We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leesonbridge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was my first stop in Ireland. Beautiful spot, right on the canal;easy walk to TempleBar and Stephens Green! Bus right outside the front door. Good, typical breakfast. Building is older and a bit worn but I stayed in one of the back apartment units and was very quiet. The staff is extremely helpful and offered to let me leave my bags after check out. Over all excellent value for accommodations.

Room Tip: Good for short or longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    333
    115
    42
    36
See reviews for
121
427
73
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked this last minute, we were heading to Dublin for the night, the girl who I booked it with over phone was lovely, they have free parking around the back which was great, we dropped the bags headed to dinner, in the morning breakfast was perfectly fine everything you would want, we paid €55.00 euro for a double room free parking and it included breakfast, the place is very clean no faults. There's nothing fancy here and not the place to go for a romantic weekend if you want to lounge around the hotel, but if I were going to Dublin for a night out with friends I would defo go back here!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KmRm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Four of us went for a 2 night stay so had 2 singles and one double room. We were greeted at Reception by the nicest man! Charming, friendly and very helpful. We were then shown to our rooms by an equally smiley person.
The singles were well appointed with bright, spotlessly clean bathrooms and with windows looking out over the canal one way and along the Mespil Road and overlooking the front door the other way.
The double room was about the same size as the singles so a bit small for 2 people, especially the taller of the two!
As others have said, some of us found it a bit noisy as the hotel is situated on a cross-roads with traffic lights. It was quite close to Christmas and there was a big rugby match at the Aviva Stadium so there was a lot of activity and some late night revellers during the weekend.
However, it's location was perfect for us as we could easily walk into the city centre and also to the Stadium.
It is also ideally located for bus routes and for hailing passing taxis (of which there seem to be many).
The room rate was very reasonable - booked through Laterooms.com.
The breakfast was an additional charge but there was everything one could wish for so we were happily fuelled for our days of exploration.
I would certainly stay again

Room Tip: If you're bothered by noise, maybe ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joop51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the Leeson Bridge house. For two nights we had no water at all to wash and flush the toilet. The hotel personell promised to fix it quickly, but they didn't. At the check out the promised to give a refund, but suddenly the manager was nowhere to be found. They told us that the manager would give us a call the next day and refund a part of the money. Of course we didn't get a call and no refund.

Besides this the hotel was quite noisy and dirty. I really can't recommand anybody to go there

Helpful?
3 Thank JurjenvdnNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Arrived at just before 9am on Sunday 8th December, never expecting to check in this early. Imagine our suprise when not only were we told our room was ready, but to go and get a coffee/pastry from downstairs (breakfast area) and our bags would be taken to our room. If ever we wanted a warm welcome in Dublin, this was it.

Our room was nicely furnished (129) and was in the adjacent building, although some of the furniture is a bit of a mix between dated and new. There was some TLC needed in other areas, e.g. part of the tap on the bath was missing, some of the tiles were a bit loose on the floor near the sauna, the pillows were a bit flat, the hairdryer was not working, however in retrospect to other places I've stayed in Dublin previously, that were more expensive, this was not that bad. We also found the traffic noise a bit annoying, but I think we just adjusted to it. If you aren't use to traffic noise, ask for a room not overlooking the front road. Our room had three windows, so we could see the canal/road and the courtyard at the back so it was a lovely large, light room. The room was clean and maintained during our two night stay and the sauna was a welcome addition, although you couldn't fit more than 2 of you in it.

Breakfast did the job. There was cooked items available, then fruit, yoghurt, porridge, toast and cheese and hams available. We did find that the cooked items weren't been kept hot enough and on the Tuesday morning the beans were barely warm.

Upon check out the hotel let us store our bags and welcomed us back into the 'lounge' area where we were able to re-organise our suitcases for our long haul flight later that day and use the bathroom downstairs to freshen up.

The hotel itself is about 10-15 minutes walk to St Stephens Green, however for the fit and active this was not a problem. We walked to the Guinness Storehouse and the Jail from here, so if you do want something closer to the 'action', then this may not be the place for you.

On balance, we were pleased. This guesthouse met our needs and what it is lacking in other places makes up for the wonderful and helpful staff we encountered. Also, the restaurant 'The Sussex' about 5 mins walk away was amazing.

Room Tip: 129 is light and a big room, but does overlook the road/canal so can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaRaRachelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A Well situated B&B 10 minutes walk to heart of the City. Very friendly staff, excellent buffet breakfast and well stocked rooms. I paid 90 Euro per night and got a fairly small double room with little space to perform any cat swinging. Clean, tidy and neat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Met needs and expectations: comfortable clean room and bed on back side of building with good shower and sliding door for ventilation. Tasty and fresh Irish breakfasts, public transport right outside the door, not a bad walk to St. Stephen Green and Grafton St. At the front desk Mary was most patient and helpful on restaurants, directions, and even found us a tube to safeguard for transit a print we bought. Staff in general both cheerful and helpful. Overall it met our needs for a reasonably priced base for our three days in Dublin. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoisles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,032 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesonbridge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesonbridge Guesthouse

Property: Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Address: 1 Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leesonbridge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on offering affordable accommodation in our comfortable rooms. We offer free parking in our secure on-site car park-a real bonus in Dublin city centre! We are within walking distance of Dublin's many sightseeing attractions, business locations and sports stadiums. You can easily sample the vibrant nightlife and then come home to relax in our calm guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Leesonbridge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Leeson Bridge Hotel
Leeson Bridge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing