We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accommodation, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average accommodation, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This guesthouse is reasonably priced for Dublin! It is well located within 20 minutes walk to Grafton St with a bus stop just outside. We booked the superior room with ensuite sauna and spa bath. Didn't try the bath but the sauna with very good. Overall we found the accommodation in need of some TLC. Windows weren't clean, no valance on the bed, missing lampshades and shoddy wiring all made a poor impression. The room was spacious and the linen was clean however the maid service was limited in that the bed was just to say straightened and the room was not vacuumed. The cooked breakfast was in hot trays and looked unappetising. The cornflakes were a cheap brand and tea and coffee was stored in flasks and not freshly made (although it tasted ok). On a positive note, the gentleman covering reception was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsabigworldouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    339
    118
    42
    36
See reviews for
121
445
73
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed for 1 night only in order to catch early sailing on following morning.Left too early for breakfast so cannot comment on food.My room was spacious and clean,all the usual facilities plus ironing board and iron. En suite included a jacuzzi bath! Secure gated car parking at rear of hotel. Reception were helpful,providing me with printed directions to docks off the web and town centre plan.Will be returning for a longer stay later in the year.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sturdeelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Very nice B+B well worth the money, a short wark from the centre of things, staff really really helpful. rooms nice and clean, extra touch of wine in the room

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atreides1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The staff were extremely helpful, the food was great and the rooms were perfect. Just let them know what your needs are and they will do their best to fulfil them for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlyn2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We arrived mid-morning on a Thursday in mid-June 2011 and thought we would leave our luggage and roam around the city. Instead, the clerk checked us in early to an available room, which was much larger than expected compared to similar hotels in Ireland or Europe. The room also had a kitchen with refrigerator, sink, stove, pots, pans and cups, which was also unexpected but much appreciated.

After a long overnight flight, to make hot tea and coffee (tea bags and coffee, sugar and small packs of UHT milk were provided) and relax in our room was a great relief, instead of dumping our luggage and roaming around the city.

We received helpful information about places to visit and recommended restaurants in the area along with maps and a printout of addresses. When I asked about printing out our boarding pass for our flight the next day, the clerk printed it out from my USB memory stick. This saved us the trouble of looking for an internet cafe someplace to print it out.

The bedding was nice and comfortable with clean sheets. The room faced away from Upper Leeson and was very quiet. There was a balcony that opened up to let in fresh air, and a gas fireplace -- though we didn't test it out.

Broadband internet is free and requires an ethernet cable -- which they loaned us for free.

The en suite bathroom was small and cramped, but clean. There is no bathtub and the shower sprays into the bathroom and a central drain with just a shower curtain to separate it from the rest of the sink and toilet area -- which is not the best arrangement for such a bathroom.

The room came with breakfast, which included an assortment of about half a dozen different cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, rolls, bread (and a toaster), cold cuts, jams, different juices, and an assortment of hot items in warming trays: fried egg, ham, sausages, stewed tomatoes, mushrooms, etc.

One thing that should be pointed out regarding taking Aircoach from Dublin airport is that you should select the bus to Leopardstown since the bus to Ballsbridge/Donnybrook veers away from Upper Leeson Street. The Leopardstown bus does not stop across from the Leeson Bridge Guesthouse, but will stop at the Burlington Hotel, which is the closest stop (300 meters and a 5-7 minute walk from southeast of the Leeson Bridge Guesthouse). You will see the guesthouse as the bus passes over the canal and veers off.

While there is an Aircoach bus stop a few meters from the entrance of the Leeson Bridge Guesthouse, you would use it only for returning to the airport. This should be made clearer on their web site. If you didn't get off at the Burlington Hotel stop, it would take half an hour to go around and get back to the Aircoach stop in front of the guesthouse.

The hotel is about a 7-10 minute walk from St. Stephen's Green, and then from there it reaches Grafton street and is about 5 minutes from trinity College and Temple Bar. It's perhaps not as convenient as lodgings in Temple Bar, but it was also completely quiet, unlike the Temple Bar hotels where we stayed in the past where it could be loud late into the night.

We had a wonderful stay and will recommend Leeson Bridge Guesthouse to our friends and will try to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in back R quiet.Mid-week may be best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikecalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compiegne, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Easy to find because of landmark location (bridge on canal). Good location for visiting Dublin as it is within 10 minutes walk to the town center (bus line just ouside for those who do not wish to walk). Rooms are spacious enough to be confortable. We were on street side but good double glazing made it almost unoticeable. Courtesy tray and kettle available for tea or coffee. Breakfast varied (cooked or cold, cereals, juices, etc) and of good quality. Secure parking available at the hotel, but few parking spaces, so better to ring hotel first (also for access instructions since it is in a back street). Excellent value for money in a big town like Dublin, considering quality of accomodation, location and amenities.

Room Tip: Only used one rom so no information on other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agecanonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford england
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Comfortable,clean accommodation. Excellent helpful friendly service. Convenient for City centre. Flexible on checking in/out times. Good hot and cold breakfast.. Recommended good Italian restaurant 5 mins from Guesthouse. Adequately sized quiet room. What more can I say. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,198 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesonbridge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesonbridge Guesthouse

Property: Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Address: 1 Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leesonbridge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on offering affordable accommodation in our comfortable rooms. We offer free parking in our secure on-site car park-a real bonus in Dublin city centre! We are within walking distance of Dublin's many sightseeing attractions, business locations and sports stadiums. You can easily sample the vibrant nightlife and then come home to relax in our calm guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leesonbridge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Leeson Bridge Hotel
Leeson Bridge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing