We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Craic!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved the Craic!!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My husband had to go for a buisiness trip to Dublin and I jumped at the chance to go with him and make the weekend of it. We decided to stay at the Radisson Blu in Golden Lane as it was near to his appointment and not far from the centre of Dublin.

We had an early flight and thus arrived at the hotel at around 10 in the morning. We had a very friendly greeting and although there were already 3 people waiting check in we didn't have to wait very long before we were attended to. Our room - business class - was ready for us and we went straight to it to freshen up before the 11am meeting.

The room was modern with all the usual amenities like hairdryer, iron, laundry service etc. and overlooked the back of the hotel which sighted the terrace area. What was nice was the fact that there was a coffee machine in the room plus a kettle with a choice of different tea infusions.The beds were twin although we had asked for a kingsize and although we did push them together they were never 'made up' into one and the hotel couldn't offer us another room as they were full. A little disappointing but we were happy with the room on the whole. The sleep quality was good and very quiet - being able to sleep in util 9.30 after a long day was heaven as breakfast is served until 10.30, 11am at weekends!

Although there was lots of storage space, I felt, being a female there wasn't enough room for tops & T Sirts as the drawers that were provided just weren't deep enough so I did keep them in my suitcase although there was plenty of hangers for trousers, dressess and shirts.There was fruit in the room after our day out and a' turn down' service is provided.

The bathroom was very spacious a walk in - shower plus a bath with a hand shower over. Bathrobes and slippers were provided. The standard of cleanthliness was excellent although one night when our towels had not been changed we had to call the housekeeper who came within 5mins with clean ones and was very apologetic.

We did remark on how hot the corridors were - uncomfortable really but once in the room the air conditioning was very acceptable!

Breakfast was served buffet style and the hot food was piping hot! Requests for poached eggs/omelettes are taken - all cooked to perfection. If you are a person of the fuller figure however - like ourselves - I wouldn't suggest you sat on a 'bonket' in the window as they are rather 'cosy' and hard to get in and out of without taking your breakfast with you.

We used a Dublin City Tour Bus Service (green) on our stay which was fantastic. It offers a hop-on/off service and stops at 25 destinations/points of interest - at 15 euros for a two day pass it is really good value. We also used Taxis - all drivers were so pleasant and informative.

For eats - The Bank for lunch with piano music or The Temple Bar which is touristy but a must for atmosphere.
For dinner we ate at Trocodero St Andrews Street - a more expensive, adult meal but again well worth it. We paid 117 euros for two of us including 2 courses and drinks. Booking is essential and they also serve a pre theatre supper.
Other good places to eat were The Church which also has a nightclub and Fire Restaurant - all good for adults in the evening.

We visited the Guinness Factory - a must for lovers of the Black Stuff but also has a great view of Dublin from the top. Kilmaiham Gaol is steeped in a wealth of Irish history and is were' The Italian Job' starring Micheal Caine was filmed. We also visited the National Museum which houses the famous Betrayal of Christ by Carravagio. O'Connell St for a shoppers heaven!

There is absolutely lots to see and do in Dublin and we enjoyed our few days there so much in a pleasant, comfy hotel that we have vowed to return and enjoy more of the craic!!!!!

Room Tip: Buisness rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    680
    94
    38
    23
See reviews for
386
883
93
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here over my birthday weekend and had a truly superb time. The staff were really helpful, the rooms were really smart and the hotels communal areas were extremely relaxing. I would highly recommend this centrally located hotel to anyone who plans to visit the fabulous city of Dublin!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have fabulous views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamourpuss-Tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Very good hotel, busy, contemprorary, walking distanced to the center. Check-in was awful. At first, we've been given a room on the first floor, very noisy, close to the elevator and the lobby of the floor, the window was close to the breakfast door (!). After discussion, the lithuanian receptionist provided room with "smaller bed, but nice". Ok, 4th floor, but after 20 mins we discovered, that this is room for disabled people!!! Why??? Yes, they were full, but our check-in time was after noon... So.. After alot of perfect Radissons so disappearence!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We arrived at the hotel early -10.00am, and recieved a nice welcome. The reception informed us that we could check in at 11.30am and would look after our bags whilst we had a quick walk around the city.
Hotel is well located (not a scenic area, but safe), 5 minutes walk from city.
Reservation was for dine and stay - well worth doing. Bedroom was spacious. No drawers in the furniture but adequate space in the wardrobe. Safe and tea/coffee making also in there.
Big bathroom (and bath) with walk-in shower.
Breakfast was self-service buffet and all well prepared with plenty of choice and freshly cooked. Recommend the white pudding and sausage!
Evening meal was well presented with a good choice from the menu and very good value.
All staff on reception and in the dining area were pleasant and extremely helpful.
On checking out, once again we were allowed to store our baggage until it was time to go to the airport.
Slight problem with the billing which was quickly sorted on our return home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Location was great..as was the room, the bed, the extra cot for my 9 year old, the bathroom, the breakfast, and the front desk staff. We will stay here next time we are in town and recommend to others

Especially want to note the excellent service of Sonia Kosmider, the front desk service manager, who helped us with tourist-ing ideas, payment for the hotel, booking a taxi to the hotel, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof1inMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A surprisingly good Radisson.
Hotel is right dowtown.
I was upgraded to a junior suite (from business room) with a nice view over Dublin. Bathroom is rather small for such a room but still acceptable. The room has everything you expect for business and my favorite Radisson touch: the Nesspresso machine!
Very good service from all the team menbers, good dinner experience (restaurant was full but we were anyway served in the lobby)
There is also a bar with lots of activities and fun during soccer nights.
Only let down, no gym but a free access to a poor one nearby.
Will go back there on my next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slecombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Two nights, very friendly staff on check-in and throughout. Parking on site. No problem to extend mid-day checkout to 1.30 to accommodate flights. Breakfast fine, but at 66 euro for three rather over priced.

Reception also suggested that we were just within 5 minutes walk of some cafes on South George Street and over to Grafton Street, which we took advantage of on second morning.
Stayed in standard rooms, well kitted out, great beds and showers. Usual high Radisson standard with great service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurofolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,947 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,224 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Address: Golden Lane | D08 VRR7, Dublin 8, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#8 Business Hotel in Dublin
#9 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Dublin hotel's location provides guests with elite access to city centre attractions, such as Trinity College and Dublin Castle. The hotel sits at the crossroads of Golden and Chancery lanes, just steps away from popular restaurants, theatres and nightclubs. Located 12 kilometres from Dublin International Airport, this hotel offers the ideal accommodation for both business and leisure travellers.Centrally located hotel in Dublin offers convenience. The stylish and sophisticated Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin sits at the crossroads of Golden and Chancery lanes, a few steps away from popular theatres, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Situated in the heart of Dublin, the hotel's location affords guests prime access to Trinity College, Dublin Castle and the city's famous shopping district, Grafton Street. This Dublin hotel boasts 150 spacious, well-appointed rooms and suites, in-house restaurant and bar and modern meeting facilities for 400 delegates in an ideal city centre setting.This Dublin hotel is near popular attractions and less than 12 kilometres from Dublin International Airport.The 150 spacious guest rooms and suites provide premier amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access and 24-hour room service.V'n V Restaurant serves the Super Breakfast Buffet, as well as a dinner menu, offering a different culinary experience each day.Enjoy cocktails and light meals at SURE Bar, a modern and stylish Irish bar.The Vintage Room presents a selection of vintage whiskeys, spirits, wines and Champagnes and fine cuisine.Guests receive access to the on-site business centre and the nearby Iveagh Fitness Club.This city centre hotel houses 15 contemporary meeting rooms, a ballroom and two unique meeting venues on the seventh floor overlooking city centre.Secure, underground car parking is available for 40 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin Hotel Dublin
Radisson Dublin
Dublin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing