We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little rustic gem”
Review of The Hazel House

The Hazel House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Petting farm, cafe, Irish craft shop and woodwork school. Based in the beautiful surroundings of Tibradden in the Dublin mountains. Enjoy a walk, grab a coffee, browse handmade Irish crafts. We host lots of events throughout the year like movie nights, craft classes and demonstrations and fun days. Children will love playing with our toys, colouring and feeding and petting the animals.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A little rustic gem”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I visited the enigmatic Hazel House today. Enigmatic because there is something magical about this place, you cannot quite put your finger on. A fab little café with great coffee, tea, cakes & snacks. A warm and inviting space inside, filled with very original Irish crafts, cards, gifts, jewellery and more. Outside lots of seating space in the sun or shade. Friendly animals to visit and pet - pony, donkey, cat, dog, duck, chickens (including very cute baby chicks), a thriving veggie and herb garden to explore. Walks nearby, free parking, toilet facilities. An artisan woodwork workshop, with products on display. The people are welcoming, the atmosphere warm and relaxed, a true gem, only 10 mins drive from Dundrum or Rathfarnham. All nestled in the foothills and scenery of the surrounding Dublin mountains. My new go-to for meeting friends for coffee or just escaping solo for a little while. A little gem.. well done to all involved..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank EDSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionnuala M, Manager at The Hazel House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi EDSDublin,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are chuffed with your wonderful description of our little place! We are so glad that you have made The Hazel House your go-to escape, that is exactly the kind of atmosphere that we are aiming to create here. Sounds like you made the most of your time here by visiting the animals and garden and enjoying the local walks. You are always welcome back anytime.

All the best,
Fionnuala @ The Hazel House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place, well worth a visit”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Pop in, browse, have a server yourself coffee, tea whatever, and some lovely homemade confectionary. Good quality gifts, all sorts of wooden stuff made on-site....bird tables, chairs, stools, giant Jenga (a real winner)... a baby lamb just waiting for you to feed it, movie nights. Great spot, leisurely, welcoming sence about the place. A little gem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ludovanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionnuala M, Manager at The Hazel House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Niall, who owns The Hazel House, is a carpenter and can make anything out of wood! He made all the furniture for The Hazel House which is all for sale and he runs woodwork classes on site for children and adults. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit a five-star experience, please let us know :)

All the best,
Fionnuala @ The Hazel House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility ”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

What a hidden gem, so relaxing to just take the weight of your feet in a beautiful cosy atmosphere. Staff so friendly and would highly recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Bmcd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionnuala M, Manager at The Hazel House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your lovely review and five stars. We are so glad that people feel cosy and relaxed in The Hazel House!

All the best,
Fionnuala @ The Hazel House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place for everyone”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went for a coffee and a homemade scone which were delish..but found soooo much more, lots of things for sale from local artists and crafts people . Great for that different present. And location fab. Will defo be visiting again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gummylod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionnuala M, Manager at The Hazel House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi there,

So delighted that you enjoyed your coffee and scone. All our coffee is roasted in Ireland and our baked goodies are made by our local Hazel House baker Kate who is a culinery genius! We look forward to your next visit :)

All the best,
Fionnuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hazel House Mutton Lane, Dublin 16 Ireland”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

In June 2014 We visit Hazel House, just 10 to 15 minutes by car from the Rathfarnham area of Dublin. The Hazel House experience could be described as a transition from the urban to the rural experience of Ireland within a short distance of Dublin city. There is no entry fee. The parking is free. Tea coffee and snacks are served. Just inside the gateway stands a colourful cottage-like house nestled in the most authentic farm like setting. I purchases some Irish hand made greeting cards at four euro each and an innocent piece of wood that looks like a ruler but is able to hold a bottle of wine in mid-air. The crafts are high quality and are reasonably priced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmalone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionnuala M, Manager at The Hazel House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi there,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Hazel House and glad that you found some crafts that you liked. We love that The Hazel House is a little piece of country in the Dublin too!

Hope to see you again soon,
Fionnuala @ The Hazel House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hazel House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Hazel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing