We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Details matter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Details matter”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

In general, given that Donnybrook Hall is not too far from downtown Dublin, it’s a fairly nice place to stay. However, details matter. My room (#4) was on the 1st floor just above the street entrance. It was good and enjoyable, with a private bathroom outside. But my mom’s room (#8) on the ground floor had quite a strange configuration and was very small. It had a glass door facing the courtyard passage and no windows (though Terry claimed the opposite, probably calling the door itself a window?). Bed frame was higher than the mattress at some points, hence a bit uncomfortable sleep. Besides, it was quite cold there. My conclusion is that this room was definitely overpriced (Euro 65 per night).

On a positive side, I would note interesting breakfast options (like black pudding omelette), ease of getting to the Dublin central districts (bus stops nearby and buses running frequently) and nice area around.

Room Tip: I do not recommend room #8 (see the review).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirill_Muradov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi Kirill,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review on Donnybrook Hall. All feedback is welcome to us and gives us a chance to take note of our guests views. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your room in house. Breakfast is an important part of what we offer at Donnybrook Hall so knowing that you both were satisfied with our selection means alot to us. Room 8 out back is a single en suite room overlooking our garden area/conservatory, it has a large patio door to open onto the garden and a pane of glass on either side of the door which is indeed a window, this may have been overlooked and it would have been our pleasure to show your mother this should it have been brought to our attention. Should you decide on a return trip to Dublin we would love to have you stay here with us again and would be delighted to look after you.

Best wishes to you both

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    97
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
68
157
72
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay here for 3 nights in November at the start of our Ireland trip. Terry and his team were amazing and made us feel right at home, giving us lots of travel advise , booking cabs and those delicious breakfasts! The guest house is located just off a main road with a selection of shops (most notably a Tesco on the corner), pubs, resturants, phamacy and bus stops into the city centre (only €2.15 one-way, exact change needed). Access to the motorway is close-by, which was great for our day trip into the Wicklow Mountains, and a taxi back from the City Centre after hours, was a very resonable €10. Parking was also available. Our room was huge, and super comfortable and cleaned daily. Great value for money and such a personal service, I would highly recommend a stay here!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I traveled to Dublin and London with my boyfriend in May 2013. We stayed at Donnybrook Hall for 3 nights and it was EXCELLENT! Our flight arrived really early (before check-in time), but we emailed Terry in advance to make arrangements for dropping our bags off. The hotel was super easy to find. We showed up as soon as they opened, and Terry greeted us with orange juice and homemade Irish soda bread. Terry explained where all of the best attractions were located, how to get around, and most importantly: how to get back to the hotel! This was extremely helpful for us as this was our first time in Ireland. The room was clean, warm, inviting, and comfortable. Also, the hotel is located in a really nice part of Dublin and is about a 2-3 minute walk from a bus stop on a main route that gets you into town in < 10 minutes (btw: bus is the best way to travel in Dublin...no need for a rental car!).

I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin. Also - for anyone planning to stay at Donnybrook Hall or anywhere in Dublin really, I recommend purchasing an AirCoach ticket. The AirCoach bus took us from the airport to a bus stop close to Donnybrook Hall. There really is no need for a car Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Donnybrook hall really blew us away, this place is seriously better than most hotels. The level of customer care is amazing, they all made us feel so welcome. We arrived late in the evening and Debbie gave us her mobile number to ring when we arrived. So lovely and friendly.

The place is spotless, our room was really spacious with 2 double beds, tv, wifi and ensuite. Could not fault it at all. Warm, cosy, comfortable and quite.
Well rested when we woke up and went down for a delicious breakfast.

A really beautiful spot, excellent value and highly recommend to all.
Keep up the good work

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I spent some of my holiday time travelling for the first time in Ireland back in August. During the trip I had a chance to stay in a few different places one of which was Donnybrook Hall where I was for one night. Even though I have only now found time to share my experience of what it was like there when quite some time has passed since, I fondly remember how friendly, helpful and polite the staff were, how clean, tidy and well-kept the premises were and the delicious breakfast that seemed more like having dessert. I was really happy with my room which had everything I needed and some good interior design to top it up. There I had a peaceful sleep before an early morning journey towards the airport. As for complaints, I cannot recall anything I did not like and so I can say I do not have any. All in all, I was impressed with the high quality of service and I would not have any doubt about choosing Donnybrook Hall as my preferred accommodation on any future visits to Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Augustinas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi AugustinasG,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you have such fond memories of your stay here with us and that we were able to be apart of making your trip to Ireland so enjoyable. We are especially glad that you appreciated our hospitality and customer service as it if very important to us that our guests leave here feeling like they have enjoyed all of our personal touches. We would love to have you stay with us again should you decide on a return trip.

Warm wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This place is superbly awesome. Terry takes care of his guest very well. The place is extremely clean. The breakfast is great. The value is so tremendous that I really hope they are making some money because I want them to stay open for my next trip!!! It's just so unbelievably good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinceTTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi Vince,

Thank you for taking the time to write up such a lovely review about Donnybrook Hall on Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy that you have rated us the best place you have ever stayed in Dublin and would love for you to come back and stay again should you return to Dublin. I am so glad that you have rated us so highly on each score and especially glad that you enjoyed our hospitality as it is very important to us that our guests have a home from home experience with us.

Warm wishes and may we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as my wife was running the Dublin marathon.
The room was lovely, clean and warm but what made the stay was the fantastic staff.
Terry, Eric and Martina were so helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
We are due to go back to Dublin again soon and will certainly try to stay here again.
Thanks again x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bippi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi Bippi7,

Thank you for taking the time to write up such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. Nothing makes us happier than to know we have made our guests stay so enjoyable. Yourself and your wife are more than welcome to stay with us anytime you make a return trip to Dublin, just give us a call and we will be sure to look after you.

Warm wishes from all the staff at Donnybrook Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,586 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,503 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 151 in Dublin
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,314 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,894 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Property: Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing