We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel!”
Review of Abbey Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Court
Ranked #7 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We turned up with no booking and they fitted us in, very cheap prices per night! Loads of facilities, great vibe around the hostel! Very helpful girl at desk. Rooms get a bit stuffy but in summer that's expected! Stayed in 24 bed dorm and still got great nights sleep! Definitely worth it!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TravellingHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi there ,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you back again soon.

Many thanks,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

owner is the nicest guy, girl who made my booking was rude, didn't understand me properly and was obviously annoyed, other staff from breakfast etc is very nice; room was fine, enough bathrooms; breakfast is good (toast, fruit, cereals); location is great, therefore I would stay there again but I hope I never have to deal with that girl again


Room Tip: some dorms are too big, wouldn't stay in one bigger than 12 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ams16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. Apologies you had a bad experience with our staff. Could you please send your full name to yvonne@abbey-court.com so we can look into this issue more thoroughly.

Many thanks,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

From abbey court,you can get access to tourist spots easily! Even if you don't know Dublin at all,abbey court always gives you advise with hospitality! Living here making my trip in Ireland easier and more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy64321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hey - glad to hear you were happy with our service :)

Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Abbey court was overall a fantastic place. Yes, getting around is a bit of a maze, but that's what makes it unique and fun to explore. Loved staying in the 12 bed rooms. My stuff was always safe, never like I needed to lock things up, but they have chains to go with a self-supplied lock for the under-bed bins.

Never had a problem with the staff, always nice and helpful. They have yummy chips (crisps) at the front too… for everyone who loves freebies. They have a free luggage room too. And though I didn't have to take advantage of it, they were totally cool with others that checked out but needed a place to hold their luggage.

I wish the kitchen was a little cleaner. They have staff that gets breakfast ready, and it's pretty good: toast, cereal, milk, juice and fresh fruit… I thought it was an amazing breakfast from a hostel and at no additional cost. Back to the cleanliness: it's the people staying there that aren't picking up after themselves which is slightly unfortunate. The kitchen is also long and narrow, which is slightly cumbersome… but no big deal for me - it just wasn't anything I knew beforehand.

Other than that, I wish they would make better use of their cinema room… it was so cool looking! Oh, I traveled solo, I'm 27 and I had no problem finding others to hang out with. Really good mix of people in the hostel.

The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were nothing special, but it wasn't unsanitary. People that rate this place poorly for cleanliness are, in my opinion, going overboard: it's a decent priced hotel filled with young travelers coming in and out often - stuff isn't meant to look like a 5-star hotel, it's a hostel.

Room Tip: I never locked my stuff up and I was in a 10-12 bed (I forget) room. But they have a chain (at no ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely review! At the moment the weather is so good - too hot to stay in and watch movies! But we may have 'movie nights' once a week shortly. We are constantly telling people to clean up after themselves - but like everywhere there are people who just don't like cleaning up after themselves. Thanks again for the review! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I visited with two friends who had never stayed in a hostel before and they were a little apprehensive. We arrived to find friendly staff, a clean room and comfortable beds. The toilets and bathrooms were constantly being cleaned and we found the facilities adequate. Breakfast was a bit basic - cereal, toast, pastries and a bit of fruit but the kitchen facilities were clean and well equipped to cook your own food. There was also a computer room, wifi and our favourite the chill out room with hammocks. Abbey Court was an excellent first impression of a hostel for my friends who have both said they would stay in one again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank thecortvriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

So glad you and your friend were happy with your stay! Please come back again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My friends and I booked this hostel almost a year in advance for St Patrick's weekend of 2014. 4 days before we were due to arrive, 3 of our party dropped out due to financial reasons, so I gave the hostel and email about cancelling the beds, in which they were happy to do! (Save us 4 students paying for the other 3 beds!) Very kind. The staff were very helpful at all times, helping us direct ourselves around town and what trams and buses to catch to certain places. Only time I didn't enjoy myself around the staff was when I went for a pint in the bar out the back, the old Irish man behind the bar was very rude to me because I was English. I stayed to listen to what he had to say about me and the English, finished my pint and left, never going back to his bar. The downstairs kitchen area was great, every guest would cook for themselves, eat and then without hesitation wash up. I have stayed at places before where people don't bother to wash up! Everyone we got speaking to who was a guest was very friendly. Downstairs living area has a little old TV and some sofas which is perfect for some relaxation after a long day out exploring Dublin.

The rooms were just what you'd expect, bunk beds, a lock underneath the beds and a shower room with a toilet shared between a 12 bed dorm. The rooms where cleaned every morning, bed sheets changed and wash room. Around the hostel, there was various other shower rooms and toilets which were open for use for any other guests. These were also very clean.

Wifi did struggle to remain connected on Mobile Phones, I had to keep on re-entering the password, however on my friends Mac Book it worked all the time.

Vending machine downstairs with cans of Lager and Guinness, if I remember correctly and they were slightly pricey, but the machine was ideal for when we returned in at 4am and each wanted 1 can and all offies being shut!

The location couldn't have got any better, Burger King around the corner, Temple Bar area just across the bridge and a Tesco Express just 5 minutes walk away on Fleet Street.

Overall, our trip to Dublin for St Patrick's weekend was completely by this fantastic hostel, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hey - thank you so much for the detailed review! We appreciate it. Wifi on phones gets a little slower when we are so busy but we are constantly updating it.

Many thanks,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The private rooms are a bit cramped, but pretty standard for a hostel. They are in a great location, very quiet, clean, and quite comfortable. The staff was largely very helpful and there was a lot of information on things to do in the area at the reception desk. They held luggage for us for a few days as well for a small fee, 2 euro a day I believe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylormm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the review! We also have free locked luggage storeage downstairs for guests to use.

Many thanks,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 124 in Dublin
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 124 in Dublin
2,193 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 124 in Dublin
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court

Address: 29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £12 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court 2*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Court hostel and Apartments are located in the very centre of Dublin City, just at O'Connell Bridge and within walking distance of all the popular city attractions. It is a family-run business and we pride ourselves in the warmth of our welcome. With private rooms and dormitories ranging from four to twenty-four beds, we cater for lone travelers, couples, groups of friends and larger group bookings. Included in your stay is free breakfast, free skype landline calls and free WIFI through out. There is always something to do as there is a games room, cinema room, hammock room, large common area and plenty more. Staff are available 24 hours for any advice needed and there is no curfew. Its cleanliness, great friendly vibe, location and low prices make it the best hostel in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Dublin
Abbey Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing