We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hazelbrook House B&B
Ranked #128 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 4 friends, all in one room, for a rugby weekend. Room was very clean, beds comfortable and bathroom adequate. The hotel is right in the centre of Dublin. For £60 each for two nights, you can't go wrong.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi Racheal

It was a great pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us at Hazelbrook House, we remember your group well and we thank you for choosing Hazelbrook House for your stay in Dublin.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    119
    156
    94
    60
See reviews for
65
151
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very small room with very little space
Old-fashioned style inside
Not very clean and tidy
Staff didn't have a good level of understanding of the English language
Handy to center of Dublin
Area was dodgy

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi Natasha

I am sorry that your experience was not as good as it could have been when you stayed at Hazelbrook House, I am not sure which room you stayed in and I am sorry if it was one of the rooms that had not yet been refurnished. We take great pride in our rooms and premises and it is disappointing that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I would ask that you give us another try and the information below will explain why we think you should give us another chance.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

-Great location - right in the city centre
-Cleaned everyday
-Walking distance to all main attractions
-Welcoming and friendly staff
-It is what you pay for, if you expect more than a bed to sleep in and a shower to wash in book into the hilton!

We didnt spend much time in the room as we were out enjoying Dublin and if you want to have a good time and enjoy the facilities then understand it is what you pay for - a cheap, budget hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristieAndDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Christie

Thank you for your kind review, we offer comfortable rooms with memory foam mattresses, our room rates are guaranteed, we are right in the heart of Dublin and within walking distance of Croke Park, City Centre and so much more. We look forward to your next stay.

Please LIKE us on Facebook to enjoy our latest FREE Draw and always BOOK DIRECT to enjoy The Best Rates. Please see, Rate comparison site, gardinerstreetdublin.com for the Best Rates in Dublin City Centre.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

With a group of friends we've stayed in Hazelbrook House, a place that I would like to discourage people from going to. The bed me and my girlfriend slept in was very soft. As a result we woke up every morning with pain in our back. The showers were ice cold (other guests told us that this was the case for a couple of days already prior to our arrival) which is far from comfortable if its is December and very cold. Furthermore, the accommodation is very noisy. You can hear the neighbours talking and the neighbours above walking through their room. Finally, we had one little window that we could open which was situated in a patio. Unfortunately, we could not sleep with the window open because the Italian guests at the first floor were smoking hash of which the smell was unbareable (even though we slept on the third floor). I would never go back to this place...ever!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi Jim

I am somewhat confused by your opinion piece, you say it was a cold December and yet you wanted to sleep with your window open, but could not due to alleged mis-behaviour by others, you say you know what ‘hash’ smells like, I personally do not, but I can share this information with you. A group of young men had brought a terminally ill friend of theirs to stay in Dublin for possibly the last time, he was on special medication that used herbal medicines that were inhaled and exhaled using a special inhaler provided by medical professionals, as a courtesy to his friends, the young man used the court yard to take his herbal medication rather than use his inhaler in the room, the young man showed me his prescription for his medication and a letter from his doctor. I hope this clarifies the situation that you complain about and perhaps you could now apologise for making defamatory comments about a group of great lads.

Regards The Management and Staff at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This place was a real bummer. The location is decent and pretty close to the sights, but upon arrival my whole mood changed because of the front desk employee. I had arrived earlier than expected, so I asked if I should wait a bit and she snapped at me, saying the room was ready and that's what she'd been looking up on the computer! yikes! the shower was REALLY MOULDY! can we spray some bleach over here?! and the water was quickly switching between hot and cold - so uncomfortable! I was pretty cold in the room and there weren't many blankets. internet signal was very weak, but I was lucky enough to be located near the entrance, the only place where internet is available. also breakfast isn't always included. They said I could pay an extra 10 euro for breakfast - maybe this was in the fine print? and why is this place so expensive? don't recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi Cola

When you BOOK DIRECT, you can select the B and B rate or the Room Only Rate, you BOOKED the cheaper rate and then expected to have breakfast for FREE also. Further, Our Full Irish Breakfast is NOT €10, it is in fact the same price as every other Guesthouse in Dublin.

Regards, The Management and Staff, Hazelbrook House, Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassari, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at Hazelbrook for three nights! The lodge is a depandance building, part of Hazelbrook house, which is the main building and the name you can read on the sign displayed outside on Lower Gardiner Street
The location is superb, easily to reach both from the airport bus stop, the DART and the city centre. It is just a few steps away from busy O'Connel street. You can use the Spire as a reference point to find your way as it is so close!
Temple Bar district and all the major Dublin landmarks (castle, ST Patrick's, Guinness Storehouse, Trinity college) are all within convenience walking distance.
The room we were assigned was a tiny ènsuite double room, with no closet so we had to leave our stuff in the cases. The bathroom and the shower too were small and, as typical in Ireland, the basin came with two separate faucets for hot and cold water which made it difficult to mix being the hot water too hot and the cold too freezing! We did not have a proper window but a roofed one . There were also a tv and coffee and tea making facilities! We also experienced some issues with the door handle but on the whole our stay was ok! The bed was comfortable and the room clean! Not to mention the great value for money!
One drawback if you are an internet addict. Free wifi is only provided in the common areas, so the lobby and the living room!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LellaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Lella

Hazelbrook Lodge is an annex to Hazelbrook House offering small, yet comfortable, double ensuite-rooms and single shared bathroom accommodation, Hazelbrook Lodge was specifically designed for people who want to spend their money on entertainment rather than expensive city centre accommodation. Hazelbrook Lodge is enjoyed by business people on a visit to the city, concert goers who want to be within walking distance of The O2, Croke Park and so much more, and day trippers who want to spend their money on shopping.

Thank you for your kind review of Hazelkbrook Lodge and Hazelbrook House, we are a family owned Guesthouse and have been delivering Bed and Breakfast for almost 20 years. Prior to being a Guesthouse, our modernised Georgian Building was a world renowned winery and many of the deep under-ground cellars remain in place today.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay at Hazelbrook House and we would invite you to LIKE our Facebook page where you can enter our FREE Christmas Bonanza Draw that is being presented by both Hazelbrook House and other professional accommodation providers in Gardiner Street Dublin.

We look forward to your next stay at Hazelbrook House, and please, always BOOK DIRECT on Our website so that you may enjoy the best deal available.

Regards, The Management and Staff, Hazelbrook House and Hazelbrook Lodge, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had an extremely pleasant stay at Hazelbrook House. I stayed here on Sunday October 27th 2013 with three friends, as we were attending a show at the 02 Dublin and once again, Hazelbrook did not disappoint. I always stay here when I come to Dublin. I have stayed here a good few times now. The staff are really nice and the rooms are comfortable and clean and spacious. The breakfast is quite nice also. It is always reasonably priced to stay here and I would highly recommend it in general . It is perfectly situated, being only a couple of minutes walk to the main street and also to the luas on Abbey Street. I am always made to feel welcome here and could not say a bad word about the place. The staff are very obliging and nothing is too much trouble- for example, upon checking out the following morning, they allow you to leave your luggage in the luggage room until you are getting your train or bus home or whatever. To sum up, if you stay here, you will receive a very friendly and professional service, a good breakfast and a very clean, spacious and comfortable room and close proximity to the main town. I could not recommend the place highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmlyLc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi EmlyLc1980

As always it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us at Hazelbrook House in Dublin City Centre, you have highlighted many of our key selling points, including our value for money prices, our central location (a few minutes’ walk from Temple Bar yet we offer up to 30% cheaper accommodation) and our Full Irish Breakfast to start your day.

Thank you for your kind review of Hazelbrook House, we are a family owned Guesthouse and have been delivering Bed and Breakfast for almost 20 years. Prior to being a Guesthouse, our modernised Georgian Building was a world renowned winery and many of the deep under-ground cellars remain in place today.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay at Hazelbrook House and we would invite you to LIKE our Facebook page where you can enter our FREE Christmas Bonanza Draw that is being presented by both Hazelbrook House and other professional accommodation providers in Gardiner Street Dublin.

We look forward to your next stay at Hazelbrook House, and please, always BOOK DIRECT on Our website so that you may enjoy the best deal available.

Regards, The Management and Staff, Hazelbrook House and Hazelbrook Lodge, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Durban Residence
#95 of 162 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hazelbrook Lodge
#116 of 162 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Egans House
#26 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Abbington House B&B
#117 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbrook House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbrook House B&B

Property: Hazelbrook House B&B
Address: 86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hazelbrook House B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Dublin and 10 minutes' walk from Croke Park, this Listed building boasts Georgian architecture and interiors, offering bedrooms with high ceilings. Hazelbrook House B&B offers affordable bedrooms with en suite facilities. Rooms all feature cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas; hairdryers/ travel adaptors/ irons/ ironing boards are available from reception. Dublin Castle and Trinity College, where you can view the famous Book of Kells, are both within a 10-minute walk of Hazelbrook House B&B. The IFSC (Ireland’s International Financial Services Centre) is just 2 minutes' walk away. With a 24-hour front desk, explore the many restaurants, bars and clubs of Dublin’s bustling city centre. The vibrant Temple Bar district is just a 5- minute walk from Hazelbrook. This is our guests' favourite part of Dublin, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hazelbrook House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelbrook House Hotel Dublin
Hazelbrook Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing