We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Ranked #106 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Coventry
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed for three nights and had breakfast on 2 mornings. Very reasonable, hotel is clean and warm and the rooms are fairly big. We met a few people from the area and they were very friendly and welcoming.They all have hopes that the area will have more facilities soon for them as they have to go to dublin for their entertaintment and shopping, which is a half an hour on the bus. We travelled in to Dublin in the morning and back every evening and had drinks in the hotel bar at night. There is no bus from the Airport we had to get a bus into the city and back out again to Ballymun, we got a taxi to the airport when we left which is only 10 mins away but it was expensive at 18 euros.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CoventryMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimaStankute, Revenue Coordinator at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to write your possitive review. They are always welcome. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Rima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    303
    207
    106
    108
See reviews for
181
326
95
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

we stayed here our last 2 nights in Dubin as we got a great price on Orbitz (69 dollars a night) that being said the coffee shop downstairs was not very good, had to pay for internet access and there was NO wake up service one of stayed up all night so we didn't miss our plane. The free paking and the price were a plus.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimaStankute, Revenue Coordinator at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you stay with us again soon. Kind regards,
Rima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

I read plenty of mixed reviews about this hotel, but figured I was only staying one night before collecting someone at the airport before heading home and there was free parking... I knew Ballymun could be a risk, but figured it was shedding a new skin after all, IKEA have even come into the neighbourhood and they had removed majority of the plagued Ballymun flats.... well, except for the two right behind the hotel!!! In all fairness, we only stayed one night, and there was plenty of foot traffic, but the area did not feel safe at all. Twice I was waken by the flashing blue lights of the garda as they actually searched the area on foot with torches. The area is definitely improving, but it's not there yet! That being said, hotel was nice, clean, and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hi Jimmy,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
I was saddened to read you did not feel safe in the area. Since we took over the hotel over a year ago our feedback about the area has been great.
Yes, it is currently under a multi billion euro regeneration program & yes, not all the large flats are down yet but the progress has been fantastic.
I can honestly say - the majority of the local people in Ballymun is completely harmless & would do anything to improve the community. That includes making our guests very welcome in their area.

I do hope your next stay will be much more enjoyable.

Kindest Regards,
Lisa Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed here on 9th Nov for one night..Very friendly staff on reception and at the restaurant.Had underground carpark which was great and this was complimentary.The room was very clean and there was no noise at night.Excellent value.All staff appeared to be local which is great.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brighidDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Just back from a city break in Dublin - our first visit. Given the exchange rate we opted to save money by staying in no frills accommodation and the Travelodge in Ballymun was just the ticket. Be open minded and give it a go. This large Travelodge is modern and very clean. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Whilst the hotel is not in the best part of Dublin - there are a few run down tower blocks nearby - the bus stop into the city centre is just across the street from the hotel. Buses run every 15 mins or so and it takes 15-20 minutes into the centre. We bought a 3 day rambler pass from the tourist info centre at the airport when we arrived so we simply could hop on and off the buses and just swipe our pass. We did get a few taxis around the city centre when our feet couldn't carry us anymore as we did lots of walking and all the drivers were very friendly. Taxis do have surcharges depending on what time of the day you travel and the number of people travelling but all in all it was fine to get one if needed - they have meters.
We paid 38 Euros (around £34) for 2 nights at the hotel and on a Fri and Sat night - what a bargain! The room was large and comfortable. Highly recommended if you are after a budget city break and willing to hop and off buses into the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CustomerServiceClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hi Clare,

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & we all hope you visit us again soon.

Take care,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

From the time we arrived to when we left, the entire staff made us feel welcome and were always attentive to all of our needs, the restraunt in the hotel worked well with the staff and made our stay a very warm and extremely memoriable stay. We will diffinately return to this hotel, in the future. Our room was clean and exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graymovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write your positive review. They are always welcome.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed at this hotel basically because it was near the airport and near to the Hospital as were only over to visit a very sick relative and didnt want to stay down town. The area is definately not appealing and there is a very very tired Tesco across the road and a couple of chippie takeaways. Dont get ripped off by taxis from the road, the hotel has a freephone so just do it that way and it should cost 12 euros approx to the city centre. We saved by jumping on the bus, its so frequent and is 1.80 single, ensure you have the correct fare though. It is near the airport but not a 5 min taxi ride, more like 10-15 if the traffic is running smoothly. Its a nightmare at Dublin Airport as there is loads of construction works going on for a long time due to the new terminal so leave in plenty of time due to heavy traffic. Our room was for 3 persons, it was fabby honestly, spotless clean beds, lovely spacious room and tea/coffee. We had a power cut on the day we were leaving and couldnt shower etc and couldnt have breakfast but the lovely waiter let us take cereal, juice and pastries to our room which was fab. The girls on reception were just perfect and extremely pleasant and updated us with timings as to when the electricity would be back on. Thankfully it only seemed to last a half hour and we were up and running. I would definately stay again if we had to visit relatives, just a shame about the louts shouting from the balconies as they do indeed back on to the hotel and the really loud music from the bar, try to get a room to the back of the hotel also its a little quieter. All in all well done on this Travelodge and if you are looking for a cheap hotel and are sighteeing all day then this is the one for you. If you are looking for cosy pubs and restaurants then forget it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandCatriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hi Catriona

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review.
We are delighted our hotel met your standards.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kinds Regards,
Lisa Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Address: Apartment 62 The Plaza Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun is ideally located 4 km from Dublin Airport and 5km from Dublin City and offers spacious modern rooms at budget prices. The hotel operates a shuttle bus service to/from the airport every 20 minutes for €3.00 Per passenger. The service runs from 05am-9am and 5pm -9pm. Stay in Dublin for less this year, for business, catching a flight from Dublin Airport or visiting Dublin City for shopping and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun Hotel Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing