We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building, poor management, woeful security, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Nice building, poor management, woeful security, good value”
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Arriving in Dublin Airport a week before Xmas I was delighted to see that the normal queue for the taxi rank was not there and I got a taxi to go to the optimistically entitled “Travelodge Dublin Airport” right away. That was the good news. The bad news is the Dublin Taxi driver has zero training or customer service ability. His first gambit was a foul mouthed rant about his 3 hour wait for a “job” with the implication that I he was hoping for a longer trip than mine. He also took two mobile calls (he had no hands free), nearly missed the turn off the motorway and clipped the kerb in doing so and took the longer route on the congested M50 Ring motorway instead of the quicker, shorter, less congested route by the back road to the airport. Oh, there was a final racist tinged rant about “foreign taxi drivers” not knowing their way and “Irish girls” not being safe with them. If this is true then this local product has set a high benchmark for them. Did I say a word to him? I did on my Nelly, I am not the overpaid Dublin Taxi Regulator and I was not going to waste my energy. But here as in so many other areas in Ireland they just don’t get the BIG STORY; they are charging too much money for a poor product and the rest of the world has little interest in their self indulgent whinging.

So we arrive at “Travelodge, Dublin Airport.” Now as a Dubliner I knew where it was and it was convenient for my parents who I was visiting. However the title is deceptive as it is actually 3 miles from Dublin Airport in the middle of the Ballymun Flats Public Housing Project which is in the middle of redevelopment but still retains a somewhat grim reputation. If you have seen the hit movie “The Commitments” this is where the boy is bringing the horse up in the lift because he gets too tired using the stairs! Dublin Airport is described as a 5 minute taxi ride away – 15/20 minutes and 15 euro is the reality. It is not the only misleading info on the Travelodge website. The hotel number is described as 10p a minute from a BT Line, it isn’t a BT number, it is an Irish Telecom number attracting International Call charges from the UK.

It is described as 2 miles from Dublin City Centre; it is actually over 5 miles. An American tourist who had relied on the website descriptions might be confused at this stage by this “Airport Hotel” close to the City?

However first impressions are positive, it is a 4 storey new build hotel open over 8 months which is attractive looking and has fresh interiors. However first impressions don’t last. The drops off areas are permanently occupied by trade vehicles and you have to pull up in the middle of the road with the added danger this entails and difficulty for mobility impaired guests. When we complained we were told that these were guests and the vans were too high to use the underground car park and they had to be parked in sight of reception so they wouldn’t be vandalised – so no proper drop off / pick up bays. Inside the reception is bright and modern but it took 15 minutes for somebody to come to the desk to check us in. We had to change from the first room we were assigned as the shower fitting was broken but the room we eventually got was nice and bright, clean and of a good size with two beds (bigger than older Travelodge’s) and the bathroom was excellent. It also had a TV, trouser press and tea/ coffee making facilities. As we had booked online at 29 euros a night this was a lot of room for the money. However there was evidence that things had been finished in a hurry, spacers left in tiling, floor strips loose, areas being redecorated after only a few months.

However the big weakness is apparent when we came back that night and parked in the “secure” underground car park. We pressed the intercom at the car park entrance and without any conversation or checks we were let in. The car park is shared with apartment dwellers and retailers but there are plenty of clearly marked Travelodge spaces. You need to use your card key to access the hotel (and the lift and your room) but when we got to the “secure” doors they were “open” with the electronic lock disengaged so you could go straight in. Once in the lift lobby you could then access all the floors without a key by going up the stairwell. We spoke to the young receptionist the next morning she said the security lock was due to be repaired and had been out of action for weeks. She also said there was CCTV and there was a security guard in the car park. Well there may be CCTV but there is little point to it if there is nobody at reception to look at it. As for the “security guard” we saw what was happening when we were leaving the next day. There he was in an office in the car park chatting away to a friend and just opening the barrier without checking.

The next morning when we were in reception there was a young German couple remonstrating with the reception. Their car had been scraped and damaged on one side. Seemingly when they were entering the car park there was a large van delivering to Travelodge blocking the entrance and they were told to go down the exit road. As they did so the barrier descended and scraped their car. The delivery drivers didn’t want to know and refused to swap details. They then went to reception and they were similarly uninterested and refusing to take ownership. By the time we were leaving the Gardai (Police) had arrived to deal with the situation. The operation of the car park and the security at this Travelodge leaves a lot to be desired and is an area where the hotel management really need to take ownership.

When we went down to breakfast the next morning (it ends @ 11) we were greeted at 10.45 with a somewhat uncouth statement “Oh, I was about to close up” To welcome us. The “Irish” Breakfast consisted of bacon, sausage, beans and pudding looking somewhat worse for wear. Coffee and orange juice (no choice was offered) was brought to the table. There was no healthy alternative, no yoghurts, no cheese, no cold meats, and no selections of bread or rolls. There were min-croissants. The waitress was friendly enough but was very untrained with a poor manner. For this you have to pay 8.95 euros directly to the café as they are not part of Travelodge and we noticed heavy layers of dust on the partition beside our table.

Travelodge's lack of proper training and management systems is painfully and embarrassingly obvious particularly when you compare it to a very similar 2 star budget chain like Ibis run by the French Hotel group Accor. In Travelodge you are continuously faced with disempowered, untrained juvenile staff and poor management systems and processes and non-existent customer service values. Contrast Travelodge with the cheerful and well decorated Ibis Hotels, The Ibis “If we can’t fix it in 30 minutes the room is free” promise, the excellent and healthy breakfasts they offer, the “Breakfast Non-Stop” and the 24 hour snack availability not to mention the contrast in the customer welcome then by comparison Travelodge is a very poor customer service proposition indeed. It is a great pity that Travelodge’s management is not as good as its marketing.

In summary, nice building, poor management, woeful security, good value if you don’t get robbed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daithai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I would like to discuss these issues with you further as your comments disappoint us greatly.
I can assure you the under ground car park is secure – if the magnetic lock was off during the day it was for a maintenance purpose. It is always connected back up.
I’ve passed your comments to the restaurant manager – he will take the appropriate action.

Could you please contact me directly at the hotel?

At this time I can only apologise for your bad experience & for any inconvenience caused.

Kindest Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    318
    215
    122
    112
See reviews for
196
342
102
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bham england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2009

arrived & greeted with a smile from receptionist,that put me feeling good straight away.very friendly & knowlegable staff ,rooms were clean tidy & bathroom /shower was great..radiator was a bit cold so out of 10 i'd give it 8 overall.i would def go again .

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nova3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write your positive review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed for three nights and had breakfast on 2 mornings. Very reasonable, hotel is clean and warm and the rooms are fairly big. We met a few people from the area and they were very friendly and welcoming.They all have hopes that the area will have more facilities soon for them as they have to go to dublin for their entertaintment and shopping, which is a half an hour on the bus. We travelled in to Dublin in the morning and back every evening and had drinks in the hotel bar at night. There is no bus from the Airport we had to get a bus into the city and back out again to Ballymun, we got a taxi to the airport when we left which is only 10 mins away but it was expensive at 18 euros.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CoventryMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimaStankute, Revenue Coordinator at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to write your possitive review. They are always welcome. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Rima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2009

we stayed here our last 2 nights in Dubin as we got a great price on Orbitz (69 dollars a night) that being said the coffee shop downstairs was not very good, had to pay for internet access and there was NO wake up service one of stayed up all night so we didn't miss our plane. The free paking and the price were a plus.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimaStankute, Revenue Coordinator at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you stay with us again soon. Kind regards,
Rima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I read plenty of mixed reviews about this hotel, but figured I was only staying one night before collecting someone at the airport before heading home and there was free parking... I knew Ballymun could be a risk, but figured it was shedding a new skin after all, IKEA have even come into the neighbourhood and they had removed majority of the plagued Ballymun flats.... well, except for the two right behind the hotel!!! In all fairness, we only stayed one night, and there was plenty of foot traffic, but the area did not feel safe at all. Twice I was waken by the flashing blue lights of the garda as they actually searched the area on foot with torches. The area is definitely improving, but it's not there yet! That being said, hotel was nice, clean, and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hi Jimmy,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
I was saddened to read you did not feel safe in the area. Since we took over the hotel over a year ago our feedback about the area has been great.
Yes, it is currently under a multi billion euro regeneration program & yes, not all the large flats are down yet but the progress has been fantastic.
I can honestly say - the majority of the local people in Ballymun is completely harmless & would do anything to improve the community. That includes making our guests very welcome in their area.

I do hope your next stay will be much more enjoyable.

Kindest Regards,
Lisa Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed here on 9th Nov for one night..Very friendly staff on reception and at the restaurant.Had underground carpark which was great and this was complimentary.The room was very clean and there was no noise at night.Excellent value.All staff appeared to be local which is great.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brighidDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Just back from a city break in Dublin - our first visit. Given the exchange rate we opted to save money by staying in no frills accommodation and the Travelodge in Ballymun was just the ticket. Be open minded and give it a go. This large Travelodge is modern and very clean. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Whilst the hotel is not in the best part of Dublin - there are a few run down tower blocks nearby - the bus stop into the city centre is just across the street from the hotel. Buses run every 15 mins or so and it takes 15-20 minutes into the centre. We bought a 3 day rambler pass from the tourist info centre at the airport when we arrived so we simply could hop on and off the buses and just swipe our pass. We did get a few taxis around the city centre when our feet couldn't carry us anymore as we did lots of walking and all the drivers were very friendly. Taxis do have surcharges depending on what time of the day you travel and the number of people travelling but all in all it was fine to get one if needed - they have meters.
We paid 38 Euros (around £34) for 2 nights at the hotel and on a Fri and Sat night - what a bargain! The room was large and comfortable. Highly recommended if you are after a budget city break and willing to hop and off buses into the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CustomerServiceClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hi Clare,

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & we all hope you visit us again soon.

Take care,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Address: Apartment 62 The Plaza Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun is ideally located 4 km from Dublin Airport and 5km from Dublin City and offers spacious modern rooms at budget prices. The hotel operates a shuttle bus service to/from the airport every 20 minutes for €3.00 Per passenger. The service runs from 05am-9am and 5pm -9pm. Stay in Dublin for less this year, for business, catching a flight from Dublin Airport or visiting Dublin City for shopping and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun Hotel Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing