We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable accommodation in South Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable accommodation in South Dublin”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Donnybrook Hall offers very clean and comfortable accommodation in South Dublin. The room was a good size with an en-suite bathroom, and the place was clearly looked after and well-furnished. Very flexible choice of breakfast, and also a free wireless connection. Donnybrook Hall is about 30-40 minutes' walk from the centre of Dublin, or alternatively there are a number of buses closeby. Also a Tesco at the end of the road. Very quiet and pleasant neighbourhood.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank streviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, General Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi Streviews,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip advisor. We are glad that you found our house so clean and comfortable as it is very important to us to keep our house in tip top shape for our guests to relax and enjoy the hospitality we have on offer. Should you decide to travel to Dublin again we would be delighted to look after you.

Best wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    97
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
68
154
72
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A lovely comfortable B&B with friendly staff. They even offered us breakfast late on the Sunday morning as we checked out, due to a very late night we hadnt made it down during breakfast hours. The room was bright and airy and had a decent sized ensuite. Big plus is free wifi which actually works! Lots of places advertise this but the signal is usually so weak it's not worth bothering with, not the case here though.

There is a bus stop around the corner into the centre of Dublin but its a nice walk and there are pubs on the way to tempt you in for a pint or three.

If I was going back to Dublin id check out the availability here first before anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi BelfastLoveToTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure for us that we could make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and we are especially glad that you appreciated the hospitality that our staff offered you during your stay with us. Next time you travel to Dublin be sure to call us directly and we will be sure to look after you.

Warm wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed with Terry and crew when I arrived in Dublin whilst working my 1st week and flat hunting in the city, which was a very easy short bus journey away. Terry was very accommodating in extending my stay until I found just the right place and even listened to my tales of woe about terrible apartments in town. I was made to feel very welcome in a new town. The rooms were top class and very clean and breakfast was just lovely. The lady working in the evenings was just lovely too, I regret not remembering her name, but pass on my thanks please Terry and thank you too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosey_131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Hi Moosey_131,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We hope your apartment hunt was successful in the end and you are happy in your new home and new life in Dublin. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially glad that we made you feel at home and comfortable while you were here. Our door is always open to you should you ever want to pop by to see a friendly face. We wish you all the best for the future.

Kind Regards

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

have to say this is a top class b&b.the staff were ever so friendly and the breakfast was very good there was a great selection of food to start the day.the room we had was huge as it had a big double bed and two single beds in another room off the main bedroom.the shower was great and was a good size .overall i would highly recommend donnybrook hall and will stay again as the location is superb .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hi Eamh,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a lovely review about us at Donnybrook Hall on Trip Advisor. Hospitality and breakfast are extremely important to us here and we are delighted that you enjoyed both of these so much. It means alot to us that you describe us as top class and come so highly in your recommendations, we would be delighted to have you stay here with us again at any time.

Warm wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We arrived to check in at lunchtime only to find we had misunderstood the room requirements and that the double room we had booked could not accommodate our family as we have young children and there was no bed there for them. We had just travelled for the previous 24 hours to find we may not have a room. Terry was very understanding and worked to reorganize our booking so we could have the family room. I am very grateful for his perseverance in helping us.
The family room is lovely and spacious with 2 single beds in adjoining rooms. The shower has amazing pressure.
Terry is a wonderful proprietor and gave us great information about local resturants, playgrounds for the children and buses into dublin city. He also booked a tour for us and taxi pick up to the coach stop.
The B&B is in a quiet street with restaurants nearby, bus stop to the city a quick walk away and a small grocery store. My children enjoyed the nearby playground.
We had a wonderful stay at Donnybrook Hall and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Casey N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Donnybrook Hall on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay here with us and especially glad that we could accommodate you to suit your needs. My dad Terry always goes far and beyond to help his guests out however he can and I'm sure it was his pleasure to do so for all of you. Once again thank you for your kind review and for recommending us so highly. Should you ever come back to Dublin again our door is always open to you.

Best wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My husband and I started our honeymoon at Donnybrook Hall, and it was lovely. Terry is super friendly and goes out of his way to help you plan your day in Dublin after breakfast (if that's something you want help with). He gave great recommendations. The room was comfortable, and the shower pressure was AWESOME. Shower stall was tiny, but with pressure like that--who cares? Definitely helped wake me up in the morning while suffering from jet lag. The breakfast was delicious. I had some special dietary concerns, and Terry was very accommodating--didn't make me feel uncomfortable at all for having to ask for something other than the usual offerings. As for noise--it's a city, there will be noise. If that's a concern of yours, bring some ear plugs! Always a good idea when traveling in cities. It was not loud, but there were car noises and such and if you're not used to them you might want to block them while sleeping.

As for location--catching the bus to the city center is so easy. I'm from a big city, and let me tell you--it doesn't get easier than this. Also, there is a little grocery store around the corner, and that is super convenient.

Overall, a lovely experience. Terry even offered to send my postcards for me because I didn't have time before we left. So nice! We highly recommend Donnybrook Hall!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Cristina,

First of all I would like to wish you and your new husband congratulations on your marriage and may you have a lifetime of happiness together.
Secondly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and especially glad that you appreciated my dad (terry's) hospitality. I know it means alot to him that his guests feel at home here and comfortable here at Donnybrook Hall. Breakfast is a big deal here and it was our pleasure to be able to provide you with any special foods you needed. We would love to have you stay with us again should you decide to come back to Dublin just give us a call and we will be sure to look after you.

Best wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark notts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

b&b not a hotel but could not fault the rooms were very comfortable, the breakfasts are amazing and the staff were very friendly thank you, we would all stay again if we came back to dublin . there was 8 of us we came for my brothers 50th birthday celebrations and all had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewNewarkNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear kewNewarkNotts,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that yourself and your family enjoyed your brothers birthday celebrations in Dublin and that Donnybrook Hall was able to add to your experience. It is so nice to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that our staff looked after you so well, we would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip and hopefully we can out do your last one.

Many thanks for your review and send your family our best wishes.

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,566 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,812 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#6 of 149 in Dublin
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Property: Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing