We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small well situated haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kildare Street Hotel
Ranked #51 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small well situated haven”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had a very pleasant 3 night stay in this city center hotel. The staff were very helpful in assisting me in finding my way about the streets.
The bar food was tasty and well priced.
In particular I found the breakfast to be a real delight, with the staff here and in the bar such good fun to chat to.
Pricewise I think the room was fairly dear in comparison to some in Rome etc but I would stay there again so that says a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, General Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear k2project

Thank you for taking your time to review our property. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay. I was delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and the bar.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    150
    93
    49
    36
See reviews for
79
78
45
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

And friendly staff. It always sends off warning messages if you are asked to pay before you see the room! Room on 1st floor, quite small bedroom and very small shower room. Comfortable bed, Radiator in name only but there was a fire. Sash window without a catch opened to flat roof in the middle of the building, where there were dog-ends and broken glass. We stayed for 2 nights, the first morning breakfast was shambolic and took a little long, about 20 mins. There was hardly anything to eat or drink by 10am if you didn't go for the cooked option. The next day we didn't risk it as we had to get the train to Belfast.

Room Tip: Sorry don't have a clue really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, General Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Nizzle

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service.

Thank your for praising our staff members and location of the property !

As humbling as it is to receive this criticism, your critique will serve our team well, as we do continually look to find opportunities to improve our levels of service and attention to detail.

I look forward to hopefully being able to personally welcome you back to The Kildare Street Hotel in the future.

Assuring best attention at all times
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends at the weekend. We planned on spending the night in local restaurants and pubs.
The location is perfect, central and safe. Our room was clean, bed comfortable ect. The bathroom was a bit tired but clean. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Over all it's a great deal, just don't expect any frills.

There is no lift which might be an issue for some. Also, not all rooms are en suite.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, General Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member

Thank you for taking the time to review the Kildare Street Hotel. All of the comments are valuable to continuously improve our product and services.

Glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for good comments about our staff, I will definitely pass them on.

Assuring best attention at all times
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

cold room, had to plug in a heater as radiator did not work, so obviously a problem from before, also smell of damp in the room!

And for the price of the room, approximately 125 euro, this was not the standard I was expecting.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank EoinH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, General Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello EoinH2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Kildare Street Hotel following your recent visit to the city.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with the room while staying with us. We tend to provide continuous improvement in product and services we offer to our guests, therefore all of our bedrooms are being renovated at the moment and this process should be finished in the next couple of weeks.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for further information or to discuss this further.

Assuring best attention at all times
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had a one night stay here and enjoyed my stay from the friendly efficient reception staff to the admittedly basic but very clean room on the third floor. There is no elevator in this hotel which may put some people off however it is just 3 floors. The location is excellent, near Trinity, Grafton Street and Stephens Green. The price was €59 room only which is great for a central Dublin Hotel. The place appears to have been painted and refreshed recently judging by the paint smell. The bedroom was tight but adequate and the shower was good. I would imagine that rooms on floors one and two are perhaps bigger as floor 3 is more attic style. I found the hotel safe and in a safe area and would recommend it for business travellers and tourists and single females. Breakfast is available but I did not try it. The staff were excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are all, I would say, smaller than those on other floors. I stayed mid week and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, General Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello BrainCork

Thank you for sharing you thoughts with us on your recent stay at Kildare Street Hotel. Your review is greatly appreciated to both travelers, hotel and for improvements needed in products and services we offer.

Thank you for your nice comments about the team and you are so right we have a great location here in the centre of Dublin city.

We are going through major hotel refurbishment, renovating all of our bedrooms and this process should be completed in the next couple of weeks.

Assuring best attention at all times
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Myself and two friends stayed at the Kildare Street Hotel this past week for our spring break holiday. It was very easy to reach as a bus from the airport went directly to Kildare Street and dropped us off only a block or so away from the hotel for around 8 euros. All three of us are university students from the US studying in London for the year and were looking for comfortable, private rooms for a low price tag. This hotel offered us exactly that, but there were several discoveries we made about the facilities that should be kept in mind if you choose to book.

Checking in was an easy process and the reception area was nice enough with tourist pamphlets in a nearby stand and several nice couches for sitting. Reception desk looked tidy, orderly and polished enough to communicate proficiency and good things in store for the rooms. We were given our key and told where our room was (the top floor, which is indeed a bit of a hike, but not undoable/that unusual for Europe). We'd booked a double room with a shared bathroom, thinking that it would be similar to a dorm style set up, with two separate rooms (one ours, one a strangers on the other side) sharing a single joint bathroom between them with door access for either party from their rooms.

Unfortunately, this was not the case. The shared bathroom option of the hotel means that you share a single bathroom (one toilet, one shower in a single room that is locked 24/7 unless you use your room key to open it) with the entire floor. This isn't too much of a problem if there aren't many other people on the floor with you, but if the hotel is booked, then it could be a major inconvenience. It was also a bit disconcerting because when we arrived the bathroom smelled overpoweringly of what we could only possibly describe as someone having partied a bit too hard the night before and regurgitating that party upon their return the hotel. When I went to shower the next morning, the shower also became a problem as I immediately wished that I had known to bring sandals with me because there was standy, murky water in a small puddle in the bottom of the bath and the fabric curtain smelled horribly of urine if I leaned too close to it, which gave me concerns as to the overall hygiene of using it barefoot. The water was hot enough, but the shower head stand was broken, so I could not get it to raise high enough to shower properly without taking it off the rack and holding it over myself.

All of this to say- if you choose the communal shower option, bring some shoes to wear into the shower/bathroom area and you should be fine. However, our room did have a sink in it, so the only time we really had to go out to use the bathroom was to shower or use the toilet. If you prefer washing with a washcloth/scrubbing utensil, also bring one of those as the hotel did not provide washcloths with our towels.

Don't let this discourage you too badly, though. The room itself was actually quite nice, a bit dark and a little worn, but the beds were very spacious and the room quite large. They had clearly been updated somewhat recently, and there were nice contemporary touches to the otherwise older building in the form of new bed linens and black and white daisy photography canvases above the beds for artwork. There was also a large closet, sink, and a nice little tray of teas, kettle, mugs and biscuits that was refreshed every morning by the staff. Wi-fi was incredibly fast, unlimited and convenient to use, which was also a huge boon. Breakfast is not provided unless you select it or pay for it, which was a bummer, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby including KC Peaches just around the corner and down the street to the left, which quickly became a very convenient and tasty place for us to stop in and pick up some grub on the go or to eat in, even extremely early in the morning when we were on our way for a tour or to explore the city.

One final thing, do be sure to check on the state of your room upon arrival (always a good travel tip, I think). We did not notice until the morning after we'd checked in that there was a used condom draped over the baseboard next to the trashcan in our room (someone obviously missed their throw). It was the same color as the baseboard, and so it is not hugely surprising that house cleaning might have missed it, but still unacceptable for the hygiene of a room you're paying to sleep in. As gross as this was, the front desk man was duly appalled and surprised and immediately offered us a new room, this time with a private bathroom for no additional charge and arrange to have all of our luggage moved for us while we were out that day so that it would be completely ready upon our return. The promptness and courtesy with which the staff responded saved what would have been an otherwise stay-ruining situation and turned it into something good. We loved the private bathroom (really the way to go if you can afford it) and the new room was spotless when we came back to it that night.

Overall, this is a great option if you are looking to stay in Dublin on a budget. Yes, the bar/club on either side of it can be a bit off-putting when you're coming in/out of the building, and it is slightly annoying that you only get one room key that you have to return to the front desk every time you leave the hotel, but these ended up not being nearly as obnoxious or inconvenient as you'd think. The shared bathrooms are doable, but you should be sure to bring sandals and a washcloth for the facilities if that kind of thing would bother you. The staff was very friendly, extremely helpful and always more than happy to give us a map or directions and finally, the location was amazing. Right across the street from the Dublin Library and just down the street from several Museums. It was also across the road from Trinity College and 10 minutes or so walk to College Green, 15-20minutes to Temple Bar. Just keep in mind that it is a slightly older building and on the lower end of the cost spectrum for a reason. This doesn't mean that it won't be a comfortable and enjoyable solution for those looking to have a comfy, low cost bed to come back to after a day of sightseeing. I would recommend it, all problems aside!

Room Tip: High floors are a bit of a hike and shared bathrooms mean that you share with the entire floor. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, General Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello Megan H

Thank you for sharing you thoughts with us on your recent stay at Kildare Street Hotel. All of our reviews are valuable resource to improve our product and services.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with few things you have discovered while staying with us. The hotel indeed have shared bathrooms for two rooms on each floor selling at the reduced rates online. We are going through major hotel refurbishment, renovating all of our bedrooms and this process should be completed in the next couple of weeks.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for more information or discuss this further.

Assuring best attention at all times
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is grotty. While the staff were friendly and the location central the room was very poor. Watch the small print - as I discovered on arrival I had booked a room without a bathroom and then had to pay more for one with a bathroom. All I can say is I wouldn't recommend in and won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, General Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello Nuala H

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughtful comments of your recent visit to The Kildare Street Hotel. Our customers’ reviews are a valuable resource to ensure we are offering the best product and service at all times.

I am glad you praise our employees and location of the premises. The Hotel itself have two rooms on each floor with shared bathrooms. The room price is driven by the room type and we tend to sell these rooms at reduced rate on all of our Online Travel agencies sites and on our own web page. If we have availability we offer room upgrades to on-suite rooms for an additional extra.

I deeply regret we haven't met you expectations, please do not hesitate to contact me for more information or discuss this further.


Kind Regards
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity Lodge
#32 of 149 in Dublin
549 reviews
The Lombard Townhouse
#40 of 149 in Dublin
269 reviews
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#13 of 149 in Dublin
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildare Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildare Street Hotel

Property: Kildare Street Hotel
Address: 47 - 49 Kildare Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Kildare Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kildare Street Hotel is a budget hotel located in Dublin city centre. Our Dublin Hotel accommodation offers guests clean comfortable rooms at very reasonable rates. If you are looking for cheap hotels in Dublin our hotel is ideal, you'll find the hospitality warm and friendly; and the atmosphere bustling.The hotel has been recently refurbished; the reception area and bedrooms have all been redecorated with modern furnishings. More facilities are now included in the rooms – tea / coffee making facilities and bathroom toiletries. Wifi is available in the Hotel free of charge.Our staff will be happy to help you plan excursions, arrange taxis and help you with your luggage.Early & Late check outs available and FREE WIFI is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kildare Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing