We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ireland couples trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We toured Ireland for just under two weeks, staying at bed & breakfast spots throughout the country. We stayed at Donnybrook Hall at the start and end of our trip and loved it! The hosts were wonderful - Terry is your true Irish gentleman and Eric was exceptionally helpful with recommendations on where to go, shop, eat, drink and enjoy live music. The breakfast was enormous and delicious - the room was comfortable and clean. The location was superb - just far enough away from the city center (in a lovely little neighborhood called Donnybrook) to be quiet and have cute little shops and restaurants that attracted locals but close enough to be a 20 minute walk or 10 minute bus ride into the center of Dublin. Couldn't have been a better way to start and end our vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Alexander,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write up such a lovely review about Donnybrook Hall. It is always so nice for us to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and that we could make it as relaxing and comfortable as possible. We are so glad we could help you have a wonderful holiday in Ireland and our doors are always open for you if you decide on a return trip.

Best wishes from all of us at Donnybrook Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

I really can't gush more about the service here! Right when I arrived they sat me down and showed me where all the things I wanted to see were, gave me approximate walking times -- even circled where the atms in the center were when I asked (talk about local knowledge!)! They helped me take my luggage to my room too!

The B&B itself is wonderful. I had a room outback in the garden and I honestly felt like I was staying in my own little cottage! It was absolutely lovely! The only drawback was that it was hard to get a wifi signal out there, so if wifi is absolutely necessary for you, mention it during booking! The main door to the room was frosted glass which left me feeling a little exposed sometimes and could have maybe done with a curtain, but that was a pretty minor thing.

The morning I left they even had someone up who helped me get my breakfast, despite having to leave at 7 in the morning, which was incredibly kind of them (especially on a Sunday morning)!

Location wise it's a bit of a walk to the center, but it's an easy route and through a good area. Coming from the airport the Leopardstown route aircoach stop is right nearby. Probably you will use the Hampton Hotel stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Velouaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Velouaaj,

Thank you kindly for writing such a lovely review about our guesthouse. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience with us and we are especially glad that we could make your stay as comfortable as possible and you appreciated our hospitality. It is our pleasure to be able out our guests to make their time with us as relaxing as we can.

Warm wishes from all at Donnybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Spent two nights at the Donnybrook Hall Hotel with my partner for my 25th birthday (16-18 aug 2013). From the arrival it was great. Nice reception, despite us arriving early they were able to check us in to a lovely room at the very end of the garden which was clean, homely and had all the boxes ticked for what you need for a weekend away.
Eric the waiter was especially friendly and helpful towards us during our stay and made breakfast a pleasure on both mornings. Terry than motor very much for your information and guidance on getting around Dublin! Breakfast was very,very good!
If returning to Dubln we will most certainly be staying here.

15min on bus into temple bar, around 30min walk if weather is good! Local pubs and shops nearby. Great location!
Thank you again to all at Donnybook Hall Hotel!
Kieran and Samantha

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KieranRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi KeiranRG,

Thank you for such a lovely review and also a belated happy birthday as I don't think I had the pleasure to meet yourself and your partner. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time in our guesthouse, its so important to us that our guests feel at home and their stay is as comfortable as possible. Breakfast is a big deal here and its great to hear you say it was very,very good. On behalf of my dad I would like to thank you again for a wonderful review and let you know that you are both most welcome back here anytime.

Best wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Terry was undoubtedly the best host with whom we have ever had the pleasure of staying. Nothing was too much trouble, and his tips and suggestions for days out, some of which he booked for us, helped to make the holiday for two strangers to Dublin quite memorable. The staff, Eric, Debbie, Martina and Pat were all hard-working and courteous. The setting is perfect - away from the hubbub of the city centre, which is walkable for the energetic, but also served by frequent buses. Donnybrook village itself boasts some lovely restaurants and shops, while while also being on the route of the Air Coach - the guest house is just a couple of hundred yards away from both the Hampton Hotel and Donnybrook Road stops. We felt totally relaxed, which, after all, is the whole point of going on holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi Steve,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. It means alot to hear that all of us here made your time with us and in Dublin special in some way, its always our pleasure to help out in any way that we can to ensure your stay is as comfortable and stress free as possible. My dad always tries to meet the needs of all of his guests whatever they may be and I know he is very thankful that you appreciated his efforts so much. Be sure to call us directly should you ever return to Dublin and he will look after you.

Best wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Donnybrook hall B&B Dublin was great so friendly very clean, the staff very helpful, and the food options where great for all people i would defiantly go back to this B & b. I would recommend to any one that needs to stay in Dublin 4 area as its near to where the show was held a nice short walk after breakfast to walk it off and also its a nice walk throw a park area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi KllyC,

Thank you for such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you had such a good time at the horse show but especially glad that you enjoyed our your stay and our hospitality so much. To hear that our staff were so helpful and our food was great is very pleasing to us as we strive to make sure our guests are looked after from the moment they enter the house, to their experience in the dining room until the time that they depart, and of course you are more than welcome to stay with us at any time you return to Dublin.

Warm wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A massive thank you to Terry, Debbie, and Martina we couldnt have wished for a better stay. The room was very comfortable and clean and very well situated. The service was 5*, we were made to feel like family from arrival and the breakfast was delicious. Terry was the perfect host and we will definitely being going back. We went for the week for The Dublin Horse Show which is only minutes away at the RDS and we are looking forward to staying at Donnybrook Hall in the not to distant future. Thank you Terry we loved every minute. :)

Room Tip: Room 10 without doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSimon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Sarah,

Thanks for taking the time to write up such a lovely review. Were so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us so much, it was a pleasure to have you here as part of our family. We hope to see you again at the next horse show and don't forget to give my dad a call when returning as he would be delighted to look after you.

Warm wishes

From all the staff at Donnybrook Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our host Terri and his staff were most gracious and helpful. Nothing was of any trouble.

My family stayed on the top floor. Our room was comfortable and quiet.

The hotel is located in an excellent location, close to public transport, restaurants and it is not far from city centre.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ourania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Hi Ourania S,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us at Donnybrook Hall. We are delighted that you would come back to stay with us again and of course our door is always open to you should you return to Dublin.

Best wishes to you and your family

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
4.5 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 151 in Dublin
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
0.9 mi away
Aaron Court
Aaron Court
#4 of 151 in Dublin
256 reviews
3.4 mi away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#1 of 151 in Dublin
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing