We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value - Close to Dublin Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value - Close to Dublin Airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Clean basic hotel close to the Dublin Airport. Shops close by and a bar and restaurant in the hotel. The Ballymun area looked a bit dodgy though and isn't somewhere I'd fancy walking about after the sun goes down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    303
    207
    106
    108
See reviews for
181
326
95
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The bad. Could hear every single thing from what seems like the entire hotel.
Rowdy crowed in the room beneath me. When I did complain the man at reception was friendly however basically told me there was nothing he could do.
Although the rooms looked clean the bedsheets smelt so bad! Honestly couldn't even compare the smell to anything else.

The good.
The staff were friendly and helpful in letting me leave my two large cases in a locked room at reception so I didn't need to navigate them with a 5 year old and 3 year old early in the morning.
Close location to the airport.
Warm rooms and clean bathroom.

Sadly venturing to Australia on a 26 hour trip with exactly 0 hours sleep is not what I had in mind. Throw two cranky, tried boys (who also got very little sleep) into the mix its needless to say we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Moline, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

5 miles from airport, not a safe area, filthy carpet and teapot, not enough towels for guests, no blow dryers, charge for airport shuttle, then driver had no change, so he got a tip... very loud inside and outside of hotel all night long, signage is terrible to find the place, charge to use Wi-fi. Will never return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is on a nice location, since it is quite easy for you to get any bus line. They were a little too short on staff, taking into account we were there for the weekend. One person at the reception, which means it took forever for everybody to get checked-in/out, only one person taking orders, serving, and billing at the restaurant (the same person was there on Friday night, Saturday morning until 10 p.m., so the guy was exhausted).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele_Carilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

1st Room was dirty&had a bag of someone's nasty sex toys. Front desk clerk gave me a new room & a blankish stare while doing so. No Apologies. 2nd room had been smoked in. 3rd toilet didn't work. Sad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The Travelodge was awesome, there was a bit if a hiccup with our room when we arrived but it was sorted fairly quickly. The room was a good size, the beds were big and comfortable, the bathroom was great - although it does need a fan. The location is a bit out of the way but it was really well priced, there was plenty of off street parking and the staff were really great. I'd stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is what you would expect from a Travelodge - cheap, clean, functional, but tending towards the basic.

It is a 17 Euro taxi ride from the airport - rather more than we expected. There is a shuttle bus, but the website says that there isn't!

A Full Irish breakfast is available at the same price as a continental breakfast, but the website offers only the continental. We managed to upgrade, without charge, to the full Irish and it was very good, but the stuff for the continental was stale and unappetising.

Good bus service from the hotel into town, but it would be nice if there was information on display about the routes and fares and if the receptionist had change (since the bus fare has to be paid in coins and no change is given.)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Address: Apartment 62 The Plaza Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun is ideally located 4 km from Dublin Airport and 5km from Dublin City and offers spacious modern rooms at budget prices. The hotel operates a shuttle bus service to/from the airport every 20 minutes for €3.00 Per passenger. The service runs from 05am-9am and 5pm -9pm. Stay in Dublin for less this year, for business, catching a flight from Dublin Airport or visiting Dublin City for shopping and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun Hotel Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing