We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingfisher Townhouse
Ranked #61 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I’m really really satisfied with the hotel. Actually we needed 2 single rooms and first we wanted to book 2 rooms in a budget hotel that would cost 436€ for 4 nights. Then I found the Kingfisher apartment for 320€! What a big difference! Being crammed in a small hotel room or enjoying the space and freedom an apartment can give – we decided quickly. We arrived late at night (took a taxi from the airport for 20€), the receptionist was really friendly; he showed us the apartment (which was number 43) in the building appr.50 metres away from the reception. He also helped us with the luggage. Wow, we were amazed!!! It’s a quite big and modern apartment, a large living room (TV, DVD, Internet modem) facing the street (soundproofed windows to the balcony!). A part of the living served as the kitchen, which was equipped with all modern conveniences (micro, kettle, oven, dishwasher, fridge, freezer). We found some bottles of mineral water in the fridge, tea, coffee and sugar on the table – which was supplied every day by the maid. 2 light, modern bedrooms, with extremely comfortable beds and big wardrobes, facing to a nice, quiet, grassy roof-garden. Each bedroom had its own bathroom! In the bigger bedroom there were a single and a double bed, in its bathroom a bathtub, a washbasin, a toilet and a hairdryer. The smaller bedroom had a double bed, the bathroom was equipped with a shower. There were heaters in every room which I could turn on and off whenever I wanted (it was quite good for me as the nights were a bit cool). The apartment was serviced every day, we got clean towels, coffee, tea.
The staff was really kind and helpful, Mat at the reception answered all my questions and gave useful pieces of advice about sightseeing, public transport, etc. One day we travelled to Howth (it was his recommendation) and he printed out a map of the town for us. The lady at the reception (I don’t know her name) was also helpful, before our departure she printed out our boarding passes from my pen drive.
We had 2 breakfasts in he Kingfisher restaurant, it was quite good (but visitors should try the Kylemore cafe on the corner of O’Connell and the street opposite Henry street – just behind James Joyce’s statue - all day breakfast, 4 item is 4.95, 5 item is 5.95)
Well, as for the location: I think it’s a perfect place to explore Dublin on foot. Temple Bar is a 10 minute walk. We went everywhere on foot, to Howth we took the Dart (30 min. trip) from Connolly station (back from Howth bus No.31 took us to the centre); to the Guinness storehouse we took the Luas from Abbey street.
All in all, I was amazed with the place, clean, modern, well-equipped, great location, kind staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveddublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

I've just come back from Dublin where I was supposed to stay for only 3 nights until the volcano in Iceland erupted and we got stuck there. The receptionist at the Kingfisher accepted to extend our stay for 3 more nights.He and his staff were more than friendly and helpful in such circumstances. Thank a lot lads ! The hotel itself is well situated, quite simple but very clean. Small bedrooms and small bathroom but quite comfortable and clean.The beds are very comfortable ! The Irish breakfast is also included in the price !!! What else can you ask : great staff, good food, clean and comfortable bedrooms !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlegof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

When you arrive at this place and look up above the restaurant you wonder what the hell you're doing here. A whole section of the building is run down; dirty nets, broken windows, grimy windows and peeling paintwork, but this is not the hotel, pheww. The rooms are above the reception and, although I didn't stay in one, several of the party I was with did and they had mixed reviews. All agreed it was very clean, but there were some complaints about the beds and comfort, the rooms are small too. We stayed in one of the apartments, no43, which is based in the Ivy Exchange on the other side of Tescos; Ana Maria; the Receptionist took us to the apartment and I must admit I was not impressed with the walk to the apartment; the carpets are filthy, there is an awful smell and bits of toilet paper on the corridors; the second lift up to the apartment won't hold more than 2 of you as we find out when we got stuck in there late Saturday night! But the apartment was fine, very clean and newly painted. Couple of niggles; the dining chairs are filthy and stained, the sheet on the bed was bobbly and there is an odd pink velour settee in the lounge that looks like it has been rescued from the local tip, horrible thing and should not be in there...yeuch! There are also very, very few utencils in the apartment, no way you could cook a meal there. The apartment, however, was great value and a good size and the view from the back was over the gardens and was very quiet at night, lovely nights sleep.
The Breakfast was included in the rate and was superb, the Kingfisher restaurant was always busy and I can understand why. We had agreed a rate for a 3 course meal for the Saturday night for all 24 of us before we went out and had all pre-ordered; I had confirmations but the restaurant knew nothing about it and we had to wander Dublin looking for a meal; this completely ruined the evening to start with as we all ended up in different places. We went to the Arlington Hotel for an Irish night and it was superb; great Irish night and Irish Dancers, cost us more than expected tho and I was furious with the hotel but serves them right as they lost the 500 euros that we would have paid them; and they didn't even offer to compensate us at all; just a couple of half hearted apologies and all blaming each other...
The area where the hotel is is not the best but in a great location for all transport links and the walk down O'Connell street was lovely when all the lights were on.
We took the Dart train down the coast to Bray on the Sunday and this was great value, we got a day pass for 7 euros and you could go whereever you liked. The weather was shocking but as there was so many of us, it was hillarious we were all soaked through! Also visited Dalkey on the Coast and that was really lovely; visit 'the Club' Pub there; the place in really impressive, the food good and the service impeccible - loved it!
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the weekend, the Hotel was OK and I would stay again because of the good value, but Dublin is extremely expensive and you need a lot of money to enjoy it properly! Good times :)

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dippydired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This place is a wellkept secret. The location is great and the price is even better. Breakfast is included as well as one dinner in their restaurant. The meals were excellent and you can order anything off the menu. 4 of us stayed inthe new apartment. It was small but clean and quite adequate for us. The help, Matthew and Ana couldn't have been nicer and were most eager to help us with whatever we needed. This is the second time I have stayed there and will do so again. Also, the Airlink bus to the airport is close to the hotel which is really handy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsgelardi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Stayed with friends for a duration of 3 nights. The twin room was very roomy and plenty of light. Also, very clean. The girl at reception was very helpful. The breakfast was a set breakfast but really nice. Great location. The only downfall of this place, it has no lift.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGalwayLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We stayed here at the start and end of our 6 week Grand Tour-Loved our room with street view, could walk to the Ilac mall/the tram(Luas) supermarkets Tesco and Marks and Spencer, several inexpensive Chinese restaurants, safe, lively area with a lot of students/workers/airport bus 747 around the corner! A great Urban location-could not be better! Matt, the hote manager made us feel like we were at home-also, Marie from Romania-she sent me to a fabulous Chinese hairdresser next door who washed and blow-dried and flat-ironed my wet hair(rained ALL the time) for 17 euros! They both went out of their way to help us in every way-when we returned from France, Matt put us up in the very luxurious, spacious 2-bedroom apartments next door, since his Bed and Breakfast rooms were all taken-We got really spoiled from that open floor plan/garden and street views/two huge baths/kitchen apartment! We have decided to rent apartments in Europe from now on instead of hotels! If not for the incessant rain, we would have moved to Dublin!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

The rooms are not much, but clean and comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the location. You can walk everywhere in Dublin. For the price, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supersamtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,103 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#104 of 150 in Dublin
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albany House
#65 of 150 in Dublin
840 reviews
Ferryman Hotel
#96 of 150 in Dublin
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Townhouse

Address: 166 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £48 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingfisher is a family run business for over 38 years. The Kingfisher is located in the heart of Dublin, ideal when visiting Dublin . Our recently refurbished boutique rooms make it the perfect base for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Kingfisher Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing