We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #21 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

it is a lovely presented hotel. the pool area is fab. The comfort of the beds and pillows are not so good. The air con in our room didn't work and it was very hot. The breakfast and dinner was very well presented and tasted lovely. over all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,101)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Hilton, Kilmainham on Tuesday 29th July for one night. We were greeted at reception by two lovely staff members, who checked us in efficiently and gave our two little boys a little treat. Our room was spotless, the bar staff were efficient and friendly. The food was lovely We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Rosaleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Everything about our stay experience here was excellent - comfortable, friendly, very accommodating. We stayed here for our first 2 nights in Dublin with our 4 children (ages 17-25). The location in a bit tough if you plan to walk to city centre. We had a 3 day pass for the Hop-on Hop-Off bus which provided our transport from Dublin Airport to Heuston Station - a short (8-10 minute) walk from the station drop off to the hotel door. When the HOHO bus wasn't running at night we had to rely on cabs for the trip from city centre to the hotel - a bit pricey since we needed 2 cabs for 6 people! There is a bus stop right across the street at the goal - for both the HOHO bus and Dublin City bus. There is a breakfast place a few doors down - The Lime Tree. Nothing exciting but it gets you started at a price less than the hotel restaurant. All in all - quiet and comfortable July 27 - 29, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank irish2thecorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Irishtothecorr

Many thanks for sharing your experience of The Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

I am delighted to see you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team’s friendliness, I will be sure to pass the feedback to them.
We are very fortunate indeed to have many of Dublin’s greatest tourist attractions on our doorstep such has Kilmainham Gaol, Irish Museum of Modern Art and Phoenix Park and of course having the Luas tram and Dublin bus within a 10 minute walk from our hotel of which links us with the whole of Dublin city is a huge plus too

We look forward to welcoming you all back to The Hilton Dublin Kilmainham on your next visit to Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is very clean and updated. Food is great but most important the staff is friendly and very helpful. A member of the front desk managed to figure out the problem I was having with my IPad regarding the charger. It is a very modern motel- has a/c . Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Diane D

Many thanks for sharing your kind comments.

I will ensure to pass your feedback to our team especially with our Accommodation, Front Desk and Kitchen Teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The Hilton hotel staff are very pleasant, friendly and accommodating and go out if their way to make you feel comfortable, especially Mihaela.

I had a king size room with a view looking into kilmainham gaol. Lovely room, comfortable bed, would of liked softer pillows but that's only a small niggle. The rooms were very clean and the flat screen tv was huge.

I would give 5/5 but I'm only giving 4/5 because of the having to pay for parking and the breakfast seemed a little undercooked, the sausages I had to ask to be cooked darker for my liking but otherwise a lovely visit to a nice hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank wuggybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Wuggybear

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hilton Dublin Kilmainham and for your kind comments

I am delighted to read that you found our team to be pleasant and friendly; it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with our team and in particularly with Mihaela

In relation to the standard of cooking, please accept my apologies and be assured I will forward your comments to our breakfast team

Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming up back to The Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

20min nice walk from the city center. Great staff, very helpful. Breakfast up to the standard offering wide variety of food. Rooms & bathroom very clean. Although during the stay there was a redecoration going on, it didn't disturbed my stay at all.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Tomasz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Tomasz D

Many thanks for taking the time in sharing your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to share your feedback with our team; in particularly with Irina and her team in our Accommodation Department whom place a great emphasis on the quality and cleanliness of our rooms and public areas and your compliments are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Room on the 4th floor for two nights, good room, nice and quiet (apart from the usual inconsiderate guests who think it's ok to let their doors slam). Great help from Aoife prior to arrival about room allocation; she was extremely helpful and supportive. The room seemed to be missing some of the usual bits we have become used to and enjoy in Hilton's; slippers, robes, biscuits etc. Once remember that we got small bars of dairy milk too!

There is a limit placed on the bath tap for temperature. Sadly as a result I had two only slightly warm baths whilst staying there. I did once try filling it up using the shower, but this took quite a long time, the bathroom was so hot and full of steam and the bath itself wasn't that got by the time I got in. The shower itself was quite powerful though.

Breakfast on the Sunday was somewhat of a nightmare. Some staff just didn't seem helpful at all, others were though. Everything kept running out & wasn't replenished, we were told on a couple of occasions that was we went for (eggs & orange) would be brought to us so we didn't have to stand but it wasn't. Everything just seemed chaotic & like the staff couldn't cope, clearly more staff were needed. We had higher hopes for the Monday but these were not met. Running out of things seems a daily occurrence. We were sat as a family of four at a table that really was only suitable for two. We had no room, staff did not clear plates after we had finished cold and then hot items and I had to request this. The very unhelpful Emma was again on shift, the day previous she appeared perturbed when asked to assist with the identification of the different types of muffins... Again today anything asked of her was a chore. Other staff were much more helpful.

Hydrotherapy pool is lovely, however completely spoiled by screaming children. Not exactly the relaxing environment I had expected. The swimming hats that are insisted upon for "hygiene reasons" is a complete and utter nonsense. If they were that bothered about hygiene they would make sure people showered before entering the pool... Wonder how much they make selling the €2 caps with living well emblazoned on them. Good advertising I suppose.

Mainly other things were fine, slept well and had a good time. My gripes above just put an irritant on parts that should have been more pleasurable. All of which seemed to be quite unnecessary.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank secretskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Secretskier

Thank you for providing a review of your experience with us at The Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, your opinion is extremely important to us.

Many thanks for your kind feedback in relation to Aoifes assistance with your booking. I will ensure to pass your kind comments back to her

Having reviewed your feedback with our Restaurant and Management teams; we have agreed to complete a series of additional training sessions taking your feedback into account. As a team we were very embarrassed to have allowed this to occur.

Please accept my apologies for any issues you encountered during your last visit with us. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and recover your faith in the quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4,561 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#47 of 150 in Dublin
1,970 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: South Circular Road, Kilmainham | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £109 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing