We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff great but decor very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kildare Street Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked this hotel at short notice for 1 night. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly but the decor and upkeep is in dire need of some work. Water damage stain in ceiling of bedroom, mould stains over shower area. Bulb not working in centre light. Wallpaper off in patch on wall. These jobs wouldnt take much to do but would make a huge difference to the overall experience. The noise level from traffic in this hotel was exceptionally high even for a city centre location, no weatherglazing - and there was an extractor or fan at the rear of the buildings which made it impossible to stay in those rooms. Found the hotel expensive for what it offered.

Overall the only thing going for this hotel was the convenience of the location and the friendly staff, but I would not be staying there myself again.

Room Tip: Earplugs would be a good idea if you're looking for a nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello and thank you for your review and thank you for staying with the Kildare Street Hotel.

Firstly I would like to let you know that all issues in the particular room you stayed in have since been addressed & rectified and we are sorry it wasn't up to scratch for your stay. We hope youll stay with us again on your next trip.

Shelly

The Kildare Street Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Chose this hotel because several reviews called it "quiet", but quiet is the one thing it is not. Windows are old, so street traffic noise is loud all day and partyers are loud all evening, with people yelling on the street and music thumping from the club (on the upside, I got to hear Karma Chameleon four times that night...). The room door is also old, so I heard every word of every conversation of people in the hallway.

That said, the price is very good, the location is perfect for work or touristing, and the staff work very hard to meet guest needs. The room, bathroom, and common areas were very clean, and everyone I had contact with was friendly and knowledgeable. If you bring earplugs, you'll have a very good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blankk_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello and thank you for your review, we appreciate any advice that can improve our hotel.

We are glad you liked the location and very happy that you found our staff helpful.

I am sorry you were affected by club noise, one of the downsides of having a Pub next to our premises, If you would like to stay with us again please contact me directly and I will make sure you are put on the 2nd or 3rd floor where you will not be affected by noise.

Thanks for your review,

Shelly

The Kildare Street Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for one night at the Kildare Street Hotel on the 23rd October 2013.

The hotel is a good value accommodation in a good area of Dublin City in Kildare Street,
I was on the 3rd floor which meant a long climb up the stairs,not suitable for people who
are not very fit and disabled,other than that it was fine.
The rooms are good and clean with comfortable beds,tea/coffee making facilities with buiscuits
and bottled water,a nice thought and very welcoming thanks.Everything was what you would
expect for the budget,good honest value.
The staff are nice and friendly and will always help you,nothing is too much trouble.
I had the full Irish breakfast and it was good quality and plenty of it.
The hotel is positioned away from the hustle and bustle,but close enough for the sights
of the city,everything is accessible.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rondo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay :)

And thanks for recommending us , we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Shelly

The Kildare Street Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I spent 2 nights here at the end of a 2 week trip around the UK, ending my trip with a stop in Dublin. The location could not be beat. Right off of Nassau street, this hotel is mere blocks away from Grafton street, across from the Trinity College campus, on the same street as Parliment, near most of the shops selling traditional "Irish" goods and near many of the main bus lines. Everything is really within walking distance from this location (including Temple Bar).

Shelley at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions ranging from which hop on hop off bus to take (the green it is run by an Irish family) to where I should go for dinner and music. I arrived very early so she stored my luggage to allow me to go out and about while waiting for check in time. She even helped me bring it up to my room. There is no elevator - so beware if you are bringing a lot of luggage but the staff is more than happy to help you.

You can purchase the hop on hop off bus tickets from the front desk.

The only downside (which didn't bother me much) is that there is a bar/nightclub attached to the hotel so it could get loud at night.

I highly recommend this hotel. Really the location is perfect!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hello Beth,

Thank you for your review we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you had such a pleasant stay in our Hotel and hope to welcome you back upon your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Shelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

this was our second stay at this hotel and it was awesome, we were in Dublin on business and the staff at the hotel not only remembered us from the first trip, they made us feel like part of their family on our second trip. we were there for 2 weeks and they made us feel at home. from breakfast in the morning until supper at night the staff was fantastic. they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. you want a hotel that has location location location this is the place, you can walk to any attraction downtown. the staff really makes this hotel a great place to stay. yes i can get noisy on the weekends but that what makes this hotel what it is. the atmosphere is unexplainable you have to experience it yourself. as a matter of fact we are going to do it again in March 2014 for our next business trip. Alex get the place ready for us, and this time we are bringing the complete band, if you know what i mean.

Room Tip: they are all good, its just noisy on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardfromsaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hi Richard,

We look forward to having you back and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thanks again and we'll see you guys soon

Warm Regards

Shelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My mother and I stayed here for three nights in October 2013. The location is perfect, convenient to a number of tourist destinations (Trinity College, National Museum, National Gallery, great shopping) and also to a nearby stop of the hop-on, hop-off bus tours. There is no lift, but Shelley was quick to offer help with our luggage as she showed us to our first floor room. The room itself was comfortable and clean. Overlooking Nassau Street, it wasn't as quiet as other rooms might be, but it wasn't a problem. The staff, both in the hotel itself and in the Blarney Inn, were without except friendly and welcoming. I'd be happy to choose this hotel for another stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hi Lorie,

Thank you for your review, We are delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your stay and very glad you found us helpful, clean & in a great location.

We hope to see you again at the Kildare Street Hotel,

Warmest Regards

Shelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

3 of us stayed here for 4 nights in October, we had a room on the 3rd floor with a shared bathroom, this mqight not suit everyone but did not affect our stay at all. The hotel is a listed building so a lift/elevator is not available. If you find it difficult to climb 7 flights of stairs then this hotel is not for you. The staff were brilliant, helpful, friendly and great fun. Breakfast was served in the bar area and good if you wanted "the full Irish". Cereal cold meats and yoghurt were available but the choice was limited. Didn't bother me as the " full Irish" was excellent. The hotel is in a great location close to Temple Bar and all the nightlife and restaurants toy could want. The Kildare St hotel is not a 4 or 5 star nor does it pretend to be. We had a great weekend and felt valued and welcome, we will be booking again the next time we are in Dublin.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RFS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#21 of 151 in Dublin
683 reviews
Amberley House
#36 of 151 in Dublin
338 reviews
Egans House
#26 of 151 in Dublin
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity Lodge
#27 of 151 in Dublin
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildare Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildare Street Hotel

Address: 47 - 49 Kildare Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £46 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kildare Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kildare Street Hotel is a budget hotel located in Dublin city centre. Our Dublin Hotel accommodation offers guests clean comfortable rooms at very reasonable rates. If you are looking for cheap hotels in Dublin our hotel is ideal, you'll find the hospitality warm and friendly; and the atmosphere bustling.The hotel has been recently refurbished; the reception area and bedrooms have all been redecorated with modern furnishings. More facilities are now included in the rooms – tea / coffee making facilities and bathroom toiletries. Wifi is available in the Hotel free of charge.Our staff will be happy to help you plan excursions, arrange taxis and help you with your luggage.Early & Late check outs available and FREE WIFI is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kildare Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing