We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
340
99
19
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
99
19
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centrehome from homeirish hospitalitydublin horse showtesco expressbed breakfastminute bus ridesoda breadbreakfast was deliciousquiet locationgreat place to stayfresh fruitsingle roomtea and coffeevisiting dublinroom was spotless
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Donnybrook Hall Hotel for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. Terry and Eric were incredibly helpful. They were very knowledgeable about how to get around and where to go around Dublin. The room was large and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was phenomenal. The location was the only thing that wasn't perfect - the house is far enough from city center to warrant taking the bus, but on two out of three nights we were out late and had to walk. It was a nice, quiet neighborhood to walk through, but the walk was quite long (45 min or so). On our last night, when Terry learned that we'd be leaving before breakfast he arranged to have scones and fruit left in our room for us, which we really appreciated. Overall, we would absolutely stay here again, and would recommend Donnybrook Hall Hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first 2 nights of our holiday and what a great place to kick off our 2 week vacation in Ireland and Scotland.
We arrived at around 4p.m. after a 15 hour flight and were very tired. We greeted by a lovely young lady and her delightful young son who checked us in and offered us a fresh cup of coffee and tea and fresh scones with butter and jam, and it was just exactly what we needed.
She recommended O'Connnells restaurant for dinner as it was just around the corner that offered a discount for their recommendation and it was fantastic!!
Then after a delicious breakfast the next morning we sat down with the host to ask some questions. He was very helpful and kind and gave us many very help suggestions on how to get around Dublin and what to not miss, like the "Hop on Hop Off" buses in Dublin which is a great way to explore a bit of that wonderful city.
From the cleanliness, to the bed, to the breakfast, to the hosts, to the location; it's a great place for a night or for an extended stay in Dublin, you will not be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place to stay! Very clean and quiet. Good location - close to downtown, but far enough away that the area was not overrun with tourists. The staff were extremely helpful and helped us to make the most of our stay in Dublin. Delicious breakfast, too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently and we were very happy with our choice. We arrived mid morning after an early flight and though we knew that we could not check in, were allowed to leave our bags and our hire car before going into the city centre, some 10 minutes away by bus or a leisurely 30 minutes on foot.
Terry was a genial host, very welcoming and offered us tea, coffee and scones upon arrival, which were most welcome. This really set the tone for our stay, as Terry and all of his staff go out of their way to satisfy their guests, including trip advice, maps, places to eat etc and the breakfast choice was extensive and of excellent quality.
Our room was nice, spotlessly clean and had all the necessary amenities for an enjoyable stay.
There are some nice eateries within a few minutes walk and we tried a couple of them, The Courtyard (a Marco Pierre White restaurant) and the famous O'Connells (see separate reviews of these). Both have agreements with Donnybrook Hall, so at the former, a complimentary drink is offered and a complimentary Irish coffee is offered at the latter. Both were good choices and we were thankful to Assistant Manager Eric, who reserved tables for us at both, and was equally as helpful and efficient as Terry.
All in all a great stay, we would recommend Donnybrook Hall and once again thanks to Terry and his team for their hospitality and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pogs147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a great stay at Donnybrook. Terry was a great host, and his manager Eric was very professional and helpful with orienting us to the city. Wonderful breakfast!
Donnybrook is in the city, but in a really nice, quiet area. The bus stop is at the corner and takes you right downtown, which is only a few minutes away.
We highly recommend Donnybrook!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chappys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi Chappies,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review about Donnybrook Hall on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and especially glad that you would highly recommend us to other Trip Advisor readers. It is always our pleasure to ensure that our guests have the most relaxed and enjoyable stay with us as we possible can. Should you decide to return to Dublin please call us directly and we will be sure to look after you.

Warm wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews