We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Be Beaten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Your Home from Home - Southdock
Ranked #24 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Can't Be Beaten”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Absolutely perfect stay, superbly placed for Dublin City Centre (20 mins walk), Aviva Stadium (10 mins walk). The apartments were of an excellent standard, clean and tidy, queen size beds and very well equipped. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board, tea/coffee and toiletries all provided. Excellent stay and would certainly come back if the price is equivalent. Of course the first English win for 10 years in Ireland helped.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RObbo60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    36
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
18
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at the Southdock apartments for two nights and we had a great experience. It was our first time using Southdock apartments and it was clean and warm. It is certainly your home away from home and we will stay there again. It is perfect if you are attending a concert in the O2 as it is only a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XJR1300_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed here with friends so much more practical than a hotel. Appartment was clean and well maintained.
Kitchen was ok - no trays or bowls that could be used in the oven so unable to use. Other than that great being able to store drinks in the fridge, make a cuppa and make snacks.
Bedrooms small but great - for sleeping given that you have a living space
Appartments no in the city centre but public transport was close at hand and if you choose to walk takes 25-30 minutes to walk.
Would defiantly use again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megg092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Myself and friends booked an apartment for a rugby weekend in Dublin, and were given a 2 bedroom apartment on South Dock.

Clean, spacious, comfortable, everything you could wish for really, and a lot cheaper than a hotel of similar quality would have been too. Will definitely use again when in Dublin.

Excellent location, 15-20 minutes walk from the Aviva Stadium and Royal Dublin Showgrounds. Staff incredibly helpful when called upon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_lockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Your Home Away from Home at South Dock exceeded expectations. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and extremely spacious including two bedrooms, two bathrooms (including toiletries), living room, full kitchen equipped with dishwasher, clothes washer, fridge, stove, kettle, cookware, dishes, and utensils. Only downside was that it was extra for internet and phone. Also, if you don't have a cell phone, it can be challenging to meet up to get the keys for the apartment. However, once that's all sorted out, everything just falls into place very nicely! I would certainly stay at this place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M3Lbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment in late August, 2 adult couples and 2 kids. Much cheaper option than hotels for us, great location. The apartments are incredibly clean, simple but well appointed with the basics. Outstanding security. Easy access to the bus system and a reasonable walk for fit people to City Centre. Excellent location for Aviva Stadium The managers are gracious. They should provide better directions if driving there as we had a hard time finding it (Simply providing a GPS address would be helpful). The major downside was the charge for Wifi, and only one computer could be logged on at a time. We had to buy two internet packages at 39 Euro each for 4 days which we felt was a ripoff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dulacdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had 3 nights at Railway Cottages on arriving in Dublin and then 1 night at South Dock before flying out the next day - both 2 bdrm apartments.
Railway Cottages - while clean & tidy with great space it was located right next to the railways lines and a little daunting having steel bars at the entrance. 5-10min walk to a few restaurants which was good.
South Dock - were a bit more comfortable in this apartment - once again clean and tidy, but simple.
Amenities supplied were very limited compared to other apartments we have stayed in recently - no washing up liquid available in either apartment.
Overall, no major issues but would certainly prefer to stay at South Dock rather than Railway Cottages.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Your Home from Home - Southdock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Your Home from Home - Southdock

Property: Your Home from Home - Southdock
Address: Ringsend Road, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Your Home from Home - Southdock 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Your Home from Home - Southdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Home From Home - Southdock Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing