We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glen Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Glen Guesthouse
Ranked #116 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The room was not bad but the price was pretty high, the breakfast is ok but the staff is really unfriendly, out tv didn't work the night before leaving and the manager didn't helped us at all, she just yelled at us.
You can hear everything in you room even the steps from another people.

I would never stay here again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anaa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    101
    118
    53
    38
See reviews for
41
149
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Room was nice enough, enjoyed the staff was so rude who was serving us breakfast! Could hardly speak a word of English the the guy in reception was nice but the kitchen and waiting staff wasn't. Carpet in our room was ripped. No wer to park so had to pay €25 for the parking. Great value for were the location is, just ashame about the room and staff. Would only visit the glen house again for the location

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

All side lamps not working.bed sheets or towels not replaced.was not even a full irish breakfast, was missing mushrooms, fried bread and onions.was tricked into being sent to a dive (the maple) for a "traditional irish coffee" was not nice and bartender was over friendly and touchy, felt very uncomfortable and the place stunk of smoke and felt very suspicious there. The staff at guesthouse was very unfriendly and intimidating. Will never go here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taloula11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a couple of nights break as a christmas present from each other and had a fab time, we got exactly what we paid for and couldn't find a fault with the guesthouse, breakfast was lovely very close to the centre, some fab things to see and do in Dublin. I would recommend the storehouse for great food and brill entertainment. We would stay here again if we was to visit Dublin again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable. Best shower we had our entire trip! Traditional Irish breakfast (outside of my comfort zone, but a must if you are in Ireland). They were great about letting us leave luggage when we arrived early in the day (also different than the USA, they kept it in the reception room, but it was safe and fine). I had read enough reviews to know everyone in Dublin makes you leave the key when you leave the buidling, then you get it again when you arrive, so this wasn't a shock or inconvenience to us. We also stayed in January, so didn't have to worry about noises from outside because our windows were closed. Overall, great stay and no complaints!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Make sure you are up bright and early if you want some hot water as once the tank is empty there is no hot water for a few hours and the radiators only come on in the morning and evening so the rooms are cold in the afternoon. The dinning area is quiet small so be down for breakfast at 8am prompt if you want a table or you will have to wait or share a table which we found very uncomfortable as they are small tables and we didn't speak the same language as the other couple. The hotels in a great location and is clean enough but only managing two showers in five days and having to have cold washes makes make give this a poor rating, it just seems the owners are cutting too many corners when it comes to quality service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

You really cannot fault the location of the Glen, across the road from the bus stop from the airport, less than a 5 min walk to O'Connell Street and not far from the O2 (the main reason for our visit)
I think we were quite lucky with our room having read some reviews. Booked a twin but got what looked like a family room(double and single) the room right above the breakfast room and only noise was from other guests banging the doors. The room was far too hot but very comfy. The shower head fell off mid shower but was fixed the same day with no problem bathroom quiet small compared to size of the room. Towels could also b slightly bigger but that's just a minor thing.
All the staff we encountered were polite, not very chatty only spoke if you asked a question.
We made breakfast twice out of the 4 days, Purely out of our laziness and not the quality of the food.
The one big downside is No Wifi in the rooms, had to go to either Carroll's Gift Shop or Starbucks to get it.
Also when booked was offered a free Guinness as a gift but that wasn't mentioned at all.
Probably would stay again if they sorted out the wifi.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at The Glen Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi ExeterGirly

Thank you for choosing The Glen Guesthouse. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Glen Guesthouse. Thank you for your kind review of The Glen Guesthouse, you have pointed out two of our key selling points, our central location and our Full Irish Breakfast. We look forward to you next visit, please BOOK DIRECT on Our website and enjoy a FREE Irish Coffee in Ned Keenan’s Traditional Irish Bar.

Our location means that we are central, we are 5 minutes from O’Connell Street and 10 Minutes from Temple Bar, yet our room prices are at least 25% less than similar rooms offered in those locations. We offer a Full Irish Breakfast when you BOOK DIRECT on Our website, and we have discount vouchers for most major attractions at reception.

At the Glen Guesthouse we do our very best to offer good value budget accommodation to all our guests, we hope that you will stay with us again and until then we wish you safe travelling.
Please like us on Facebook where we have great FREE Draws and Special Offers.

Regards, The Management and Staff, The Glen Guesthouse, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
O'Shea's Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Durban Residence
#91 of 161 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#26 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guesthouse

Property: The Glen Guesthouse
Address: 84 Lower Gardiner Street | Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glen Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Glen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing