We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingfisher Townhouse
Ranked #70 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Perfect location while staying in Dublin. No car required as everything is in walking distance. Room was clean, nice size with a comfortable bed.

Staff was friendly & helpful.
For security reasons keys are left with reception when you go out , but when we returned the first night, the night clerk who had never seen us before, just handed us our key without asking for ID. According to the day person he should have asked for this.

Breakfast vouchers are handed out in the morning for the restaurant next door. Unfortunately we had 3 days of terrible food and service. Each breakfast was overcooked no matter what we ordered. Coffee/Tea order should be taken right away before ordering...not so much here. Also to get a refill took a bit of work. Servers were pleasant enough but could use some more effort on service.

Would stay again, just skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennedy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    137
    53
    14
    4
See reviews for
71
180
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Situated in a perfect spot in Dublin, right near a major shopping street, restaurants, pubs etc. a better location couldn't be asked for. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them, they even brought our car to the front door for us in the morning. The hotel is of an older style and so isn't 5 star, even though the rooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished. But it is very comfortable and clean and very reasonably priced considering the location. The breakfast in the restaurant next door was included in the tariff and was very good. Entrance to the hotel can be a little tricky as the front door is locked all the time and they do not provide a key to allow you to admit yourself, however there always someone there to let you in. Parking could be an issue as they only have three spots, so if you bring a car make sure you let them know beforehand. We didn't realise this, but luckily a spot was available. I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pre book a car space if you have a vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We only spent one night here on our way through Dublin but we couldn't have asked for better in terms of location and room. The staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and warm. The room was big, nicely decorated and suited our needs. The breakfast the following morning was extensive, well made and delicious. We will definitely come here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101EMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Came here with a group of 9 for Easter weekend! Great location, can easily walk to all bars and shops! The rooms were clean and beds comfy! You get anything from the breakfast menu in the morning, really tasty and sets u up for the day! Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank holidaylinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Perfectly located accomadation, just off of o Connell street, close to pubs,shops ,airport bus , easy walk of everywhere including guiness factory and old jail, friendly staff , good restaurant next door which served the inclusive breakfast, value for money accomadation, would stay again.

Room Tip: there was 9 of us and we had a triple and 3 doubles, all rooms where fine with tv, safes and where c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattcallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We spent the first night of our honeymoon in Ireland at the Kingfisher hotel. Mat, the manager was fantastic in organising the special touches for our room. The room itself was absolutely spotless we could not fault it. Food in the restaurant next door was excellent value and serving the best chips we'd had for a long time. We were glad we booked a parking space and Mat getting our car in the morning was a nice touch. Only comment for improvement were the coffee satchets... But then we are coffee snobs!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lovely, small, no lift..fine for us but older couples and families maybe not....modern well equipped rooms...food was disappointing but adequate....shower was very pressurized, i liked it...my girlfriend hated it...would stay again easily :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#82 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Townhouse

Property: Kingfisher Townhouse
Address: 166 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingfisher is a family run business for over 38 years. The Kingfisher is located in the heart of Dublin, ideal when visiting Dublin . Our recently refurbished boutique rooms make it the perfect base for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing