We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Business”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Unable to book hotel on their web page so called personally where I was met by Racquel who was extremely welcoming and helpful. Got booking completed within three minutes as I told her I had a meeting appointment. The hotel is certainly the best value for money around with excellent staff who do more than you'd expect from them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    312
    209
    117
    109
See reviews for
184
336
100
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Attending an international choir meeting I stayed at the Travellodge in Ballymun, Dublin in June 2014. This was one of the poorest places I have been staying overnight. Very noisy place, inside and outside, old and ugly carpets. The bed was okay but everything else made it an unpleasant place. I sorry to say so, but I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeateH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The neighborhood seemed sketchy while we were driving in, but we were put at ease upon entering the hotel! A bit of a bummer to be charged for wifi, but having a teapot in the room and plenty of storage was lovely. We didn't have the breakfast, but it looked like there was a great eating space in the lobby! The parking lot is beneath the hotel and you have to check in before you can park - easy to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

As we were expecting nothing fancy for our cheap triple room we were happy with our stay at the travelodge. Had plenty of free underground parking which was perfect for us as we had a hire car to drive around Ireland. Across the road from the hotel was a bus stop that took us directly to Dublin City centre. Kind staff were happy to help with all enquiries.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My first sign should have been the first 5 minutes I got there.

I booked the room online from a discount website and though its called "Travelodge" it's not associated with the Travelodge in the US! I should have researched that more...

I booked a full size bed with a twin. When we checked in they ran my CC and charged the room $103 on my credit card instead of just a hold... ok.

Once we got to the room, the lights would not work. You have to put the room key in a slot to make the lights able to turn on- so the front desk re-coded the room keys twice before he finally said he would go upstairs to look at it. Yep, doesn't work. He told us to stay in the room and he would go down to talk to his manager about getting us in a different room. 10 minutes later we hadn't heard from him. I call to the front desk and he tells me he's "busy" and would get to my situation in about 30 minutes. REALLY!?! I told him it was 10pm, we had a flight the next morning and we needed to go to sleep. I went down stairs and stood in line to get the issue resolved. While standing there, there is a group of 5 men who were complaining that the rooms they booked were not correct either and the "manager" at the front desk was very snippy telling them there was nothing she could do because there were not any rooms available like they had booked. When I got to the front, the "manager" lady now tells me there are no more rooms available like mine. just a room with 2 twin beds. I say "ok" can I get a credit for the difference in the room. She says "no, that room is the same price" I had to explain to her that i get it- but it's not the room that I booked. She tells me she would have the manager call me tomorrow (thought she was the manager??) so we get new keys to the twin room.

Upon entering room 129 it REEKS of smoke and mildew. There is no A/C, so you have to open the window for air. That's ok, except it's now 10:30pm and there are people yelling on the streets. Not a chance of getting sleep and at this point I would rather pay $50 extra a room to stay somewhere that I can get a room I want, that doesn't smell, has good customer service and I can actually SLEEP in.

I go downstairs to tell them I am not staying and need a refund. Surprise! they can't do that. the "manager" will have to call me tomorrow to take care of it. THEN! She offers to look at a complairable room like my original one if I stay there. Thought there weren't any rooms available earlier?? I tell her I'm over it at this point. I just want to leave. I paid an extra $25 for a taxi and about $60 more for a room at a major hotel chain down the street and had a great night.

I STILL have not heard from a manager or been given any kind of refund for my $103 I was charged for the night stay.

I value recommendations on TripAdvisor and honestly take them highly into consideration when booking a room.... I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. From the customer service, to the state of the hotel to not getting a response from Management- I would give it a 0 star if possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Priscilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haliburton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The room and staff were fine, however the balcony outside the room was covered with cigarette butts. The hotel is in a sketchy area of Dublin. One would certainly not want to be out walking around after dark. No shampoo in the room - one small piece of soap and only two smallish towels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank N0rtherner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clay city, indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I wish I had read the reviews before booking. We are currently staying in the hotel, and I must agree that this place is a dive. Rooms aren't great, bed is worn out, no outside phone, wifi is €5 per device per day, breakfast is €9 per person if you want it. There aren't shops or pubs across the street. They are a ten minute walk at least. Shuttle to the airport is €3 per person. I agree with the other posters that there are many shady characters (including the hotel evening manager--Russian or Czech mafia?) and prostitutes running around the place at night. I also believe the recommending posts are made by the staff; I do not see any of the positives that I read about in the reviews.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank harbourp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Address: Apartment 62 The Plaza Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun is ideally located 4 km from Dublin Airport and 5km from Dublin City and offers spacious modern rooms at budget prices. The hotel operates a shuttle bus service to/from the airport every 20 minutes for €3.00 Per passenger. The service runs from 05am-9am and 5pm -9pm. Stay in Dublin for less this year, for business, catching a flight from Dublin Airport or visiting Dublin City for shopping and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun Hotel Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing