We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find but worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 101 Talbot Street

101 Talbot Street
Ranked #80 of 2,546 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Restaurant was book by friends and I was doubtful at first. Very pleasantly surprised by both the food and the very friendly staff.
Located above the cobblers you could easily pass it by, I did twice. The exterior is a bit off putting as there are a few unlikely looking people hanging about outside. Inside is a transformation.

The baked hake is divine and some of the best I have ever tasted. The set menu is good value and wines are very reasonable.
Will I return definitely, would I recommend it absolutely.

Booking recommended it was very busy.last Friday night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank joan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    193
    50
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little gem on Talbot Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our group of four people enjoyed a truly wonderful meal in this stylish restaurant. The food was amazing and the staff were friendly and helpful. We chose from the set menu which in our opinion was wonderful value at 28 euro for three courses. A memorable evening for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Restaurant Near Abbey Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The restaurant at 101 Talbot Street has an unlikely location above a shoe repair shop at the address which is also its name. We selected it because of its proximity to the Abbey Theatre and recommendations we had received from a tour guide and our hotel. The atmosphere is contemporary and bright, the service good, and the food was the best we had in Dublin, a city that has lots of good food!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

An upstairs restaurant on Talbot Street that is not easy to find at first search - look for the red doorway. Closed on Sunday and Monday (but that wasn't clear in the guide book we had) This is an oasis in a run down street away from the attractions but only 5 minutes from O'Connell Street. We had excellant food at very reasobale prices with friendly service. Very good value and would recommend as somewhere quiet away from Temple Bar. Guiness was also good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank octim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
296 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The person that took my reservation was very friendly. The restaurant was very busy. We had the Smoked Cheese & Tomato Crostini and Scallops, Black Pudding, Pea Puree & Pea Shoots for starters. Both were excellent. I had the Hake for main course it was really good. My husband had the Pork Cutlet it was overcooked and said it came with baby potatoes but there weren't any and no one came to check on our food so we just left it. I had the Rhubarb & Apple Crumble, it was so good. My husband had the special he said it was good. The restaurant was really busy as I already said, so the few little slip ups can be well overlooked. There are plenty of choices from early bird,set menu and a la carte. All menus are really good value. I can't wait to go to the restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 101 Talbot Street also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to 101 Talbot Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing