We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why the bad reviews??? ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Ranked #110 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This place was fine! Not sure what people expect from a standard hotel chain.
We were checked in within 5mins. There is free off street parking. Bathroom was generous, clean and modern. Bed was comfy.

I have to say, head downstairs to the little takeaway place. The pizza was phenomenal, open late for those arriving on a late flight.

Area was a bit of the dodgy side, kids running around at all hours playing football but what do you expect from an airport area?

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank megantravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear megantravels_13,

Thank you for your constructive and informative review.

It is encouraging to read a review from a reviewer that has already posted 41 reviews on Trip Advisor as no doubt it gives our customers an accurate overview of the hotel and it's amenities.

I am delighted that your reservation and the check-in process was handled in a prompt and professional manner and that your bedroom was to your satisfaction. Indeed our beds are extremely comfortable as we have upgraded the beds in all our Travelodge Hotels throughout Ireland.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon to enjoy the comforts of Travelodge, Dublin Airport South.

Kind regards,

George O'Gara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Sitting here in the hotel as I write this: perfectly fine IMHO. Room is fairly large and clean, maybe worn just a little, but with all amenities: tea, coffee, cups, hair dryer and soaps (but no shampoo). Reception area is big and airy with a bar and coffee shop and there is free off street parking. All this for 62 euro although they do rake some of it back: the airport shuttle is 3 euro and WiFi is 5 euro. The neighborhood has a few things going on too, so it's not like you're stuck in the middle of nowhere. There's a supermarket, a bar/ lounge and a decent Chinese restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarStoolBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear BarStoolBrother,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. Both the team and I are truly delighted that you were thoroughly satisfied with your accommodation and the hotel amenities.

We strive to offer the most competitive rates and €62 is indeed very favorable in the heights of the Summer months. We offer added amenities to our guests at a minimal cost, to include a shuttle service that runs every 20 minutes to and from the airport from the early hours of the morning through to midnight for only €3.00.

Once again, we are glad that the hotel was perfect for your needs and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

George O'Gara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here with a group of 35 to visit a choir festival at the Dublin City University (DCU). We did not want to spend too much money because we would not be in the hotel much and we wanted to be able to walk from DCU to the hotel vice versa (there is also a bus stop very near to the hotel). This would not have been possible if we stayed in the centre. As mentioned in other reviews, the neightbourhoud is a bit rough but we experencied no problems. Only you visit the pub next to the hotel, you will notice that people are rather straightforward here, especially when they have drunk a few too many pints. There are indeed nicer pubs in other neighbourhoods... The hotel itself is basic, only the rooms on the fourth (upper) floor have more amenities and are bigger, so try to book a room there (court side) or on the third floor. There is also less noise from the pub on these floors. Breakfast was a problem every morning. They just don't seem to be able to handle it. Very irritating to people who expect to have a nice breakfast and then there is nothing left anymore. Or you have to wait 10 minutes before new supplies arrive. Really an issue for management! They key cards also failed several times. Annoying when you arrive late at night, try to open your room door and then have to go to the reception to make the card work again. There is a hotel shuttle bus but we did not use it. There are a lot of taxis (taxi vans) waiting at the airport and for only a few euros they will take you from the airport to the hotel (there is no direct bus connection).
P.S. I rated "very good" because there is no option to select "good" and I think it was more than just "average".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenkiArnhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear PenkiArnhem,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted you found the hotel value for money. Indeed, we are perfectly located for Dublin City University; a short walk or a few minutes in a taxi. I trust the choir festival was a success.

I am glad you found the hotel amenities to your satisfaction overall. My apologies for the 10 minute delay at breakfast in replenishing the buffet. This was an isolated incident as the team in the kitchen and restaurant pride themselves in delivering the highest standards of quality to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

George O'Gara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

To be honest I booked this hotel because it was close to the airport, and it was cheap , but take my advise and don't take an evening dander , it would just not be a pleasing place for the eye . But saying that hotel reception staff were pleasant and the reception area was clean and modern as are all the standard travelodge hotels are , but our room carpet needed cleaned ,the view from our room looked on to private apartments,overgrown paths vacant buildings with broken windows , we did have a good sleep though .breakfast was good at €7.50 euro although they tried to take €9.50, saying that it's €7.50 if you prepay on check in , but breakfast was good , have to mention the age of the waitress at breakfast concerned me they looked about 13 or 14 and couldn't smile. Would I stay here again ? have to be honest and say NEVER , but don't let me put you off , put this hotel somewhere else in Dublin and it would be a winner . Please put cups and spoons in the room too it works well with the kettle .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank binflynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear binflynn1,

Thank you for you constructive comments.

I am truly delighted that you found the hotel clean and modern and the team at the hotel pleasant and friendly. Breakfast is very good value at €7.50 when prepaid at check-in and I am glad you availed and enjoyed it.

Thank you for bringing the maintenance issue of the carpet in your room to our attention. We have duly attended to this. Apologies for any inconvenience caused and for the shortage of cups in your room.

I sincerely trust that you may chose to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

George O'Gara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Whilst visiting family in Dublin,for convenience and value for money we booked the travellodge- ballymun,staying for 5 nights then travelling to Wexford,Waterford,Galway then returning for one more night before returning home to England.the experience was a very positive one and in the future we will use travellodge and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Willam E,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I have passed your gracious comments onto the team here at the hotel. We are truly delighted that your 5 night stay was a pleasant one and that you will be recommending the hotel to family and friends.

We look forward to looking after you again on your next visit.

Kind regards

George O'Gara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family stayed a week in this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and exactly as described on the website. Simple accommodations for those who want to visit Dublin but can't afford to stay downtown. The bus stop is just outside the hotel with buses directly into the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear TAWalker,

Thank you for your wonderful and informative comments.

Indeed we are an extremely competitively priced hotel offering value for money. I am glad you were thoroughly satisfied with your room in terms of comfort and cleanliness. We strive to offer the highest standards throughout and once again, it is encouraging to see we have delivered.

Yes we are in a prime location with a bus corridor directly outside the hotel for access to the city centre. We are a popular choice for those who wish to avoid city centre prices for the same comfort.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

George O'Gara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

2nd time in a row seriously dissapointed. Window in bedroom covered and mean covered in bird crap asked to be corrected sayed nothing gd be done changed room with same problem even though stated why we wanted to move eventually put in room s lot better. Certain lady on reception not particular friendly. Pre booked cot was not there when bedding or pillow. Overall very dissapointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gummidge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,407 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel

Address: Apartment 62 The Plaza Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £64 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun is ideally located 4 km from Dublin Airport and 5km from Dublin City and offers spacious modern rooms at budget prices. The hotel operates a shuttle bus service to/from the airport every 20 minutes for €3.00 Per passenger. The service runs from 05am-9am and 5pm -9pm. Stay in Dublin for less this year, for business, catching a flight from Dublin Airport or visiting Dublin City for shopping and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun Hotel Dublin
Dublin Travel Lodge
Dublin Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing