We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingfisher Townhouse
Ranked #66 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Situated in a perfect spot in Dublin, right near a major shopping street, restaurants, pubs etc. a better location couldn't be asked for. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them, they even brought our car to the front door for us in the morning. The hotel is of an older style and so isn't 5 star, even though the rooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished. But it is very comfortable and clean and very reasonably priced considering the location. The breakfast in the restaurant next door was included in the tariff and was very good. Entrance to the hotel can be a little tricky as the front door is locked all the time and they do not provide a key to allow you to admit yourself, however there always someone there to let you in. Parking could be an issue as they only have three spots, so if you bring a car make sure you let them know beforehand. We didn't realise this, but luckily a spot was available. I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pre book a car space if you have a vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We only spent one night here on our way through Dublin but we couldn't have asked for better in terms of location and room. The staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and warm. The room was big, nicely decorated and suited our needs. The breakfast the following morning was extensive, well made and delicious. We will definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101EMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Came here with a group of 9 for Easter weekend! Great location, can easily walk to all bars and shops! The rooms were clean and beds comfy! You get anything from the breakfast menu in the morning, really tasty and sets u up for the day! Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank holidaylinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Perfectly located accomadation, just off of o Connell street, close to pubs,shops ,airport bus , easy walk of everywhere including guiness factory and old jail, friendly staff , good restaurant next door which served the inclusive breakfast, value for money accomadation, would stay again.

Room Tip: there was 9 of us and we had a triple and 3 doubles, all rooms where fine with tv, safes and where c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattcallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We spent the first night of our honeymoon in Ireland at the Kingfisher hotel. Mat, the manager was fantastic in organising the special touches for our room. The room itself was absolutely spotless we could not fault it. Food in the restaurant next door was excellent value and serving the best chips we'd had for a long time. We were glad we booked a parking space and Mat getting our car in the morning was a nice touch. Only comment for improvement were the coffee satchets... But then we are coffee snobs!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Meli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lovely, small, no lift..fine for us but older couples and families maybe not....modern well equipped rooms...food was disappointing but adequate....shower was very pressurized, i liked it...my girlfriend hated it...would stay again easily :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

For our first night in Dublin we choose this small townhouse like inn. It offers only 13 rooms on three floors. Even if we stayed in the upper floor, and even there is no lift (we were prepared - and it's a Kind of Fitness) we loved this tiny b&b; room was small but comfy, Very good beds, view to Parnell Rd and it was very quiet in the night. Bathroom is new and OK, Flat Screen TV was OK but as like in the most of Irelands Hotel if small or classy there are few foreign channels, Local channels and BBC were available. Important was free WiFi which worked from the beginning. We had to other 4* hotels in the country, were WiFi worked not or only occasionally. If you come from the continent, dont't forget to bring an adapter with you. But the receptioniost was also prepared to borough us one for the stay. Parking in daytime is difficult in Dublin and cost € 2,90 per hour. Street Parkling at night until 7am is free. The Kingfisher's receptionist as well all the other staff were very friendly and helpful.If you stay longer, most Hotels offer discounted rates in Parkins for around € 10.--/day
Breakfast is served at the Kingfishers Restaurant 2same building but 2 doors further down. You can choose à la Carte full irish breakfast and what you like. It was tasty and Service was very friendly. The receptionist will alos assist you with tips for excursions and other things to visit in Dublin.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,076 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#103 of 150 in Dublin
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#64 of 150 in Dublin
834 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#77 of 150 in Dublin
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Townhouse

Address: 166 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £53 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingfisher is a family run business for over 38 years. The Kingfisher is located in the heart of Dublin, ideal when visiting Dublin . Our recently refurbished boutique rooms make it the perfect base for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Kingfisher Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing