We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to my expectations again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #27 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
cjsmithnj
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Up to my expectations again”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

My third stay at this hotel so I have gotten to know my way around a bit- still as clean as the first time I stayed here when it was new- food was great again and the staff is good. There were some staff that were very friendly and the others seemed they could take it or leave it- never rude but seemed a bit disinterested in what was going on. Not a reason to keep me from returning but something they could work on for sure. Bed and linens were great, bathroom is good but they have the strangest shower doors ever (same as last two times)... I hope if they do a refit they change them- just strange.
Overall another great stay at the Kilmainham Hilton and hope to be back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsmithnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    655
    199
    88
    33
See reviews for
411
775
100
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland uk
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We booked a delux king room witha balcony and that is what we got. 1st night we had no hot water so called reception and got a rude lady, so she sent up a gentleman who told us that you will now have hot water as they turned it of as nobody staying in that wing of the hotel mmmm we were and we paid 199 euro's per night. Then breakfast, when we lifted the plates up their was butter portion papers stuck 2 them and the plates etc were so dirty. We waited 20min for 2 fried eggs with only 9 people in the dining room. Their was no good morning or nothing else said as all of the staff come from abroad, in 4 days we never saw 1 irish member of staff, just awful. Then on the 2nd night the drs going from the bedroom to your balcony or should i say(, you share the same balcony with 6 or 7 rooms)The doors on each side were banging none stop for 2 in a half hr's, phoned reception and got the very rude lady again who put the phone down on me but i phoned back again, so the manager came up and moved us to another room but it wasen't what we paided for so off we go to another room this time bed broken so moved again to another room with no balcony and no shower not what we paid for . Then on the 2nd last morning the housemaid staff just walked into our room no knock or a spoken word my husband said hello and they went back out. We came back to the hotel at 8pm that night to find that our room had not been done!!!

I did get a email from the manager saying that he had adressed the problems, this problems did not appear ove night and they want go away overnight either. I was offered to come back for a free night DBB but we live in scotland, did ask for the free night in Scotland but waiting for a reply. Yes i will go back to Ireland but will never go back to this hotel again. No way should this hotel be called a HILTON!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My wife and I and our 2 young children stayed for 2 nights and very much enjoyed the experience. We chose the hotel based on the reviews here on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.

The hotel truly has the feel of a 4-star. It is modern and very well decorated. The service was top class with all staff being very professional and friendly.

We ate from the room service menu one evening and the food was very tasty. Breakfast was nothing special but no complaints.

According to the hotel's website, the hydrotherapy pool is not suitable for under 8s but they are not prevented from using the pool and my 2 kids (6 & 3) really enjoyed it with the various water jets, etc.

We found the hotel to be a good base and we visited Imaginosity in Sandyford and the Natural History Museum in Merrion Square. We also toured Kilmainham Jail which is just across the road from the hotel and well worth a visit. I also had to travel to a meeting in Swords near the airport and it took only 20 minutes approx by car.

The hotel was very quiet while we were there and, as a result, lacked a little atmosphere but with 2 young kids that probably wasn't a bad thing.

I would look forward to having the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeclanKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights got a great weekend rate from the hilton weekend sale with breakfast included our room was a King hilton deluxe the room was a great size and good size bathroom the staff were very helpful. The food was lovely and the breakfast had a lot of choice and was really nice the only problem we had was the internet was having problems and was down our stay but they did tell us about the problem .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irisheyes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Rooms were nice. Bus journey into the centre of Dublin. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snnrwd64
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I visited Dublin in October for the dublin marathon and stayed a night at the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham. The stay was nice and we enjoyed ourselves. With the Hop-on Hop-off bus stopping right in front of the hotel it is a very conveniant location. It is quiet at night around the area but they have some excellent pubs across the street from the hotel. I would recommend staying here..it was quite enjoyable. The porter Brian did an excellent job recommending places to see while in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snnrwd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We drove from the Dublin airport straight to the Hilton and it was a nice, short drive. They have a covered garage for your car, and a stop for the Dublin Hop On, Hop Off bus is right across the street. The hotel is a little outside of the city center which is what we wanted. The rooms were nice and they have a great buffet breakfast. This hotel was perfect for our 1 night in Dublin and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac122430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#52 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,312 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Property: Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Address: | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing