We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely place to stay...”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Really nice family run B&B situated within walking distance of Dublin City centre.

Terry, the owner, was really nice and very helpful and left no stone unturned to make our stay at Donnybrook hall a pleasant one.

Really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    97
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
158
72
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the night on July 4th. Warm getting upon arrival and offered tea and scones (which I was in too much of a rush to be able to sample - but a lovely touch).

Convenient parking, lovely room and good location. Superbly helpful and friendly staff and a most hospitable host in Terry and his staff.

Will definitely visit again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Terry, Martina & Debbie are wonderful hosts! The B&B is in an upscale neighborhood of Dublin and a lovely 30 minute walk from the center of the city (through St. Stephen's Square). There are also several buses close by that go right into city center. Terry recommended the walk into the city and we are so glad we took his advice. The walk was beautiful! Buses are easy to navigate (they all go into the city center), inexpensive and very close if you are short on time or don't fancy a walk. The room was clean and comfortable. The mattresses looked very flimsy but were actually quite comfortable. Breakfast was delicious (recommend the eggs Benedict!) and the breakfast room was very nice. I highly recommend this B&B! Terry really is wonderful and helped make this one of the best B&B I've stayed in to date.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesster42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was happy enough with the location (close the UCD and on the direct bus route to the city centre), the room and the quality of the breakfast. Staff were a bit overbearing in their attempts to be helpful (I can see most people enjoy that sort of thing, I would rather be left alone unless I ask!).

Room Tip: The room in the garden is quite small and gets very hot in summer. I recommend something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maswala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived at Donnybrook Hall slightly before check in, and they could not have been more accommodating. I was offered a hot drink and a scone, and was able to leave our luggage.
When we officially checked in, we were given room 7, which I had read some reviews saying was a little noisy, as it was right beside the kitchen. As my friend had to work from her Dublin office on the following day, this did not matter, however, as she was very much looking forward to a lie in on Saturday, I did mention my concerns to Debbie. She was fantastic in saying that she understood completely, and if we were prepared to stay in the room that night, the following day they would move us upstairs to a more quiet room. This was absolutely fine with us.
During our stay, the staff could not have been better or more attentive. Genuinely nice people. We were given advice with regard to maps etc. as we were attending a couple of concerts on our stay, and taxis were phoned when we needed them.
There is no "on site" parking for Donnybrook Hall, however you are supplied with a parking permit, and on street parking is very easy to come by on this quiet residential road.
Literally 30 yards away is a Marco Pierre White restaurant (The Courtyard) and O'Connells pub/restaurant, which Donnybrook Hall have deals with. You are also just a step away from the shops in Donnybrook, which are excellent, and 10 minutes walk from the lovely Ballsbridge. Public transport is good via bus, and the nearest Dart station is Landsdowne, approx 20 minutes walk away. If you have a car, you are basically on the N11 which provides easy access to lovely spots such as Dalkey, and is easy onto the M50 without having to go through the city.
Neither myself or my friend are early breakfast eaters, so we did not avail of the Donnybrook Hall breakfast, however we did notice a lovely bright breakfast room with a lovely garden and conservatory.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, and the beds super comfortable.
All in all, I would most definitely stay here again. It was, I feel, very reasonably priced, and situated conveniently, in a lovely area of Dublin.
Big thanks to Terry and his team :)

Helpful?
Thank lalabelfast1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We enjoyed our 2-night stay here in May. The location is 1.5 miles from St. Stephen's Green but close to city & airport bus stops. We appreciated being able to drop off our luggage upon our morning arrival so we could do sightseeing before check-in time. Room was clean but a bit cramped and bed too soft for our tastes. However breakfast was very nice with a number of delicious choices and we couldn't have been more pleased with the staff service. A big thanks to Eric and Terry!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCRal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi KcRal,

Thank you for writing a review about Donnybrook Hall on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you were happy with the service we offered and especially glad that you were so pleased with our hospitality and staff. Should you decide to return to Dublin we would be delighted to accommodate you again and offer a more spacious room and equally as good service as it is most important to us that our guests feel at home here with us.

Best wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Eric on arrival, and Terry on departure, our stay was lovely and comfortable after a full eight hours travel. We enjoyed being out of the city centre, but able to walk to Donnybrook Village, where we really enjoyed a pint and dinner at the nearby pub.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely with everything provided. Shall be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Kate858,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear that a guest would return to Donnybrook Hall, we aim to offer the best customer service possible and make our guests feel welcomed and at home. Breakfast is a big thing in our guesthouse and we are glad you enjoyed the spread we had on offer. Please be sure to give Terry a call directly should you decide to return and he will be sure to look after you.

Warm wishes

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,603 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
1,346 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Property: Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing