We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great wee find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingfisher Townhouse
Ranked #68 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, situated just off O'Connell St.
As I was going to the airport in the morning it was only a 2minute walk to the air coach stop. It is very reasonably priced for Dublin, we payed around €69 for a double. It was very clean and comfortable. The only downside is that it doesnt have a lift, however most oc those old townhouses don't. The room was also on the small side but met our needs perfectly. Friendly Staff and on the same street there is a lovely little pub/restaurant which serves fantastic food

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineadthegrenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Kingfisher Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very traditional hotel and restaurant with the best fish and chips I've eaten! The rooms are clean and spacious but the bathrooms are tiny. Its staff is excellent and very friendly. Convenient location in Dublin's commercial area but parking can be an issue in this area (the hotel offers parking spaces at 10 E per day). It can also be a little bit noisy at night and early morning.

Room Tip: It is an old building, therefore, there is no elevator. Try getting a room on the lower floors. Othe...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I booked this hotel because of the reviews, but it wasn't anything special. The rooms were average, and a little outdated. We paid quite a bit and had higher expectations based on the reviews ect. The location was very good for Dublin which is probably why this hotel is rated so high, and the breakfast was great, you could pretty much choose anything you wanted at the restaurant. The staff were also excellent, very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ehloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A bit smallish, a bit worn down. But perfectly situated, and with the about kindliest personnel we've met anywhere. The restaurant downstairs is probably also about the best in Dublin.The only negative thing we can come up with is that the breakfast opens earliest at 8:00 (9:00 at Sundays), which is way too late for a middle-aged couple from Finland, who are used to wake up early and who's inner clocks are ticking two hours ahead of Irish time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here for a girly trip for 4 nights and although the rooms were basic, the downside was the attitude of one staff member and the lack of facilities for anyone with a mobility issue.

My friend had recently had an operation which was non weight bearing in her leg which meant she was moving around on crutches and a wheelchair. When we arrived we struggled in the door with a suitcase, a sports bag and a wheelchair. The man on reception just watched with no greeting or assistance whatsoever. Not a good start!! We were then allocated our room on the second floor. There is no lift only stairs so my friend and I worked together to get the luggage and ourselves up the flights of stairs to the room. The rooms were adequate with 2 beds, one double, one single, tea making facilities, a tv and a shower in the bathroom. The sink was cracked and should have been replaced instead of a botch job repair but it worked.

We took advantage of using the safe in the wardrobe which requires a 5 euro deposit. Beware however as this may not be returned!!

We dealt with the manoeuvring up and downstairs as best we could, we had to!! The door into the hotel is locked so you have to be buzzed in by whoever is sat at reception. The restaurant was friendly and the food was freshly cooked. Breakfast was included each morning and was enjoyed every time. We ate in here for dinner one evening too and were nt disappointed.

I would stay here again as the location is perfect and overall a good experience was had. Maybe the one particular member of reception just needs a brush up on his customer serve skills but this was the only downside. The rest of the staff were courteous and helpful.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

"I am writing this reveiw from my lovely comfy single hotel bed!!. We arrived at 8am yesterday and had arranged to have a breakfast, the restaurant is open to the public, so you have a menu to choose from with something to suit everyones pocket!.

I haven't written a review before, even though we have stayed in countless hotels around the world, But I feel that this hotel deserves a mention!.

My husband is blind and disabled and I usually mention this on an email first, to make sure that a hotel can accommodate us, but somehow I didn't mention it this time?. The staff were great, they changed the room we were going to be staying in, to make it as easy as they could for us.
My husband can managed one flight of stairs, and it was worth it to us as the room is very easy to work out for him. It is so comfortable with real quality beds and bedding!. We've had a great nights sleep!!!.

When we arrived, they let us park in there very secure carpark for 10 euro, which is worth every penny, as you need a key to get into the carpark which is underground. The stafff are so lovely and helpful and are a credit to the Hotel!.

We will be staying here from now on!!!!.

Room Tip: "Read as many reviews as you can find, that way you should get a really good idea of the hote...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
641 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#105 of 150 in Dublin
182 reviews
Hotel St. George
#83 of 150 in Dublin
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Townhouse

Address: 166 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £81 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingfisher is a family run business for over 38 years. The Kingfisher is located in the heart of Dublin, ideal when visiting Dublin . Our recently refurbished boutique rooms make it the perfect base for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing