We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”
Review of Griffith House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griffith House
Ranked #105 of 148 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived late afternoon and had to leave by 6 am next morning for our flight
Just what we needed. Ashort bus ride into city and even shorter one to airport.
Room was comfortable and Mr Maguire was very informative

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nubomb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed with the Maguires for the first two nights of my trip and the very last. Picked from a package operator's listings and for its proximity to a cousin's house in the North Strand, I found the place clean, comfortable, and convenient. I had the smallest room the first two nights; the transom window opened to the fresh air took some getting used to. I had the large en suite Room 5 upon my return; by then an open skylight was a regular companion. Parking was easy at all hours. I delighted in breakfast (best pudding of the trip, tomatoes cut to two slices). My guess is that Mrs. Maguire is from Thailand. Lounge pictures of the couple show them with an elephant in the jungle (not the Phoenix Park). Through the French doors of the dining room, one can see a golden Buddha resting on a ledge high in the hall before the kitchen. Mounted all around are carvings of celestial musicians. Finishing each morning's tea with a little contemplation of harmonies was a fine preparation for each day's bustle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Not all the rooms are actually in the house. Our party was split- half in the house and half in another building behind the house. Those inside were freezing and didn't have any warm water. Room was super cramped as well. Outdside was creepy being lead behind the house. The room was very large with three beds though and had its own bathroom. We called to inform them we would arrive late but when we got there he was put out and told us we woke him up. Breakfast was nothing to rave about either. Definitely our least favorite stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melanieanne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The room was so small. The hot water didn't work. Our friends got taken to the mysterious room in the back of the house. The family didn't interact with us. Breakfast was mediocre at best. The only thing that was nice is that it was right by the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndsee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for three nights while visiting relatives and exploring Dublin. Very happy overall. Good breakfast, clean towels, hot showers, w/ access to wifi and found the location ideal, being in the relaxed suburbs and yet only a hop on the bus or walk to train into the hustle and bustle of the city center. Nice restaurants and eateries in the nearby area, highly recommend the Cheese Pantry.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Griffith house was the perfect place to stay for discovering Dublin,
Bus going directly to Guinness Store house and the Center of Dublin. Good connection to the airport and very nice and helpful staff.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed in Griffith house with a few friends of mine last summer and had a fantastic time.The house itself is a very typical and cosy irish family town house with a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere being provided by the hosts. The bedrooms themselves are kept to a very high standard and are nicely decorated. The beds are also extremely comfortable! The location was also surprisingly convenient (given that the property is not directly situated in Dublin city centre) the next busstop is only 100m. From there, busses can take you directly to the city centre and to the Guinness store-house. Taxis to the city centre cost about 10 euro per person.

All in all, great value for money!

Room Tip: Guinness Store House!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James20Alan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
#52 of 148 in Dublin
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashling House
Ashling House
#114 of 148 in Dublin
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shantalla Lodge B&B
Shantalla Lodge B&B
#15 of 148 in Dublin
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffith House

Address: Griffith House 125 Griffith Avenue | Drumcondra, Dublin Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £62 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B built at the turn of the century, has been tastefully renovated with only comfort in mind; from its private gardens to its comfortable rooms. Approved by the Irish Tourist Board since 1994 and our family home since 1981. Located on Griffith Avenue in Drumcondra, which is 10 minutes by bus from city center (bus every 7 minutes), 15 minutes by bus from Dublin Airport, 10 minute drive from Dublin port with easy access to M50. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Griffith House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing