We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #29 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I took the Airlink Express Bus #747 from Dublin airport to Heuston Rail Station. I purchased a 3-day rambler pass for 15 euros before boarding the bus. At Heuston Rail Station, I decided to walk across the street to a bus stop to take bus #79 to the hotel. I waited forty minues for a bus to take me to the hotel. I did not know that it would have been faster to walk. I think the walking distance is about 15 minutes (depending on how fast you walk). If the weather is bad or if you are traveling in a group, I would advise taking a taxi to the hotel.

I arrived early in the morning but was able to check in immediately. The room had a king sized bed with a desk, chair, and separate seating area. There was also a small refrigerator in the room. There was a separate bathtub and shower stall in the bathroom. There was a good selection of toiletries provided including lotion, bath gel, shampoo, and conditioner. The bathroom was very clean.

I am a Hilton Hhonors gold member, so breakfast was complimentary. Breakfast was served buffet style each morning with tea, coffee, and orange juice being brought to your table. I ate breakfast at 8am each day, and I was immediately seated. I also ate dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night. There was good food, good service, and live entertainment on Friday night.

The location of the hotel is west of the city center. I took the bus in and out of the city. I would have been a long walk. The bus stop in for bus 13 and 40 is just one street over and buses run frequently. There is much more to do and see in the city center, but it is also noisier and crowded. The Hilton Kilmainham was close enough to the center without having the heavy traffic and noise.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rngonetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear rngonetraveling
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and of course the world famous Hilton breakfast. Our location is great as you get a quite night’s sleep, while the madness in the city centre is just a short distance away.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    649
    198
    89
    33
See reviews for
404
760
98
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Best part of the whole visit. Stay for weekend meet up with school mates. Very good hilton and we'll looked after throughout. The suite was excellent and hotel was not too busy. Will definitely stay on next visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank igetwicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear igetwicked
Thank you for such positive feedback, it is always encouraging to receive such kind words and it is appreciated by all the team.I am delighted to see you found your suite "excellent", it is lovely to get the opportunity to sit out on the balcony and look at the mountains.
We continuously strive to ensure our guests' need are paramount and I am glad to see that this is what you have experienced.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. We stayed on a Thursday night and considered the rate to be very reasonable. Food was excellent. Staff were excellent, particularly "James" who was enormously helpful and genuine. A+++++

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chazzie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Chazzie80
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback.I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and your meal in the restaurant. Thank you for your wonderful comments.I will make sure to pass on your kind words to James and the rest of our team.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

we walked from Heuston didn't realise it was good 'ten minutes' but it was sunny so not a problem but might be different on wet day. Take taxi next time! Hotel lovely - rooms large and very clean, excellent bathroom facilities. Bed so comfy, loved it! breakfast was very nice and staff both in reception and dining room were so friendly and helpful and efficient. So well done Hilton Staff keep up good work! would definitely go back to Hilton Kilmainham.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rochford16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Rochford16
Thanks for sharing your recent experiences in Dublin with us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We are continuously re investing in the hotel and I am delighted you got to sample our new beds which arrived last month.
Our location has its many benefits as you saw, with the heart of the action being easily accessible, some of the city's top attractions on our doorstep, while all the while providing a real oasis.
I hope you are already planning your return visit and we would be delighted to welcome you when you do so
Kind regards

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here recently whilst attending a day conference.
Facilities for that were good and well organized.
Instead of travelling back up north same day we decided to stay over and sample a bit of Dublin.

The Kilmainham Gaol etc is right opposite so no need to travel far for some culture....but we dandered up the road and caught the Luas (tram system) into Dublin city centre. Cheap as chips and got us there in 15 mins with a nice view of the city.

Taxi back later that evening was about €12

Breakfast in our room the next morning :) gorgeous :)

Cannot fault this Hilton, it is among the best I have stayed in :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumatronatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear mandymBelfast

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great as many tourist sites are within walking distance from the hotel. The Hop on/ Hop off bus located at Kilmainham Gaol which is situated directly adjacent to the hotel is also a great way to tour the city if your time in Dublin is limited. I am delighted you mentioned our close proximity to the LUAS tram also, this is a great assett to the hotel linking us to the whole city.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future for a longer stay.
Kind regards Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Excellent hotel. A lot better than other hotels in the area and so much cheaper than the rest. Food in the bar was of great quality but very poor portion sizes disappointing after a long tiring day, maybe 4 or 5 chips on the plate, no salad etc.. Will return but will be dining elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton in Makerfield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a very good hotel where we were well looked after. The room was a good size with everything we needed. Free WiFi is available which was much appreciated. Breakfast is a bit overpriced at 12 euros (with no option for a cheaper continental option) but apart from that it was a good stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Property: Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Address: | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing