We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay in Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leesonbridge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

All staff very friendly and helpful, plenty of attraction leaflets and advice available. Room was comfortable and clean, and the building had some quirky features. Good choice of breakfast items and hot breakfast items were freshly cooked.
About 20 minute walk to Temple Bar area, 10 minutes to Stephens Green park and shopping area or the number 145 bus outside guesthouse, we walked everywhere and found it easy to get round and see the city centre and architecture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    333
    115
    42
    36
See reviews for
121
427
73
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castletown Bearhaven, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent B&B with great service at affordable rate. Really near to Luas and best of all a comfortable bed. Plenty of nice restaurants within short walking distance. You can walk to city centre in about 10 minutes or use bus service from just down the street

Room Tip: Ask for sauna and Jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

In the fall 2013 my wife and I toured Ireland for 5 weeks by bus (Bus Eireann). No driving for us on the “wrong” side of the street! We chose lodging based primarily on 1) Location : close walking distance to center of town, 2) TripAdvisor evaluations and, 3) cost (value). We stayed primarily in B & B's. Leeson Bridge Guesthouse was the only exception. It is a small hotel about a 10 minute walk to St Stephen's Green. Walk through the park and you are on Grafton Street. This is not a luxury hotel. It is quirky. Old. Odd layout. Happily, we like old quirky hotels. Some noise from the street and ambulance sirens going to close hospital. But, it's a very urban setting and not hermetically sealed like newer hotels. Good bed. Large room. Very adequate rather extensive buffet breakfast. The front desk staff was quite variable. We got some very bad directions from one person (Like asked for directions to the bus station and got them for the train). Get your local info from the excellent Tourist info center off Grafton on Suffolk. The female staff members seemed much more with it than the males. We used the Airbus from the airport. 8 Euros p.p. Drops you off a block away or so, and picks you up right outside the hotel. This is the only place we stayed in Ireland for under 60 Euros. Great Value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDN39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The receptionist was lovely & helpful, the rooms were clean, our room 109 (with the yellow door) was particularly luxurious, and the location (in a nice area of town) is good for people who don't mind walking a bit. There are some great places to eat around St Stephens green & the #11 bus from O'Connell St drops you right across the road. Breakfast was ample, with a good selection, however, the food itself was a bit disappointing with watery scrambled eggs, and undercooked bacon. Still great value for money in Dublin & would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This guest house is located by the Canal. It is around ten minute walk from the city centre. You can also catch a bus every ten minutes from outside into the city if you prefer. I stayed in Room 104 it was in the basement. It was a lovely large room with a king size double bed. The bath room had a shower and bath. It also had a jacuzzi in the bath. To my surprise there was a large sauna in the corner of the room. Which was a very pleasant suprise after a long day in work.

It has a view onto the back car park. But It is really comfortable room.

The receptionist was very friendly and the breakfast is served from 7.30am. It is continental style with a huge buffet. The food quality with exceptional and the price of the room was real value for money..

Breakfast Buffet consisted of the following

Cereals: Cornflakes, Rice Krispies, Bran Flakes, Muesli and Coco Pops

Hot Porridge was in a hot holding unit

Buffet style cooked breakfast produce: Sausages, Black & White Pudding, Bacon, Scrambled Eggs, Fried Eggs, Baked Beans, and saute potatoes

Natural Yoghurt or Blueberry Yoghurt

Continental: Ham, Salami, Cheddar Cheese, Edam Cheese

Juices, Orange & Apple

I would recommend if you require anything from the shop to purchase it before hand. As there are no late shops in the area. Especially if you require bottled water etc.

They provide complimentary wifi and parking at the rear of the building.

I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Room 104 lovely comfortable room but with no view. Depends what you are looking for of course. But e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVEHOLIDAYS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here for one night, staff was friendly at reception, I was give a dual aspect room with a double and a single bed in the room. Room was nice with great views from both windows. Only problem was that it was a busy junction outside and was difficult to sleep during the night with the traffic. Another thing I disliked was the double bed was pushed up against one wall, its just a pet hate of mine. The room had all the facilities you would expect, it had a cd/radio player that didn't work, didn't want to use it, but I think if the item doesn't work then bin it and don't provide it. The bathroom was tiny, it was basically a wet room, it had everything you would need though. The breakfast in the morning was great, was plenty of options on offer, only problem is that the dining area was a bit small, but I was able to get a seat. Overall this guest house is good value for money

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel away from the busy junction if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Not the Double Tree, but we didn't want the Double Tree :-) We stayed in an "Executive Double" on the top floor. We enjoyed the view over the canal and the rooftops of nearby buildings. The breakfast was tasty, possessed enough variety to keep us happy for the week we stayed, convenient, and plentiful. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with fellow guests in the very pleasant and comfortable dining area. The beds were comfortable, the place was clean, and its quirks, while sometimes a bit irritating, were also endearing. Internet on top floor was not consistent--two evenings out of the seven we stayed we ended up on the stairs in the building entrance hallway working on our computers because that's where the wifi was working--but at least it was available in the building. When we ran the water in our en suite bath, there was lots of noise (air in pipes?)--we weren't sure why, but hot water was plentiful and, well, hot. We ended up never taking advantage of the sauna--but it felt luxurious to have one! Very little closet or clothing storage space, but we made do. We very much appreciated the filtered drinking water on tap in the en suite, as well as the always useful electric kettle supplied with tea and coffee supplies. The convenient location brought most of what we wanted to see and do within walking distance. While arriving via the Airbus wasn't the most convenient (it stops about two city blocks from Leeson Bridge at, yes, The Double Tree), but the departure stop was just outside the door on the street on which the Guesthouse fronts. A convenience store, just down the street, was exactly as its says--convenient. Restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance made our stay easy and pleasant. Can't say enough good things about the women staff--friendly and helpful. Overall, I'd definitely go back again and recommend it to someone seeking a stay in a city that's a bit more genuine than a chain hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor, but the internet access was not consistent. On Saturday evening the noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtfulReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesonbridge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesonbridge Guesthouse

Property: Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Address: 1 Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leesonbridge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on offering affordable accommodation in our comfortable rooms. We offer free parking in our secure on-site car park-a real bonus in Dublin city centre! We are within walking distance of Dublin's many sightseeing attractions, business locations and sports stadiums. You can easily sample the vibrant nightlife and then come home to relax in our calm guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leesonbridge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Leeson Bridge Hotel
Leeson Bridge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing