We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud
Ranked #39 of 2,617 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for a birthday meal and the meal lived up to expectations. Similar experience to other diner reviews even down to the chocolate candle lit cake so that says something about consistency of the quality. Sommelier was knowledgeable and happily helped with pairings. The cheese board is impressive and truly lovely! There are a lot of lovely restaurants in the area but for a special occasion this was a great place to go.

Helpful?
Thank Reviewer_29UK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    129
    85
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gillingham dorset
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“simply excellent”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

everything is excellent from start to finish the staff are very friendly and the food is out of this world

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wow.....it's hard to describe how amazing the food was here. We had the set lunch menu and got our server to pair our wines. The experience was amazing from start to finish and will definitely be returning!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had dinner at Patrick Guilbaud while staying at the Merrion.
We had the gastronomic menu with seven courses that the Chef choses for you. Each course was really excellent, original, and so tasty. Oyster tastes oyster but still you also smell every other flavour included in the preparation, same for the lobster. Lamb was a dream!
This is one of the very best dinners we had in the last five years and we believe patrick Guilbaud is not so far from some of the 3 stars we know.
Service is good but could be improved. The place was fully booked which makes it very busy and one could wish to have more space between the tables in order to increase the comfort and match it better with the excellence of the food.
I hope we can be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

€50 Lunch menu - a gourmet bargain and such a nice way to spend Saturday afternoon with some dear friends. Bottle of Prosecco in the ante room before lunch was a cut above what you would buy in the off licence or supermarket, but then is was Patrick Guilbaud's! Lunch and wine ordered as Prosecco was sipped. Ordered a German Pinot Noir following a sort discussion with sommelier who assured me of its quality. I had my doubts, but of course he was right. Delicious wine! Starter had a small fillet of mackerel, not sure how is was marinated, but was sensational. This oily fish has a tendency to 'repeat' in my digestive system but not this time. Main course was perfectly cooked lamb. Deserts could have been a tad more interesting, but what great value for money at a two star michelin restaurant. Staff were attentive but not intrusive, very nice bunch of people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing