We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home is right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Your Home from Home - Southdock
Ranked #28 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Home from Home last Thursday until Sunday. Very easy to find, clean,everything you need for your stay. A great base as the walk was just 15 minutes into the town down Grafton St.and onto the Bridge over to O'Connell St. it was just far away enough. The beds were comfortable with crisp fresh linen and en suite. Nice kitchen all you need. We would stay here again and that speaks volumes. Most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Nice rooms with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snod54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Frankly, we didn't have very pleasant experience with the staff. Firstly, for the first time ever I was being yelled at by a person who is supposed to work at customer service due to misunderstanding by both parties. Eventually, we found a common solution for the so called 'problem'.

Secondly, after our arrival to Dublin Airport we called to the Duty Manager who was supposed to meet us at the Southdock Ap. Got out of taxi, waited for 5 minutes and called again to the duty manager, who rather rudely promised to come and open the door. Waited for another 5 minutes outside...

The flat itself was clean and spacious for 4 people (with 2 bathrooms, nice balcony). However, calling it 'luxurious' is simply exaggerated. The remote control didn't work, cd player was broken, sofa's were quite worn-out... Your Home From Home tries to appeal on firms and business clients - yet there's no free wifi available on 21st century. Being quite dependent on Internet connection, I looked at how much would it cost from their 'information book' (located in the flat). It was written 10€/day, however, after calling to the duty manager the price increased to 15€/day!! Not sure whether the duty manager wanted to earn some 'extra' money or whether there was a mistake/old information in their folder. Either way, to pay 45 € for 3 days to get an Internet access is simply unreasonable, especially when you can find cafeterias/pubs nearby with free wifi.

Finally, on check-out date the cleaning lady already knocked our door few minutes before 10am, and when we asked where we can find 'Your Home From Home' office, she didn't speak English at all. That's fine, because she kindly called to the office and they gave us directions. When we went to the office to drop our bags/luggage (our flight was leaving in the evening), we weren't greeted or anything and it felt extremely unpleasant as if we were 'disturbing' the employees. And most probably we were, but in that case, they shouldn't advertise that their customers can leave their bags or they should find another space.

In overall, the flats were nice, but far from luxurious. The staff however cannot be 'praised'.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuKri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here for a concert in the O2, the apartments were gorgeous. Really modern and had everything you need. Only thing was check out is early 10am so may not suit if you hit the nightclub the night before!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bheigue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I cannot praise these apartments enough. They were really spacious, with two balconies two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The bed linen and towels were of the highest quality, as were the fittings, furniture crockery, cutlery....I have never been in such spotless accommodation. We holiday at home every year and for the first time want to return to this property. Bus timetables would have been handy as the location is not very well accessible by public transport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the South Dock
Apartments on Ringsend Rd for the first leg of our trip. We dealt with Louise with our booking who was very accommodating when our flight from London to Dublin was delayed. They require you to call when you arrive in Dublin and when you're about 10 minutes away. That's a bit of a hassle, especially since our cell phones didn't work over seas so we had to use pay phones which were fussy with our credit cards. So that was a pain, and expensive. When we arrived at the apartments the duty manager was there waiting for us and was very friendly. He helped us with our bags and showed us how the key cards work and showed us our room. He also showed us how to adjust the heat in the rooms. The best thing about our apartment (we rented a two bedroom apartment) was the bathroom floors were warm! So nice! He recommended bus routes and told us about the texaco that's nearby. However, that's only a little convenience store. There's a market west of the apartments (just before the bridge before the apartments) called Fresh. It's expensive but it's the closest. I recommend doing your grocery shopping at Dunnes, they are all over the city, but they are alot cheaper. City centre is a 15-20 minute walk from the apartments, and Connolly station is a 15 minute walk north of the apartments, super easy to get to. There were a few issues with our apartment, our phone in the apartment did not work, and the machine to scan the key cards for the main door and the second door were broken, so we were unable to call them to tell them. The bathtub in the second bathroom had a huge leak in it. It leaked a huge puddle on the floor. Also, the oven in our apartment looked like it had never been cleaned, we turned it on thinking it would be clean, opened it, and a ton of smoke came billowing out. Not impressed with that at all. Another downside is you have to buy your own dish washer detergent, and laundry detergent. The washer/dryer takes FOREVER to wash and dry anything. That's another downer. There is no salt or pepper in the apartments either, so we had taken some from a fast food place one evening. When we had returned to the apartment and were putting things away in one of the cupboards, there were salt and pepper packets in there from the person before us, they had the same idea we did. Overall, it's a good place, but it would be alot better if it was maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMBullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed there with my boyfriend's family during 3 nights and I must say that everything was perfect. At the begining I was worried because the house is located just in front of the railway, but everything is prepared to avoid the noise as much as possible. Besides, the train stopps working at 23:30h, so there's silence at night. Ballbridge (where the house is located) is a residential neighborhood and is full of houses and green areas.

The house has 2 floors and a roofterrace (that we couldn't use because it was freezing). The highest floor has a living room with 2 sofas, a television and an electric fireplace.
The lowest floor has three bedrooms (two with double bed and one with twin beds), the kitchen, a dinning area and two bathrooms (one ensuite).

It is very close to the Lansdowne Road DART station and in 5 minutes you are in Pearse Street, the city center.

The only thing is that the water deposit was a bit noisy and that we couldn't close the door when we were inside the house, we just could close a security fence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this apartment. The location was perfect as we were over for the 6 Nations Rugby and the stadium was only a 5-10 minute walk from the apartment.

Check in wasn't available until 2pm and even though I requested an early check in because the game started at 3pm they couldn't say either way and said I just had to call on the day. Luckily for us the apartment was ready from 12.30pm, was just a little inconvenient not to have been able to confirm this till the day.

Check out was also very early at 10am which I think is the earliest I've ever had to check out of an apartment/hotel.

The TV didn't work either.

On the plus side thought...

the apartment itself was lovely. The kitchen area and living space was great for the two uf us and sleep wise we didn't have any noise. The bathroom had a bath and shower and was really clean.

I would stay here again but would probably consider other places first due to the check in/check out times.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yourhome53, Manager at Your Home from Home - Southdock, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Niki,

Many thanks for your review of our South Dock apartments. We appreciate your nice comments about our apartments.
Regarding arrival times, our check in times like many hotels are after 2pm, if guests are arriving before this time we do our best to accommodate them but sometime are unable to inform the guest of this in advance due to cleaning of the apartments and late check outs. If we are unable to give access we are more than happy to store your bags and give you access later in the day, particularly as you were going to the match. I'm sure our reservation team would have informed you of this in advance.
In relation to the doors in the apartments, these are fire doors and are mandatory in all newly built apartments in Ireland, they need to have a spring mechanism built in to close for this purpose.
You would have been given the duty managers contact details on check in and he would have been more than happy to look at your tv whilst you were at the match in order to fix it for your return.
Regardless, thank you for your comments, they are most useful in order to continually provide a great service to our customers going forward. Hopefully you will stay with us again in the future, perhaps on a day when Ireland mange to win the match!

Kind Regards

Donal Mc Ging

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Your Home from Home - Southdock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Your Home from Home - Southdock

Address: Ringsend Road, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £113 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Your Home from Home - Southdock 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Your Home from Home - Southdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Home From Home - Southdock Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing