommend :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Hi Ryan F

Thank you for your kind review of the Hazelbrook House Guesthouse Dublin City Centre, we are delighted that you found our staff and our accommodation to your satisfaction, we do our very best to facilitate early check-in when possible, and our front of house team will go out of their way to assist with your needs.

Our central location, personal service and comfortable living space are the corner stones of our products and services.

We are within a few minutes’ walk of most major attractions including Croke Park, The o2 Arena, Samuel Beckett Bridge and so much more.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our own site for your next stay.

Regards, The Management and Staff, Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived late from our flight I booked 2 rooms. The night porter showed us where to go, it was an annexe which I was fine with as that's what I had booked. However it was a health and safety nightmare, half the lights didn't work walking up the stairs and there was lumps and bumps all the way up. I walked in and the room was the smallest room I think I've ever walked in to. This is ok, it was to sleep only so I could deal with that. However it was filthy! Everywhere!!!! The tv was about 30 years old and didn't work! Had to stand on a chair to turn it on. There was a huge stain looked like mould all down the wall! The kettle provided was just a wire hanging from the wall with the base of the kettle. Another one was provided but on a side unit with no sockets near. The other room that we booked was even worse, on the second night when we arrived back they had left the skylight open so the bed was soaked, in a way it was a blessing as the mattress that was in the bed was awful anyway. You get one thin pillow and one tiny towel not even a hand towel was provided. You have to hand your keys in every time you go out which I wasn't that comfortable with! The only thing it has going for it was the location on lower gardener street, it was only a couple of minutes walk to oconnell street! I would stay in that location again but not in that hotel! It really was filthy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi Jennie3333

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion piece on your stay at Hazelbrook Lodge. In previous responses to reviews, I have tried to explain the difference between Hazelbrook House and Hazelbrook Lodge and I thank you for your patience in that regard. We have two separate websites for both products and we are completely over hauling our products and services at this time, we hope that your next stay will be more satisfactory.

Due to customer demand for budget city centre accommodation, we provided Hazelbrook Lodge, these are small budget style rooms as stated on our website, his means that we can offer this accommodation at really competitive prices, as you say, somewhere to sleep for the night.

That said, there is no excuse for dust or stains as you say you witnessed, and our house-keeping staff will be ensuring that nothing like that is in place again.

Regards, Management and Staff, Hazelbrook House and HazelbrookLodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile


I won't say I recommend this hotel to anyone...
It was VERY dirty, old, ugly and NOISY!!! The breakfast was very poor and expensive and so was the wifi... But the only positive I've got is that the location was very nice. So stay away if you can.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marthe H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Marthe H

Hazelbrook House is a Dublin City Centre Guesthouse and offers well-appointed rooms to the front of our Georgian designed building. Hazelbrook House is a traditional Irish Guesthouse in Gardiner Street Dublin. Gardiner Street Dublin is one of Dublin’s best known Georgian Streets; Gardiner Street Dublin is historically, culturally, politically and architecturally important due to its unique history.

Hazelbrook Lodge is a separate (sister) property offering Budget City Centre accommodation. Hazelbrook Lodge offers 9 small single rooms with shared bathrooms and showers, Hazelbrook Lodge also offers 10 Double-rooms which are en-suite, however, they are small Double-rooms offered at unbeatable city centre prices.

I think I need to make this distinction as there is clearly confusion between the two products, hopefully going forward the distinction will be understood, we take full responsibility for not clarifying this confusion earlier and we thank you for your patience to date.

Both Hazelbrook House and Hazelbrook Lodge have their own individual websites and their individual products and services are set out clearly, please check out the websites and BOOK DIRECT on our website for the product you want.

Regards, The Management, Hazelbrook House and Hazelbrook Lodge, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is an economic place to stay but it is plenty of insects, spiders... in the room and underneath the bedsheets. Looking through the tiny window you can see people having heroine just a few metres from you in the street. Dirty showers and wc, no toilet paper most of times. They give you clean towels every day, that´s true. Very noisi place, people slamming doors at night time. Never coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea8622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi BEA 8622

Hazelbrook House is a Dublin City Centre Guesthouse and offers well-appointed rooms to the front of our Georgian designed building. Hazelbrook House is a traditional Irish Guesthouse in Gardiner Street Dublin. Gardiner Street Dublin is one of Dublin’s best known Georgian Streets; Gardiner Street Dublin is historically, culturally, politically and architecturally important due to its unique history.

Hazelbrook Lodge is a separate (sister) property offering Budget City Centre accommodation. Hazelbrook Lodge offers 9 small single rooms with shared bathrooms and showers, Hazelbrook Lodge also offers 10 Double-rooms which are en-suite, however, they are small Double-rooms offered at unbeatable city centre prices.

I think I need to make this distinction as there is clearly confusion between the two products, hopefully going forward the distinction will be understood, we take full responsibility for not clarifying this confusion earlier and we thank you for your patience to date.

Both Hazelbrook House and Hazelbrook Lodge have their own individual websites and their individual products and services are set out clearly, please check out the websites and BOOK DIRECT on our website for the product you want.

Regards, The Management, Hazelbrook House and Hazelbrook Lodge, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 151 in Dublin
615 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,119 reviews
Maple Hotel
#132 of 151 in Dublin
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hazelbrook Lodge
#106 of 149 in Dublin
8 reviews
Durban Residence
#85 of 149 in Dublin
140 reviews
The Glen Guesthouse
#110 of 149 in Dublin
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbrook House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbrook House B&B

Property: Hazelbrook House B&B
Address: 86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hazelbrook House B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Dublin and 10 minutes' walk from Croke Park, this Listed building boasts Georgian architecture and interiors, offering bedrooms with high ceilings. Hazelbrook House B&B offers affordable bedrooms with en suite facilities. Rooms all feature cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas; hairdryers/ travel adaptors/ irons/ ironing boards are available from reception. Dublin Castle and Trinity College, where you can view the famous Book of Kells, are both within a 10-minute walk of Hazelbrook House B&B. The IFSC (Ireland’s International Financial Services Centre) is just 2 minutes' walk away. With a 24-hour front desk, explore the many restaurants, bars and clubs of Dublin’s bustling city centre. The vibrant Temple Bar district is just a 5- minute walk from Hazelbrook. This is our guests' favourite part of Dublin, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hazelbrook House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelbrook House Hotel Dublin
Hazelbrook Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing