We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dublin Horse show stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dublin Horse show stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Donnybrook hall B&B Dublin was great so friendly very clean, the staff very helpful, and the food options where great for all people i would defiantly go back to this B & b. I would recommend to any one that needs to stay in Dublin 4 area as its near to where the show was held a nice short walk after breakfast to walk it off and also its a nice walk throw a park area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi KllyC,

Thank you for such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you had such a good time at the horse show but especially glad that you enjoyed our your stay and our hospitality so much. To hear that our staff were so helpful and our food was great is very pleasing to us as we strive to make sure our guests are looked after from the moment they enter the house, to their experience in the dining room until the time that they depart, and of course you are more than welcome to stay with us at any time you return to Dublin.

Warm wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    96
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
65
150
70
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A massive thank you to Terry, Debbie, and Martina we couldnt have wished for a better stay. The room was very comfortable and clean and very well situated. The service was 5*, we were made to feel like family from arrival and the breakfast was delicious. Terry was the perfect host and we will definitely being going back. We went for the week for The Dublin Horse Show which is only minutes away at the RDS and we are looking forward to staying at Donnybrook Hall in the not to distant future. Thank you Terry we loved every minute. :)

Room Tip: Room 10 without doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSimon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi Sarah,

Thanks for taking the time to write up such a lovely review. Were so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us so much, it was a pleasure to have you here as part of our family. We hope to see you again at the next horse show and don't forget to give my dad a call when returning as he would be delighted to look after you.

Warm wishes

From all the staff at Donnybrook Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our host Terri and his staff were most gracious and helpful. Nothing was of any trouble.

My family stayed on the top floor. Our room was comfortable and quiet.

The hotel is located in an excellent location, close to public transport, restaurants and it is not far from city centre.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi Ourania S,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us at Donnybrook Hall. We are delighted that you would come back to stay with us again and of course our door is always open to you should you return to Dublin.

Best wishes to you and your family

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sortland, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Donnybrook Hall did not disappoint! It´s definitely the nicest B&B I´ve stayed in, and I wouldn´t go anywhere else if returning to Dublin. The rooms are clean, nice and spacious. The place is located in a calm neighbourhood with several restaurants and a wonderful supermarket closeby. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast is always top notch! I´m happy to recommend Donnybrook Hall, it was perfect, no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merete121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi Merete121,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you rated us so highly and we especially love that you appreciated our staffs friendliness and hospitality so much as it is extremely important that our guests have a home from home experience with Donnybrook Hall. Breakfast is another big deal here at Donnybrook and we are delighted that you found it "top notch". We do hope that you return to Dublin again as our door is always open to you.

Best wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I have to say that Donnybrook Hall is the best B and B I've stayed in, and I've stayed in many as I prefer them to larger hotels. From the moment I entered the front door to the time I left I felt welcomed. The rooms are ideal, the staff are happy and willing to help, the breakfasts are great, and the wifi works all the time. On top of all this, Donnybrook is close to the city by bus or just 30 or so minutes walk. Lansdowne station, for places along the coast, is another short walk away. The airport bus takes you within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. Who could ask for anything more!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Pangnaariuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi Peter,

Hope is all well back in Canada and the storms have finally stopped, our heatwave is over and we have had a bit of thunder and lightening so its feeling more like Irish weather again. Thank you for taking the time to write up a review about Donnybrook Hall on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and that we made you feel so welcomed, of course you are most welcome here on any return visit you make to Dublin.

Warm wishes from all the staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Donnybrook Hall offers very clean and comfortable accommodation in South Dublin. The room was a good size with an en-suite bathroom, and the place was clearly looked after and well-furnished. Very flexible choice of breakfast, and also a free wireless connection. Donnybrook Hall is about 30-40 minutes' walk from the centre of Dublin, or alternatively there are a number of buses closeby. Also a Tesco at the end of the road. Very quiet and pleasant neighbourhood.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank streviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, General Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi Streviews,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip advisor. We are glad that you found our house so clean and comfortable as it is very important to us to keep our house in tip top shape for our guests to relax and enjoy the hospitality we have on offer. Should you decide to travel to Dublin again we would be delighted to look after you.

Best wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

A lovely comfortable B&B with friendly staff. They even offered us breakfast late on the Sunday morning as we checked out, due to a very late night we hadnt made it down during breakfast hours. The room was bright and airy and had a decent sized ensuite. Big plus is free wifi which actually works! Lots of places advertise this but the signal is usually so weak it's not worth bothering with, not the case here though.

There is a bus stop around the corner into the centre of Dublin but its a nice walk and there are pubs on the way to tempt you in for a pint or three.

If I was going back to Dublin id check out the availability here first before anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi BelfastLoveToTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure for us that we could make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and we are especially glad that you appreciated the hospitality that our staff offered you during your stay with us. Next time you travel to Dublin be sure to call us directly and we will be sure to look after you.

Warm wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,032 reviews
1.0 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Property: Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing