We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location & friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingfisher Townhouse
Ranked #70 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good location & friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed here 3 nights on vacation to Dublin. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel is very easy to find and only a 3 minutes walk from the "Airlink" bus stop (from the Airport).

The staff was welcoming, friendly, helpful, and provided 24-hour service. There is no elevator & we stayed on the 3rd floor, but the porter helped us and we packed pretty light. The room was very nicely decorated and cleaned everyday. The shower in particular was exceptional. The beds, however, were too hard for me and I had a hard time falling asleep.

The location is convenient to all the sights of Dublin (10 minute walk across the river), but a disadvantage of staying so close to downtown is the noise - we decided to close the windows and tolerate the heat instead of stay awake listening to road/city noise.

One thing I really liked was that the hotel is connected to a restaurant so you actually get a voucher for a "free breakfast" at the restaurant next door, which is cool. You can order whatever you want off the menu from a waitress and it's free! Really delicious irish breakfast.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    137
    53
    14
    4
See reviews for
71
180
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Just back from a weekend staying at the Kingfisher which turned out to be a real find. Excellent service, great location and very inexpensive. Breakfast was super and the bedroom was spacious and well maintained. OK not the best hotel for you if you have mobility problems (no lift) but apart from that this is a real gem of a place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whynotagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Kingfisher has the friendliest, most helpfuk staff - and the best breakfast in Dublin. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintlyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The apartments were clean and in a great location of Dublin, short walk to amenities such as shopping, Temple Bar, restaurants, etc.
I was disappointed with the service provided as I had booked 2 apartments with 2 double beds in each and received 2 apartments but 1 had 2 twins in the bedroom.
One morning there was no hot water at all in the 1 apartment, no towel service that was to be provided and the response from the front desk service was minimal if any at all.
The restaurant was average at best.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuna67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We had never been to Dublin before. And were quite worried about finding our way from Connolly Railway station to the Kingfisher. We need not have worried. Simplicity itself. Come out of the station, cross the main road. into Talbot street. Walk for about 6 mins. Into O'connell Street. Turn right. The Gate Theatre will be in front of you. The Kingfisher is to the left. Painted green with many flower filled hanging baskets outside. Reception is the door next to the restaurant. We were on the first floor at the back of the Hotel, overlooking a courtyard and other premises gardens. Very quiet.Well appointed room. Tea/Coffee making, Tv and en-suite. The hotel is quite literally 2 mins from O'Connell Street and the City centre.The red open topped double decker bus stop was 1 min away. Thirteen Euros each for 2 days travel.Well worth it.
Dublin has moved up my list from Amsterdam and Rome as the place I want to go back to. And YES we will be staying at the Kingfisher

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadet1Bude_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

It`s a small hotel near O`Connoly street (near the city center). The neighbourhood is ok, the staff was very nice with us, the room was clean. We had breakfast included that was very irish and tasteful. It is a good hotel, i definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iulia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Stayed at the guest houses, room was werll proportioned, had eveything you would expect from a hotel, room swhere secure,. Beds were comfortable and clean. Negative things were, there was a distinctive smell when you entered the room, but ya get used to it after being in the room for a while. The heating failed to work, wasn't a big issue, as it wasn't cold on the evening I stayed. Breakfast was nice and availble from the restaurant downstairs

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#82 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Townhouse

Property: Kingfisher Townhouse
Address: 166 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingfisher is a family run business for over 38 years. The Kingfisher is located in the heart of Dublin, ideal when visiting Dublin . Our recently refurbished boutique rooms make it the perfect base for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing