We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful staff, great location, good ventilation in room”
Review of Abbey Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey Court
Ranked #8 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“helpful staff, great location, good ventilation in room”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked a 4-room dorm for our family group of 3 adults and it worked out nicely. Room size and bathroom size was what one would expect at a hostel. Beds were fine and the room was clean. Extra nice was the large window (opened and closed easily), view of Bachelor's Way and the river, and the central location. We were able to catch buses and trains easily and lots of pubs and restaurants in the area. Within walking distance to museums. Sketchy WiFi on the third floor of the hostel, but basement common area had great signal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniebanniefofannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the review - come back again soon! Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    344
    198
    79
    83
See reviews for
51
147
267
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Small rooms, poorly equipped bathrooms, squeaking beds.

The responsible enter our room at 3:30 a.m. to reprimand us instead knock the door. We deserve it, but it´s scary when you hear someone entering your room.

Room Tip: Go to other hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmMail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, apologies about this - we are speaking to all night-porters about entering rooms without knocking. Generally they will all knock before entering but perhaps their first knocks were not heard. Our bathrooms are in the process of being renovated and if you see our facebook page a picture of some of the new ones will be uploaded shortly. Kind Regards, Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed in a 12 bed dorm- smaller than some 6 bed dorms we have stayed in! The room was small and narrow with beds along both sides- you are literally about 30cm from 1 persons feet at one end and 30cm from their head on the other side! Our room had an ensuite which was quite filthy (covered in mould, pubic hairs and a bad smell). The room was always filled with flies crawling all over everything and both my partner and I left the place covered in insect bites- what was biting us we don't want to know!
The place seems to attract an older crowd and a LOT of long term residents- some were great friendly people, some treat you as if you are invading their home. The under bed storage lockers didn't feel overly secure and another person staying there told us he had his credit card stolen from the room.
The wifi dropped out literally every 10 minutes, there was only one power outlet in the room so you had to leave anything on charge by someone else's bed and there was also an eerie green light on the ceiling which stayed on all night.
Mattresses were pretty bad- could feel the metal bunk bed through it and pillows were flat as pancakes.
The kitchen was mostly clean with staff in there cleaning up constantly during peak times- the fridges were another story, overflowing, no space, bad smells and no matter how often I mopped up the shelf we always found our bag in a puddle of liquid.
Breakfast was decent (plus the staff wash up which is a real bonus) and location was ok- good if you are looking to spend a lot of time in temple bar.
The walking tour was fantastic and if you do have to stay here I would highly recommend going along however you can still do the same tour staying at other locations.
The staff were friendly and quite helpful the prices are low (rightfully so!)
All in all this was my least favourite hostel, the facilities and rooms felt very overcrowded and I think we would've had a better experience in Dublin staying elsewhere. I would not return and would advise anyone staying longer than 1-2 nights to shop around before settling on Abbey Court

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mez159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for the review. We never usually receive any complaints about the size of our 12 bed dorms - in most hostels you will find that all the beds are relatively close to eachother. Our bathrooms are frequently cleaned and there are regular checks done - if they are unclean we would encourage and hope guests would speak to a member of staff to let us know. We do not usually have an issue with insects but having spoken with other businesses in the area and with the time of year it is - we are not the only ones with this issue. We are taking the necessary precautions to ensure they stop affecting us by installing pest control on all floors.


We have a 28 day only maximum period of stay. We generally attract young backpackers but we do not discriminate by age - we feel if you are young at heart you are welcome at the Abbey Court. We take theft very seriously and look into all of these issues if they ever arise. We also have a key card system installed where people enter and in 95% of our rooms. There are more lockers, as well as the ones under each bed in our common areas which are free to use.

We are constantly updating the wifi and have routers installed many places around the hostel to keep the signal as good as possible for all guests to use. With a very full house at the moment however, it can become slightly slower. We also encourage guests to refrain from downloading movies and music as this slows down the wifi for everyone else. The tiny green light is part of the fire exit and must remain there for the safety of all guests.

We now have an extra fridge for guests to use. With regard to our location - we constantly receive excellent reviews for it as it is within walking distance of all modes of transport to outside the city, all points of interest including Trinity College, Stephens Green, Christchurch Cathedral, Jamesons Distillery, shopping areas and of course all nightlife areas.

Again - we apologise for the things you were unhappy about and we thank you for bringing them to our attention as it is the only way we can improve.

Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We turned up with no booking and they fitted us in, very cheap prices per night! Loads of facilities, great vibe around the hostel! Very helpful girl at desk. Rooms get a bit stuffy but in summer that's expected! Stayed in 24 bed dorm and still got great nights sleep! Definitely worth it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi there ,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you back again soon.

Many thanks,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

owner is the nicest guy, girl who made my booking was rude, didn't understand me properly and was obviously annoyed, other staff from breakfast etc is very nice; room was fine, enough bathrooms; breakfast is good (toast, fruit, cereals); location is great, therefore I would stay there again but I hope I never have to deal with that girl again


Room Tip: some dorms are too big, wouldn't stay in one bigger than 12 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ams16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. Apologies you had a bad experience with our staff. Could you please send your full name to yvonne@abbey-court.com so we can look into this issue more thoroughly.

Many thanks,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

From abbey court,you can get access to tourist spots easily! Even if you don't know Dublin at all,abbey court always gives you advise with hospitality! Living here making my trip in Ireland easier and more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy64321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hey - glad to hear you were happy with our service :)

Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Abbey court was overall a fantastic place. Yes, getting around is a bit of a maze, but that's what makes it unique and fun to explore. Loved staying in the 12 bed rooms. My stuff was always safe, never like I needed to lock things up, but they have chains to go with a self-supplied lock for the under-bed bins.

Never had a problem with the staff, always nice and helpful. They have yummy chips (crisps) at the front too… for everyone who loves freebies. They have a free luggage room too. And though I didn't have to take advantage of it, they were totally cool with others that checked out but needed a place to hold their luggage.

I wish the kitchen was a little cleaner. They have staff that gets breakfast ready, and it's pretty good: toast, cereal, milk, juice and fresh fruit… I thought it was an amazing breakfast from a hostel and at no additional cost. Back to the cleanliness: it's the people staying there that aren't picking up after themselves which is slightly unfortunate. The kitchen is also long and narrow, which is slightly cumbersome… but no big deal for me - it just wasn't anything I knew beforehand.

Other than that, I wish they would make better use of their cinema room… it was so cool looking! Oh, I traveled solo, I'm 27 and I had no problem finding others to hang out with. Really good mix of people in the hostel.

The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were nothing special, but it wasn't unsanitary. People that rate this place poorly for cleanliness are, in my opinion, going overboard: it's a decent priced hotel filled with young travelers coming in and out often - stuff isn't meant to look like a 5-star hotel, it's a hostel.

Room Tip: I never locked my stuff up and I was in a 10-12 bed (I forget) room. But they have a chain (at no ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Abbey Court, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! At the moment the weather is so good - too hot to stay in and watch movies! But we may have 'movie nights' once a week shortly. We are constantly telling people to clean up after themselves - but like everywhere there are people who just don't like cleaning up after themselves. Thanks again for the review! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 118 in Dublin
2,083 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 118 in Dublin
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court

Property: Abbey Court
Address: 29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court 2*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Court hostel and Apartments are located in the very centre of Dublin City, just at O'Connell Bridge and within walking distance of all the popular city attractions. It is a family-run business and we pride ourselves in the warmth of our welcome. With private rooms and dormitories ranging from four to twenty-four beds, we cater for lone travelers, couples, groups of friends and larger group bookings. Included in your stay is free breakfast, free skype landline calls and free WIFI through out. There is always something to do as there is a games room, cinema room, hammock room, large common area and plenty more. Staff are available 24 hours for any advice needed and there is no curfew. Its cleanliness, great friendly vibe, location and low prices make it the best hostel in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Dublin
Abbey Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing