We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a winner for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

For the weekend of the Ireland and France game, my boyfriend and I stayed here. We arrived ealier than the check in time of 3 and the room was not ready. As a result we lefted our bags and returned later that afternoon. Upon returing our room were still not ready and we waited another ten minutes for check in. Finally we found our room, it was nice, bright and airy. We got ready to go out and lefted for the night. The following morining when we awoke, we found our sheets and duvet to be stained with what looked like beer spills and stains. It was disappointing and some what sicking to think that we had both slept in a bed that had no clean bed linen. The bed may have been redressed as the hotel was full for the night. We had stayed in Hilton Dublin Airport and thought that it would be of the same standard. Having paid a nice price for a room rate, we were both some what annoyed that the hygiene of the hotel, lefted us with something to think about.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anichleirigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDK_GM, General Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Dear 'anichleirigh',

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham. I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience.

Our normal standard of cleanliness is excellent and it is very rare for bed linens to be soiled and I can assure you that the Hotel being full has no effect on the quality and standards.

The Hotel has an on-going commitment to improvement and we appreciate your feedback.

If you send me an e-mail to peter.borralnan@hilton.com, I would be pleased to continue this discussion with you directly.

Yours truly,

Peter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,858 - 1,864 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2011

Loved this place. The staff was wonderful. Checked us in early after we arrived from an overnight international flight. Rooms were spacious, modern, and very bright due to the huge window. Most incredible hotel bathroom I've had. Loved the rainfall showerhead. Also very bright and modern. We chose this place instead of the Best Western downtown were the rest of our travelling companions stayed because we had little kids with us and wanted a quiet place with a pool. The rooms were much quieter (one of our friends was up all night from the bar next to the Best Western), and the beds were very comfortable. Workout center was very nice. Warning to those with little ones...the pool hours for the kids are limited. Delicious breakfast! We didn't have a car. We just used the hop-on tour bus which conveniently had a stop across the street. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sibeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDK_GM, Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Dear Sibeed,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and we are pleased that you experienced what we put so much work into; Guest Service.

The vast majority of our guests have similar experiences to yours and it keeps them coming back to this hotel time and time again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed in the Hilton with my family in January. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well decorated. If you opt for a twin room (double + 1 single) space gets a bit limited.
Not a problem though, with one child. Consider a larger room if you have more than one.

Breakfast has all you need to start the day. The area were the hotel is located isn't great, so try get a rate with breakfast included otherwise you'll have to trek into the city to get your breakfast fix.

Room service was excellent and reasonably priced. If you prefer to grab some takeout pizza, try Four Star Pizza which is 2 minutes walk away (beside the Statoil garage).

Like many others have stated this hotel is nowhere near the city centre, couple this with the steep overnight parking charge and you may find a hotel in the city offering you a similar overall rate.

You only get one day free internet access, which is very disappointing for a hotel of this standard!

On the plus side, there is a nice gym and a small indoor pool (heated).

Overall, a nice hotel but steep parking charges , internet access costs and its location let it down.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay and great time in Dublin - despite the cold weather; tip -best way to get to city centre (other than a cab) is to walk through the lovely grounds of the Musuem of Modern Art (opposite the hotel) to Heuston Station and pick up the tram

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goschalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

My third stay at this hotel so I have gotten to know my way around a bit- still as clean as the first time I stayed here when it was new- food was great again and the staff is good. There were some staff that were very friendly and the others seemed they could take it or leave it- never rude but seemed a bit disinterested in what was going on. Not a reason to keep me from returning but something they could work on for sure. Bed and linens were great, bathroom is good but they have the strangest shower doors ever (same as last two times)... I hope if they do a refit they change them- just strange.
Overall another great stay at the Kilmainham Hilton and hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjsmithnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We booked a delux king room witha balcony and that is what we got. 1st night we had no hot water so called reception and got a rude lady, so she sent up a gentleman who told us that you will now have hot water as they turned it of as nobody staying in that wing of the hotel mmmm we were and we paid 199 euro's per night. Then breakfast, when we lifted the plates up their was butter portion papers stuck 2 them and the plates etc were so dirty. We waited 20min for 2 fried eggs with only 9 people in the dining room. Their was no good morning or nothing else said as all of the staff come from abroad, in 4 days we never saw 1 irish member of staff, just awful. Then on the 2nd night the drs going from the bedroom to your balcony or should i say(, you share the same balcony with 6 or 7 rooms)The doors on each side were banging none stop for 2 in a half hr's, phoned reception and got the very rude lady again who put the phone down on me but i phoned back again, so the manager came up and moved us to another room but it wasen't what we paided for so off we go to another room this time bed broken so moved again to another room with no balcony and no shower not what we paid for . Then on the 2nd last morning the housemaid staff just walked into our room no knock or a spoken word my husband said hello and they went back out. We came back to the hotel at 8pm that night to find that our room had not been done!!!

I did get a email from the manager saying that he had adressed the problems, this problems did not appear ove night and they want go away overnight either. I was offered to come back for a free night DBB but we live in scotland, did ask for the free night in Scotland but waiting for a reply. Yes i will go back to Ireland but will never go back to this hotel again. No way should this hotel be called a HILTON!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My wife and I and our 2 young children stayed for 2 nights and very much enjoyed the experience. We chose the hotel based on the reviews here on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.

The hotel truly has the feel of a 4-star. It is modern and very well decorated. The service was top class with all staff being very professional and friendly.

We ate from the room service menu one evening and the food was very tasty. Breakfast was nothing special but no complaints.

According to the hotel's website, the hydrotherapy pool is not suitable for under 8s but they are not prevented from using the pool and my 2 kids (6 & 3) really enjoyed it with the various water jets, etc.

We found the hotel to be a good base and we visited Imaginosity in Sandyford and the Natural History Museum in Merrion Square. We also toured Kilmainham Jail which is just across the road from the hotel and well worth a visit. I also had to travel to a meeting in Swords near the airport and it took only 20 minutes approx by car.

The hotel was very quiet while we were there and, as a result, lacked a little atmosphere but with 2 young kids that probably wasn't a bad thing.

I would look forward to having the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeclanKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,668 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,156 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: South Circular Road, Kilmainham | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £95 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing