We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience, I Must Say!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellgrove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellgrove B&B
Ranked #60 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience, I Must Say!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I visited Dublin from Thursday Aug.1st to Sunday Aug. 4th of this year. I had selected the Bellgrove as our choice for B & B as we had read so many positive comments from previous guests. I must say they were all correct and, thus, we were so fortunate to have the opportunity to stay with Guss and Paul. They afforded us many courtesies and gave us "the time of day" with discussion and guidance as to what would be the best to see re: the great highlights of Dublin. Our room was very clean and the twin beds were very comfortable and we had our own personal washroom with shower. The breakfast each morning was very tasty and plenty to enjoy, with coffee available 24 hrs. Very quiet facilities located right on the main bus line (really handy especially coming home in the evening). The next time we visit Dublin, Bellgrove will be our home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
19
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The owners were very personable and super full of information.
First Paul greeted us and got us settled; provided us w/ a city map, bus info and tons of details that we couldn't possibly retain but could only recall once in town. The bus stops across the street to take you into town and drops you off at the door on the way back, so access could not be easier.
The next morning we met his wife and when we said Dublin had worn us out & we had a car she recommended a great fishing town very near by to visit and she was not wrong; it was lovely beyond words and the fresh fish dining was to die for.
If you don't stay at Bellgrove while in Dublin you are truly missing the best place and the best people in town. And do them a favor and pay in cash. ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Unfortunately we only had 1 night to stay in Dublin during our trip. We spent 4 days in Ireland and wanted to make the most of our time.

That being said, the quality of the establishment as well their service was brilliant.

Great location with the bus stop directly out front. Made it very easy for us to get to Dublin city center without having to drive there. Which is exactly what we wanted.

As far as touring Dublin, we already had an idea in mind of exactly what we had wanted to see. So, that morning before we went off Gussie made a point to sit down and help draw a map out for us, and even point out a couple of notable items en route to our destinations.

Had a great breakfast conversation with her as well. Very hospitable, and genuinely nice people.

My fiancée and I are always most concerned with the quality of service above all. Gussie and Paul did not disappoint whatsoever. Our only regret was that we had so little time to spend with them.

Can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Was a safe, clean and restful sleep so worth the stay and price but not really what we expected. The owners were friendly and hospitable, helping by arranging a morning taxi (€15 to the ferry port) and giving us an excellent suggestion in safe walking distance for dinner. But this feels much more like a home than an inn or what I've experienced in a B&B. Just be prepared for that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LR2Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I had 3 Nights at Bellgrove B&B it was a great stay - Paul and Gussie are very friendly and helpfull people. Paul helped me with the planning of my Sightseeing Tour and had some great ideas what I can also visit. The Bus stop is right in front of their House and it's very easy to get to the city by Bus.
The Family bedroom was clean and very nice. They have an en-suite bathroom and a TV also a Free WI-FI. There is a big choose of breakfast which you can mark on a List Every evening.

I would definitely stay there again On my next Trip.

Thanks again to Paul and Gussie for pampering me this Way.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had a function to attend in Raheny (North Dublin) and the Bellgrove B&B was in a prime location (A 5 minute walk to Raheny). The owners are named Gussie and Paul.

My room was cosy with an en-suite bathroom. The bathroom was clean and the shower had good pressure and constant hot water. Towels were supplied too.
The room had a TV (with remote control), an adequate amount of hangers in the wardrobe.and a very comfortable bed with firm pillows.

There is a choice of cereals for breakfast and an option of a full Irish Breakfast (like a full English but made with more loving).

Gussie and Paul have a cat so if you have allergies or don't like cats then you might want to consider this, although the cat only had access to Paul and Gussie's rooms and the dining area.

A key is supplied, so 24hr access isn't an issue.
There is also a good WiFi connection supplied.

I booked through Hotels.com who had the room advertised at £34. The amount isn't taken until you check out and is paid in euros. Obviously; depending on the exchange rate this may actually vary.
There is no card paying facility.

A pleasant B&B that I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Truckerami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinslaken, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at Bellgrove B&B for the Paddy’s weekend. Paul and Gussie are very friendly and help you planning your stay in Dublin. There is a bus stop in front of the house which directly links you to the city centre. The family bedroom was clean, nicely furnished and was equipped with an en-suite bathroom and TV. Free WI-FI is available, reception in the room is rather fair.
We had an enjoyable stay and would definitely consider staying again at Bellgrove B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_mighty_zeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
1.2 mi away
Bram Stoker Hotel
Bram Stoker Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avoca Lodge
Avoca Lodge
#101 of 161 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaview
Seaview
#65 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cashel Lodge Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
The Artist Residence Dublin
2.8 mi away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#42 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellgrove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellgrove B&B

Property: Bellgrove B&B
Address: 302 Howth Road | Killester, Dublin 5, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellgrove B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bellgrove. We take great pride in our home and try to make each of our guests feel as comfortable as possible. Born and living in Dublin all our lives, we take great pride in our city and have vast knowledge of what our city has to offer our visitors. We can tell you the do's and don'ts of Dublin. Bellgrove is a bungalow with no stairs or steps and we have one room with private bathroom for wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bellgrove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing