We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere for a fun evening”
Review of O'Flaherty's Pub

O'Flaherty's Pub
Ranked #157 of 2,730 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Temple Bar
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Enjoyed our evening here. Even though it was a weekend, we arrived later (around 9:00 pm) and got a table right away. The music was great and the atmosphere lots of fun. Typical Irish entertainment, with lots of jokes and wise cracks, which is just the kind of thing we were looking for. Menu is pretty standard, nothing really out of the ordinary, but everything we had tasted good, so no complaints. Service was fine too, although our waitress had some issues getting the card to go through on her hand held device.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emptynester2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O, Owner at O'Flaherty's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your support. We offer 11 main course meals at €13.95 or less and focus on fresh food in a bar/pub style

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Well I suppose someone had to be first to think the food was no more than just 'ok'

We visited on Sunday evening at around 7.30 and the place was already packed and jumping. The music was great, the atmosphere lively.

Service was very good and done with a smile, no complaints there at all.

But we thought the food we ordered to be very average. My other half ordered the Guinness casserole with root vegetables and I had a steak. We swapped as he is not good with lots of vegetables (his fault) He said the steak was 'ok' no more than that and my Guinness casserole had just 4 small pieces of not too tender beef (maybe I was just unlucky) and huge amounts of what I think was parsnip?

It's a great place to go for the craic but we wouldn't bother to eat there again. And we are not difficult to please, honestly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O, Owner at O'Flaherty's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Great to hear you had such a great time. All our food is freshly prepared by our chefs and is offered at reasonable prices. The influence is Irish pub food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We entered through the Old Storehouse, but found O'Flaherty's downstairs to be more to our taste. It is a more intimate venue, and the night we were here had two young lads playing wonderful acoustic music and singing. The food was better than simple pub grub and the staff were plentiful and friendly. Yes, it got busy as the night went on, but it never felt overcrowded. We really enjoyed and next time we're in Dublin will definitely seek this place out again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SparePebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O, Owner at O'Flaherty's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Great to hear and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Dublin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Four of us from Florida and two from Pittsburgh just arrived in Dublin and stumbled on O'Flaherty's at the Old Storehouse in Temple Bar. It's in the basement of the Old Storehouse and we don't think we will have a better meal for our next 8 days here. The food was simply awesome and the music just as good and thoroughly entertaining. This place is a don't miss!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O, Owner at O'Flaherty's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Linda. Most kind of you and many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On our last day in Ireland we wandered around Temple Bar, and were having trouble choosing a restaurant. We ended up in O'Flaherty's at The Old Storehouse. What a brilliant choice! Wh came in around 6pm and there were only a few tables occupied, so I was worried that we made a mistake, and am so happy to be wrong! Our group of six ordered Cottage pie, lamb stew, a hamburger, kids pasta and kids mini burger (not mini at all), and the Beef and Guinness Casserole. We all loved our meals. In particular, the Guinness casserole was delicious. The only thing that topped the meal was the wonderful music provided by a duo called The Fellow Pilgrims. They were simply outstanding. By the time we finally left the place was packed. I am still craving that delicious Guiness casserole!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CdnJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O, Owner at O'Flaherty's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Cheers and many thanks for your support. We appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Flaherty's Pub also viewed

 

Been to O'Flaherty's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing