We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stag weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazelbrook House B&B
Ranked #121 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    120
    162
    101
    64
See reviews for
71
156
51
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My Family and I arrived from the States second week in May 2014, we were tired and exhausted. The Airport Bus stopped right outside our Guest House that is known as Hazelbrook House in Gardiner Street Dublin. Both my wife and I immediately commented on how clean the front of the house was and how welcoming with all the flowers. The hall way was bright and colorful, and once we stepped inside we were blown away with the beautiful Georgian style lobby area. Our family room was spacious, clean and had fantastic beds including memory foam mattresses. Hazelbrook House is right in the heart of Dublin, the staff are friendly and informative and it is clear that the owners of this product have put time, effort and money into this wonderful Irish Guest House. Little garden areas offer a great retreat after a hard days shopping and touring. We will be back in 2016 for the Centenary celebrations of Irish Independence and we look forward to staying again at Hazelbrook House.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Ron

It was a great pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Hazelbrook House in Gardiner Street, Dublin City Centre. We are humbled by your wonderful review of our guesthouse and it is heart-warming that our guests have appreciated the efforts that we have made to improve our product. We look forward to your return in 2016 for the celebrations around Irish Independence.

We offer BEST RATES GUARANTEED, we are normally 30% cheaper than similar accommodation in Temple Bar which is only 5 minutes walk away and we provide comfortable rooms in the centre of Dublin.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Summer sun shines each day. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We took a 5-people room, that was big enough to move and store the luggages.
The room and the bath were cleaned every day.
The shower box should be fixed: we had to be careful when we close the doors.
Everyone has been kind with us, we asked and obtained more towels without problems.
They also loaned us an electric adapter for a 5€ fee, that was given us back when we left.
It was a really good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darko1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi David

Your party was a pleasure to serve, great guys, and we hope you enjoyed your stay at Hazelbrook House. It was a great pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us at Hazelbrook House in Gardiner Street Dublin City Centre. Our Stag and Hen Party groups bring a real richness to our guesthouse and to our area, thank you again for your kind review.

We offer BEST RATES GUARANTEED, we are normally 30% cheaper than similar accommodation in Temple Bar which is only 5 minutes walk away and we provide comfortable rooms in the centre of Dublin.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Summer sun shines each day. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Cork
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed here a few times since 1997. Back then, they were more friendly and have changed hands since then....but they are ok now too, I just enjoyed the staff more years ago.

The parking is very tight in a garage out the back.
The accommodation can vary from decent front rooms looking out on to the busy Gardiner street which I personally prefer to the more dark rooms at the back looking out on to a small yard or yard area.
Beds are not the softest in the world but will do the job.

I would stay here again if I was only looking for a quick place to crash for the night....no glamour here but as I say, quite decent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front, they are bigger and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totalamnesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Totalamnesia

All of our beds have been fitted with Memory Foam Mattresses (most of the 4 star hotels in Dublin do not have Memory Foam mattresses) so your comment about our mattress is rejected.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with three friends. We had a room with one double bed and three singles - and the smallest bathroom in the world! The room was clean and suited us for one night. The shower was awful, no pressure and no temperature control, it went from freezing to scalding every 30 seconds.....It's hovering on a fine line between B&B and hostel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Igloo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Igloo

It was great to have your group stay with us, our large family rooms have bathrooms that are equal in size and quality to any hotel or guesthouse in Dublin of an equal star-rating, however, each person is entitled to their own opinion. As explained water pressure can vary depending on usage, we have a very clear eco policy that ensures that our water is used effectively and efficiently, equally our green policy ensures that our carbon footprint is kept to an absolute minimum. I have personally stayed in hotels that burn gas 24/7 and pump out boiling water 24/7, however, this is not eco/green friendly and we will continue to provide a good quality service that impacts as little as possible on our planet.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards

The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Reading the list of negative comments reminds me of the comment "opinions are like ar**holes....everyones got one!!" Yes, there may have been some minor problems if you like to nit-pick but overall this is a well run little B&B.

Simone and her staff made 10 lads aged between 25 & 57 very welcome upon our arrival. Check in was easy and the two rooms we had below street level were of a good size, clean and well worth the money we paid. The door of one of the showers was broken off when we arrived but was fixed by the maintenance man within 10mins of check-in. We were given suggestions where to go and treated very well throughout. The beds/duvets were some of the best i`ve slept in and this is comparing to the likes of Best Westerns, Travelodge and Premier Inn`s

The only negative from the room was that hot water was pretty sparse and the window didn`t open.

One word of warning if you are a single traveller, the single bedded, shared bath rooms at the annex at the back of the building are not worth the 59 Euro tag, so just plump a bit more for a double or twin. One of our party was late booking and went for that option and whereas the room was clean and cosy it did resemble a jail cell.

The premises itself is clean, central to all local ammenities and the airport bus stops directly outside. If like us you`re with a group, this is a wonderful B&B and we will be returning when we go to Dublin again in the future.

Room Tip: For group bookings of over 5, ask for rooms 1&2. Good little base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBowen619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Matt

It was a pleasure to have your group of great guys stay with us at Hazelbrook House, we look forward to your return visit, we are constantly trying to improve our customer service and your feedback is very welcome. Our city centre location means that we are within walking distance of all major attractions including award winning restaurants, bars and places of historic and cultural interest.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Arrived at hotel to find the accomadation had changed the 4 bed an 3bed turned into 4doubles the rooms were being used an meant one of us had to b on our own it had no wardrobes an cold water in most the price we paid was without breakfast an there was no facilities for food in saying that the beds etc were clean an staff all really helpfull an accomadating apart from the hiccups with arrival an rooms they did try to rectify wot they could the place was central enough an we all enjoyed our stay after our inticial hiccups were sorted wid have been nice if a recopppence of some sort was given bt wouldn't stop me going bk if this improved staff were lovely an the central location were bonus

Room Tip: Contact them before arrival make sure bking is still in order
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House B&B, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Rondo67

Firstly, we really enjoyed having your group of 8 fun ladies stay with us at Hazelbrook House, as you know, we made every good effort to keep your group together and I even gave you my own personal hair-drier when all the house hair-driers had been borrowed. I did explain that we had removed all of the out-dated furniture (including wardrobes) and new beds with memory foam mattresses had been installed and our new modern hangers (that will replace the old style wardrobes) are to be installed after 1st April when the manufactures will provide us with same.

Sorry about any inconvenience in relation to the wardrobes and we really look forward to your next stay.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#78 of 151 in Dublin
1,123 reviews
Maple Hotel
#135 of 151 in Dublin
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hazelbrook Lodge
#117 of 150 in Dublin
9 reviews
Durban Residence
#82 of 150 in Dublin
142 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#25 of 150 in Dublin
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbrook House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbrook House B&B

Property: Hazelbrook House B&B
Address: 86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hazelbrook House B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Dublin and 10 minutes' walk from Croke Park, this Listed building boasts Georgian architecture and interiors, offering bedrooms with high ceilings. Hazelbrook House B&B offers affordable bedrooms with en suite facilities. Rooms all feature cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas; hairdryers/ travel adaptors/ irons/ ironing boards are available from reception. Dublin Castle and Trinity College, where you can view the famous Book of Kells, are both within a 10-minute walk of Hazelbrook House B&B. The IFSC (Ireland’s International Financial Services Centre) is just 2 minutes' walk away. With a 24-hour front desk, explore the many restaurants, bars and clubs of Dublin’s bustling city centre. The vibrant Temple Bar district is just a 5- minute walk from Hazelbrook. This is our guests' favourite part of Dublin, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hazelbrook House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelbrook House Hotel Dublin
Hazelbrook Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing